Alexander City

Public school district · Tallapoosa County · Alabama · NCES district ID 0100030

Alexander City spent $12,834 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 53% of the other Alabama districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,720). Its 5 schools enrolled 2,836 students in 2024-25; 47.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,344 per student, up 4.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 84% (Alabama: 90%).

Spending per student among Alabama districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Alexander City in enrollment (2,770 to 3,098 students) and Alexander City itself.

Current spending per student, Alabama districts closest in size to Alexander City, FY23Bibb County Schools $13,558; Monroe County Board of Education $13,365; Tallapoosa County Public Schools $13,275; Muscle Shoals City Schools $12,852; Alexander City $12,834; Butler County $12,670; Geneva County Board of Education $12,608; Jasper City $12,293; Covington County Schools $11,826; Coffee County $11,762; State median, 1,000+ students $12,720.10k11k12k13k14kBibb County Schools$13,558Monroe County Board of Educati…$13,365Tallapoosa County Public Schoo…$13,275Muscle Shoals City Schools$12,852Alexander City$12,834Butler County$12,670Geneva County Board of Educati…$12,608Jasper City$12,293Covington County Schools$11,826Coffee County$11,762State median, 1,000+ students $12,720
Current spending per student, Alabama districts closest in size to Alexander City, FY23Bibb County Schools $13,558; Monroe County Board of Education $13,365; Tallapoosa County Public Schools $13,275; Muscle Shoals City Schools $12,852; Alexander City $12,834; Butler County $12,670; Geneva County Board of Education $12,608; Jasper City $12,293; Covington County Schools $11,826; Coffee County $11,762; State median, 1,000+ students $12,720.10k11k12k13k14kBibb County Schools$13,558Monroe County Board of Education$13,365Tallapoosa County Public Schools$13,275Muscle Shoals City Schools$12,852Alexander City$12,834Butler County$12,670Geneva County Board of Education$12,608Jasper City$12,293Covington County Schools$11,826Coffee County$11,762State median, 1,000+ students $12,720
Current spending per student, Alabama districts closest in size to Alexander City, FY23Bibb County Schools $13,558; Monroe County Board of Education $13,365; Tallapoosa County Public Schools $13,275; Muscle Shoals City Schools $12,852; Alexander City $12,834; Butler County $12,670; Geneva County Board of Education $12,608; Jasper City $12,293; Covington County Schools $11,826; Coffee County $11,762; State median, 1,000+ students $12,720.10k12k14kBibb County Schools$13,558Monroe County Board of Education$13,365Tallapoosa County Public Schools$13,275Muscle Shoals City Schools$12,852Alexander City$12,834Butler County$12,670Geneva County Board of Education$12,608Jasper City$12,293Covington County Schools$11,826Coffee County$11,762State median, 1,000+ students $12,720
Current spending per student, Alabama districts closest in size to Alexander City, FY23Bibb County Schools $13,558; Monroe County Board of Education $13,365; Tallapoosa County Public Schools $13,275; Muscle Shoals City Schools $12,852; Alexander City $12,834; Butler County $12,670; Geneva County Board of Education $12,608; Jasper City $12,293; Covington County Schools $11,826; Coffee County $11,762; State median, 1,000+ students $12,720.10k12k14kBibb County Schools$13,558Monroe County Board of Education$13,365Tallapoosa County Public Schools$13,275Muscle Shoals City Schools$12,852Alexander City$12,834Butler County$12,670Geneva County Board of Education$12,608Jasper City$12,293Covington County Schools$11,826Coffee County$11,762State median, 1,000+ students $12,720

Where the money came from

$50,091,000 in revenue: 47.4% state, 33.6% local and 19.1% federal. Total spending including $6,978,000 of capital outlay was $48,048,000, or $16,574 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Alexander City revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $23,719,000; Local $16,827,000; Federal $9,545,000; total $50,091,000.
  • State$23,719,000 47%
  • Local$16,827,000 34%
  • Federal$9,545,000 19%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 130 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,899 students in 2022-23, 2,849 students in 2023-24, 2,836 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Alexander City enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,899, 2023-24: 2,849, 2024-25: 2,83601k2k3k2022-232,8992023-242,8492024-252,836
Alexander City enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,899, 2023-24: 2,849, 2024-25: 2,83601k2k3k2022-232,8992023-242,8492024-252,836
Alexander City enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,899, 2023-24: 2,849, 2024-25: 2,83601k2k3k2022-232,8992023-242,8492024-252,836
Alexander City enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,899, 2023-24: 2,849, 2024-25: 2,83601k2k3k2022-232,8992023-242,8492024-252,836

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,899169.017.2
2023-242,849165.517.2
2024-252,836164.517.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$12,056,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,159 per student

Alexander City booked $12,056,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 169 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $71,337 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 81 in 100 Alabama districts with a figure (state median $66,861, 140 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Alabama teacher salary at $55,834 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$9,742,00080.8%
Special education$1,144,0009.5%
Vocational$654,0005.4%
Other programs$516,0004.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,487 in 2018-19, $3,529 in 2019-20, $3,728 in 2020-21, $4,054 in 2021-22, $4,159 in 2022-23.

Alexander City teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,487, 2019-20: $3,529, 2020-21: $3,728, 2021-22: $4,054, 2022-23: $4,15902k4k6k2018-19$3,4872019-20$3,5292020-21$3,7282021-22$4,0542022-23$4,159
Alexander City teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,487, 2019-20: $3,529, 2020-21: $3,728, 2021-22: $4,054, 2022-23: $4,15902k4k6k2018-19$3,4872019-20$3,5292020-21$3,7282021-22$4,0542022-23$4,159
Alexander City teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,487, 2019-20: $3,529, 2020-21: $3,728, 2021-22: $4,054, 2022-23: $4,15902k4k6k2018-19$3,4872019-20$3,5292020-21$3,7282021-22$4,0542022-23$4,159
Alexander City teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,487, 2019-20: $3,529, 2020-21: $3,728, 2021-22: $4,054, 2022-23: $4,15902k4k6k2018-19$3,4872019-20$3,5292020-21$3,7282021-22$4,0542022-23$4,159

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Alexander City scored proficient or above: 39% in reading and 24% in math, against 47.3% in reading and 27.2% in math across Alabama. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Alabama, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtAlabamaStudents tested
Reading and language arts39%47.3%1,504
Math24%27.2%1,512

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

84% of the 202 students in Alexander City's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90% across Alabama. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtAlabama
Four-year graduation rate84%90%
Students in the class20252,928

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 1,140 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Jim Pearson Elementary School70417.260.8%Targeted program
Nathaniel H Stephens Elementary School43621.871.3%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 844 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Alexander City Middle School43016.972.8%Not Title I
William L Radney Elementary School41418.070.0%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 852 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Benjamin Russell High School85215.558.2%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Alexander City

  • Phone: (256) 234-8698
  • Office: 375 Lee Street, Alexander City, AL 35010

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Alexander City

  1. Alabama districts by spending per studentAlexander City ranks 61 of 130 Alabama districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,834).#61 of 130
  2. Every school district in AlabamaAlexander City is the number 67 by size of 149 Alabama districts, with 2,899 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#67 of 149
  3. Butler County School DistrictThe next larger Alabama district: 2,900 students in fall 2022, $12,670 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,670
  4. Muscle Shoals City SchoolsThe next smaller Alabama district: 2,896 students in fall 2022, $12,852 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,852
  5. Compare Alexander City with Butler County School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Benjamin Russell High School, its largest high school852 students in 2024-25, 15.5 per teacher.852
  7. Teacher salary spending across AlabamaAlexander City spent $71,337 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $66,861); spending, not a salary.$71,337
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Alexander City

  1. How many schools and students are in Alexander City?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 2 middle, 1 high), enrolling 2,836 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Alexander City spend per student?
    $12,834 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Alabama median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,720 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,344 per student, up 4.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Alexander City's money come from?
    $50,091,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 47.4% state, 33.6% local and 19.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Alexander City live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 693 of the 2,685 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 25.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Alexander City spend on teacher salaries?
    $12,056,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,159 per student. Divided by the 169 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $71,337 per teacher, more than 81 in 100 Alabama districts (state median $66,861). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Alabama teacher salary at $55,834 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Alexander City do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Alexander City scored proficient or above: 39% in reading and 24% in math, against 47.3% in reading and 27.2% in math across Alabama. Alabama's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Alexander City?
    84% of the 202 students in Alexander City's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90% across Alabama. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Alexander City's NCES district ID?
    0100030. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25