Walker-Grant Early Childhood Center
Public school, pre-kindergarten · Fredericksburg, Virginia
Walker-Grant Early Childhood Center in Fredericksburg, Virginia enrolled 149 students in 2024-25 with 8.0 full-time teachers, 18.6 students per teacher against the Virginia median of 11.4. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment rose 7% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 6%
139 students in 2022-23, 138 students in 2023-24, 149 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 8.5 to 8.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 139 | 8.5 | 16.4 |
| 2023-24 | 138 | 7.8 | 17.7 |
| 2024-25 | 149 | 8.0 | 18.6 |
18.6 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 93 of every 100 Virginia schools of this kind
Among the 41 Virginia schools of this kind that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 11.4; the national median for schools of this kind is 13.8. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
Programs and staff in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Walker-Grant Early Childhood Center reported and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)0.0
- Out-of-school suspensions0
- Chronically absentnot reported for this school
Who attends
44.3% of students were Black, 22.1% Asian, 12.1% White in 2024-25.
- Black44.3%
- Asian22.1%
- White12.1%
- Hispanic11.4%
- Two or more races10.1%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
Schools of this kind in Fredericksburg
2 public schools of this kind in Fredericksburg report 2024-25 enrollment; Walker-Grant Early Childhood Center is number 2 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rising Star Early Childhood Education Center at Melchers | 280 | 9.7 | not reported |
| Walker-Grant Early Childhood Center | 149 | 18.6 | 93.5% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Walker-Grant Early Childhood Center
- Rising Star Early Childhood Education Center at MelchersThe nearest public school of this kind, 2.8 miles away: 280 students, 9.7 per teacher (2024-25).2.8 mi
- Compare Walker-Grant Early Childhood Center with Rising Star Early Childhood Education Center at MelchersStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Fredericksburg City Public Schools spends per student$17,150 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$17,150
- The largest public schools in VirginiaWalker-Grant Early Childhood Center is the number 28 by size of 47 Virginia schools of this kind open in 2024-25.#28 of 47
- Virginia schools by students per teacher18.6 students per teacher here against the Virginia median of 11.4 for schools of this kind.18.6:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Walker-Grant Early Childhood Center
How many students attend Walker-Grant Early Childhood Center?
149 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 139 in 2022-23. It is a public school in Fredericksburg, VA.What is the student-teacher ratio at Walker-Grant Early Childhood Center?
18.6 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Virginia median for schools of this kind is 11.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Walker-Grant Early Childhood Center a Title I school?
Walker-Grant Early Childhood Center was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.What district is Walker-Grant Early Childhood Center in?
Fredericksburg City Public Schools, NCES district ID 5101510. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 510151002274 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.