Strassburg Elementary
Public elementary school, grades 3 to 5 · Sauk Village, Illinois
Strassburg Elementary in Sauk Village, Illinois enrolled 406 students in 2024-25 with 26.0 full-time teachers, 15.6 students per teacher against the Illinois elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 18% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 5% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment rose 12% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 21%
363 students in 2022-23, 384 students in 2023-24, 406 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 33.0 to 26.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 363 | 33.0 | 11.0 |
| 2023-24 | 384 | 30.1 | 12.8 |
| 2024-25 | 406 | 26.0 | 15.6 |
15.6 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 84 of every 100 Illinois elementary schools
Among the 2,300 Illinois elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 364 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Strassburg Elementary enrolled 364 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 47 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 364 of the 364 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions47
- Chronically absent21.2% (2022-23)
Who attends
73.9% of students were Black, 17.0% Hispanic, 4.7% of two or more races in 2024-25.
- Black73.9%
- Hispanic17.0%
- Two or more races4.7%
- White3.9%
- American Indian0.2%
- Pacific Islander0.2%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Strassburg Elementary scored proficient or above: 18% in reading in 2021-22 and 5% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Illinois |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 18% | 11% | 29.9% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 5% | not published | 26.6% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Elementary schools in Sauk Village
2 public elementary schools in Sauk Village report 2024-25 enrollment; Strassburg Elementary is number 2 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wagoner Elementary | 466 | 12.6 | not reported |
| Strassburg Elementary | 406 | 15.6 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Strassburg Elementary
- Wagoner ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 0.9 miles away: 466 students, 12.6 per teacher (2024-25).0.9 mi
- Medgar Evers Primary Acadmc CntrThe next nearest public elementary school, 2.4 miles away: 306 students, 25.5 per teacher (2024-25).2.4 mi
- Compare Strassburg Elementary with Wagoner ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much CCSD 168 spends per student$22,643 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$22,643
- The largest public schools in IllinoisStrassburg Elementary is the number 960 by size of 2,314 Illinois elementary schools open in 2024-25.#960 of 2,314
- Illinois schools by students per teacher15.6 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.1 for elementary schools.15.6:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Strassburg Elementary
How many students attend Strassburg Elementary?
406 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 363 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Sauk Village, IL.What is the student-teacher ratio at Strassburg Elementary?
15.6 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Strassburg Elementary a Title I school?
Strassburg Elementary ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Strassburg Elementary do on state tests?
The students tested at Strassburg Elementary scored proficient or above: 18% in reading in 2021-22 and 5% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Strassburg Elementary in?
CCSD 168, NCES district ID 1735460. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 173546003699 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.