School District No. Re-1 Valley

Public school district · Logan County · Colorado · NCES district ID 0806690

School District No. Re-1 Valley spent $12,521 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 79% of the other Colorado districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $14,088). Its 7 schools enrolled 1,910 students in 2024-25; 52.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,242 per student, up 21.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 85-89% (Colorado: 82.7%).

Spending per student among Colorado districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to School District No. Re-1 Valley in enrollment (1,572 to 2,379 students) and School District No. Re-1 Valley itself.

Current spending per student, Colorado districts closest in size to School District No. Re-1 Valley, FY23Aspen $27,544; Weld County School District No. RE-1 $16,511; Woodland Park $16,214; Gunnison Watershed School District Re1J $14,480; Archuleta County School District No. 50 Jt $13,910; Alamosa School District Re-11J $13,387; Elizabeth $12,907; Weld County School District No. Re-2 $12,839; Moffat County School District RE: No. 1 $12,776; School District No. Re-1 Valley $12,521; State median, 1,000+ students $14,088.10k15k20k25k30kAspen$27,544Weld County School District No…$16,511Woodland Park$16,214Gunnison Watershed School Dist…$14,480Archuleta County School Distri…$13,910Alamosa School District Re-11J$13,387Elizabeth$12,907Weld County School District No…$12,839Moffat County School District …$12,776School District No. Re-1 Valley$12,521State median, 1,000+ students $14,088
Current spending per student, Colorado districts closest in size to School District No. Re-1 Valley, FY23Aspen $27,544; Weld County School District No. RE-1 $16,511; Woodland Park $16,214; Gunnison Watershed School District Re1J $14,480; Archuleta County School District No. 50 Jt $13,910; Alamosa School District Re-11J $13,387; Elizabeth $12,907; Weld County School District No. Re-2 $12,839; Moffat County School District RE: No. 1 $12,776; School District No. Re-1 Valley $12,521; State median, 1,000+ students $14,088.10k15k20k25k30kAspen$27,544Weld County School District No. RE-1$16,511Woodland Park$16,214Gunnison Watershed School District …$14,480Archuleta County School District No…$13,910Alamosa School District Re-11J$13,387Elizabeth$12,907Weld County School District No. Re-2$12,839Moffat County School District RE: N…$12,776School District No. Re-1 Valley$12,521State median, 1,000+ students $14,088
Current spending per student, Colorado districts closest in size to School District No. Re-1 Valley, FY23Aspen $27,544; Weld County School District No. RE-1 $16,511; Woodland Park $16,214; Gunnison Watershed School District Re1J $14,480; Archuleta County School District No. 50 Jt $13,910; Alamosa School District Re-11J $13,387; Elizabeth $12,907; Weld County School District No. Re-2 $12,839; Moffat County School District RE: No. 1 $12,776; School District No. Re-1 Valley $12,521; State median, 1,000+ students $14,088.10k20k30kAspen$27,544Weld County School District No. RE-1$16,511Woodland Park$16,214Gunnison Watershed School District Re1J$14,480Archuleta County School District No. 50 Jt$13,910Alamosa School District Re-11J$13,387Elizabeth$12,907Weld County School District No. Re-2$12,839Moffat County School District RE: No. 1$12,776School District No. Re-1 Valley$12,521State median, 1,000+ students $14,088
Current spending per student, Colorado districts closest in size to School District No. Re-1 Valley, FY23Aspen $27,544; Weld County School District No. RE-1 $16,511; Woodland Park $16,214; Gunnison Watershed School District Re1J $14,480; Archuleta County School District No. 50 Jt $13,910; Alamosa School District Re-11J $13,387; Elizabeth $12,907; Weld County School District No. Re-2 $12,839; Moffat County School District RE: No. 1 $12,776; School District No. Re-1 Valley $12,521; State median, 1,000+ students $14,088.10k20k30kAspen$27,544Weld County School District No. RE-1$16,511Woodland Park$16,214Gunnison Watershed School District Re1J$14,480Archuleta County School District No. 50…$13,910Alamosa School District Re-11J$13,387Elizabeth$12,907Weld County School District No. Re-2$12,839Moffat County School District RE: No. 1$12,776School District No. Re-1 Valley$12,521State median, 1,000+ students $14,088

Where the money came from

$29,161,000 in revenue: 52.6% state, 39.2% local and 8.2% federal. Total spending including $373,000 of capital outlay was $25,730,000, or $13,048 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

School District No. Re-1 Valley revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $15,344,000; Local $11,429,000; Federal $2,388,000; total $29,161,000.
  • State$15,344,000 53%
  • Local$11,429,000 39%
  • Federal$2,388,000 8%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 71 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,972 students in 2022-23, 1,887 students in 2023-24, 1,910 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

School District No. Re-1 Valley enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,972, 2023-24: 1,887, 2024-25: 1,91005001k1.5k2k2022-231,9722023-241,8872024-251,910
School District No. Re-1 Valley enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,972, 2023-24: 1,887, 2024-25: 1,91005001k1.5k2k2022-231,9722023-241,8872024-251,910
School District No. Re-1 Valley enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,972, 2023-24: 1,887, 2024-25: 1,91005001k1.5k2k2022-231,9722023-241,8872024-251,910
School District No. Re-1 Valley enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,972, 2023-24: 1,887, 2024-25: 1,91005001k1.5k2k2022-231,9722023-241,8872024-251,910

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,972100.019.7
2023-241,887116.716.2
2024-251,910128.714.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$6,704,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,400 per student

School District No. Re-1 Valley booked $6,704,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 100 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $67,027 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 68 in 100 Colorado districts with a figure (state median $62,708, 161 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Colorado teacher salary at $58,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$5,123,00076.4%
Special education$1,060,00015.8%
Vocational$337,0005.0%
Other programs$184,0002.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,744 in 2018-19, $3,638 in 2019-20, $3,516 in 2020-21, $3,154 in 2021-22, $3,400 in 2022-23.

School District No. Re-1 Valley teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,744, 2019-20: $3,638, 2020-21: $3,516, 2021-22: $3,154, 2022-23: $3,40001k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7442019-20$3,6382020-21$3,5162021-22$3,1542022-23$3,400
School District No. Re-1 Valley teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,744, 2019-20: $3,638, 2020-21: $3,516, 2021-22: $3,154, 2022-23: $3,40001k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7442019-20$3,6382020-21$3,5162021-22$3,1542022-23$3,400
School District No. Re-1 Valley teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,744, 2019-20: $3,638, 2020-21: $3,516, 2021-22: $3,154, 2022-23: $3,40001k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7442019-20$3,6382020-21$3,5162021-22$3,1542022-23$3,400
School District No. Re-1 Valley teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,744, 2019-20: $3,638, 2020-21: $3,516, 2021-22: $3,154, 2022-23: $3,40001k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7442019-20$3,6382020-21$3,5162021-22$3,1542022-23$3,400

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in School District No. Re-1 Valley scored proficient or above: 20% in math, against 44.9% in reading and 31.8% in math across Colorado. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Colorado, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtColoradoStudents tested
Math20%31.8%927

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

85-89% of the 119 students in School District No. Re-1 Valley's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 82.7% across Colorado. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtColorado
Four-year graduation rate85‑89%82.7%
Students in the class11968,390

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 elementary schools, 871 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ayres Elementary School38513.842.1%Schoolwide program
Campbell Elementary School34717.857.9%Schoolwide program
Caliche Elementary School13913.344.6%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 397 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Sterling Middle School39714.251.1%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 525 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Sterling High School42115.539.0%Not Title I
Caliche Junior-Senior High School1049.236.5%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 117 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Hagen Early Education Center11726.443.6%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact School District No. Re-1 Valley

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about School District No. Re-1 Valley

  1. Colorado districts by spending per studentSchool District No. Re-1 Valley ranks 56 of 71 Colorado districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,521).#56 of 71
  2. Every school district in ColoradoSchool District No. Re-1 Valley is the number 53 by size of 185 Colorado districts, with 1,972 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#53 of 185
  3. Weld County School District No. Re-2The next larger Colorado district: 1,977 students in fall 2022, $12,839 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,839
  4. Weld County School District No. RE-1The next smaller Colorado district: 1,837 students in fall 2022, $16,511 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,511
  5. Compare School District No. Re-1 Valley with Weld County School District No. Re-2Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Sterling High School, its largest high school421 students in 2024-25, 15.5 per teacher.421
  7. Teacher salary spending across ColoradoSchool District No. Re-1 Valley spent $67,027 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,708); spending, not a salary.$67,027
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about School District No. Re-1 Valley

  1. How many schools and students are in School District No. Re-1 Valley?
    7 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle, 2 high, 1 other), enrolling 1,910 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does School District No. Re-1 Valley spend per student?
    $12,521 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Colorado median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,088 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,242 per student, up 21.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does School District No. Re-1 Valley's money come from?
    $29,161,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 52.6% state, 39.2% local and 8.2% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in School District No. Re-1 Valley live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 436 of the 2,351 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 18.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does School District No. Re-1 Valley spend on teacher salaries?
    $6,704,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,400 per student. Divided by the 100 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $67,027 per teacher, more than 68 in 100 Colorado districts (state median $62,708). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Colorado teacher salary at $58,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in School District No. Re-1 Valley do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in School District No. Re-1 Valley scored proficient or above: 20% in math, against 44.9% in reading and 31.8% in math across Colorado. Colorado's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in School District No. Re-1 Valley?
    85-89% of the 119 students in School District No. Re-1 Valley's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 82.7% across Colorado. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is School District No. Re-1 Valley's NCES district ID?
    0806690. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25