Washington Elementary School

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 1 · Rushville, Illinois

Washington Elementary School in Rushville, Illinois enrolled 113 students in 2024-25 with 13.0 full-time teachers, 8.7 students per teacher against the Illinois elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25).

Enrollment fell 45% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 13%

206 students in 2022-23, 204 students in 2023-24, 113 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 14.9 to 13.0.

Students enrolled at Washington Elementary School by school year2022-23: 206, 2023-24: 204, 2024-25: 11301002003002022-232062023-242042024-25113
Students enrolled at Washington Elementary School by school year2022-23: 206, 2023-24: 204, 2024-25: 11301002003002022-232062023-242042024-25113
Students enrolled at Washington Elementary School by school year2022-23: 206, 2023-24: 204, 2024-25: 11301002003002022-232062023-242042024-25113
Students enrolled at Washington Elementary School by school year2022-23: 206, 2023-24: 204, 2024-25: 11301002003002022-232062023-242042024-25113
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2320614.913.8
2023-2420415.113.5
2024-2511313.08.7

8.7 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 96 of every 100 Illinois elementary schools

Among the 2,300 Illinois elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 8.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 8.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 8.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 8.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 8.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 8.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 8.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 8.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 117 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Washington Elementary School enrolled 117 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 117 of the 117 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent18.0% (2022-23)

Who attends

90.3% of students were White, 4.4% Hispanic, 4.4% Black in 2024-25.

  1. White90.3%
  2. Hispanic4.4%
  3. Black4.4%
  4. Two or more races0.9%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

Elementary schools in Rushville

2 public elementary schools in Rushville report 2024-25 enrollment; Washington Elementary School is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Webster Elementary School18316.6not reported
Washington Elementary School1138.7not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Washington Elementary School

  1. Webster Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 0.6 miles away: 183 students, 16.6 per teacher (2024-25).0.6 mi
  2. Gard Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 10 miles away: 711 students, 18.7 per teacher (2024-25).10 mi
  3. Compare Washington Elementary School with Webster Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Schuyler-Industry CUSD 5 spends per student$14,433 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$14,433
  5. The largest public schools in IllinoisWashington Elementary School is the number 2,235 by size of 2,314 Illinois elementary schools open in 2024-25.#2,235 of 2,314
  6. Illinois schools by students per teacher8.7 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.1 for elementary schools.8.7:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Washington Elementary School

  1. How many students attend Washington Elementary School?
    113 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 206 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Rushville, IL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Washington Elementary School?
    8.7 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Washington Elementary School a Title I school?
    Washington Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. What district is Washington Elementary School in?
    Schuyler-Industry CUSD 5, NCES district ID 1700332. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 170033205814 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22