South Elementary School

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 2 · Marshall, Illinois

South Elementary School in Marshall, Illinois enrolled 306 students in 2024-25 with 24.0 full-time teachers, 12.8 students per teacher against the Illinois elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25).

Enrollment rose 4% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 2%

293 students in 2022-23, 298 students in 2023-24, 306 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 24.5 to 24.0.

Students enrolled at South Elementary School by school year2022-23: 293, 2023-24: 298, 2024-25: 30601002003004002022-232932023-242982024-25306
Students enrolled at South Elementary School by school year2022-23: 293, 2023-24: 298, 2024-25: 30601002003004002022-232932023-242982024-25306
Students enrolled at South Elementary School by school year2022-23: 293, 2023-24: 298, 2024-25: 30601002003004002022-232932023-242982024-25306
Students enrolled at South Elementary School by school year2022-23: 293, 2023-24: 298, 2024-25: 30601002003004002022-232932023-242982024-25306
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2329324.512.0
2023-2429825.511.7
2024-2530624.012.8

12.8 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 56 of every 100 Illinois elementary schools

Among the 2,300 Illinois elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 12.8; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 12.8state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 12.8; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 12.8state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 12.8; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 12.8state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 12.8; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 12.8state median 13.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 280 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection South Elementary School enrolled 280 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 280 of the 280 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent20.5% (2022-23)

Who attends

92.2% of students were White, 3.6% of two or more races, 2.0% Hispanic in 2024-25.

  1. White92.2%
  2. Two or more races3.6%
  3. Hispanic2.0%
  4. Asian1.3%
  5. Black1.0%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

Elementary schools in Marshall

2 public elementary schools in Marshall report 2024-25 enrollment; South Elementary School is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
North Elementary School33912.1not reported
South Elementary School30612.8not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about South Elementary School

  1. North Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 1.1 miles away: 339 students, 12.1 per teacher (2024-25).1.1 mi
  2. Martinsville Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 10 miles away: 238 students, 14.3 per teacher (2024-25).10 mi
  3. Compare South Elementary School with North Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Marshall CUSD 2C spends per student$12,445 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$12,445
  5. The largest public schools in IllinoisSouth Elementary School is the number 1,487 by size of 2,314 Illinois elementary schools open in 2024-25.#1,487 of 2,314
  6. Illinois schools by students per teacher12.8 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.1 for elementary schools.12.8:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about South Elementary School

  1. How many students attend South Elementary School?
    306 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 293 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Marshall, IL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at South Elementary School?
    12.8 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is South Elementary School a Title I school?
    South Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. What district is South Elementary School in?
    Marshall CUSD 2C, NCES district ID 1724870. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 172487002698 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22