Riverdale

Public elementary school, grades 1 to 5 · Dedham, Massachusetts

Riverdale in Dedham, Massachusetts enrolled 206 students in 2024-25 with 21.5 full-time teachers, 9.6 students per teacher against the Massachusetts elementary-school median of 12.1. It ran a targeted Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 50-54% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 45-49% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Massachusetts: 43.7% and 42%).

Enrollment rose 18% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 15%

174 students in 2022-23, 193 students in 2023-24, 206 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 18.7 to 21.5.

Students enrolled at Riverdale by school year2022-23: 174, 2023-24: 193, 2024-25: 20601002003002022-231742023-241932024-25206
Students enrolled at Riverdale by school year2022-23: 174, 2023-24: 193, 2024-25: 20601002003002022-231742023-241932024-25206
Students enrolled at Riverdale by school year2022-23: 174, 2023-24: 193, 2024-25: 20601002003002022-231742023-241932024-25206
Students enrolled at Riverdale by school year2022-23: 174, 2023-24: 193, 2024-25: 20601002003002022-231742023-241932024-25206
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2317418.79.3
2023-2419320.19.6
2024-2520621.59.6

9.6 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 88 of every 100 Massachusetts elementary schools

Among the 1,012 Massachusetts elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Riverdale 9.6; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherRiverdale 9.6state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Riverdale 9.6; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherRiverdale 9.6state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Riverdale 9.6; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherRiverdale 9.6state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Riverdale 9.6; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherRiverdale 9.6state median 12.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 172 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Riverdale enrolled 172 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 172 of the 172 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent9.2% (2022-23)

Who attends

62.6% of students were White, 17.0% Hispanic, 11.7% Black in 2024-25.

  1. White62.6%
  2. Hispanic17.0%
  3. Black11.7%
  4. Two or more races6.8%
  5. Asian1.9%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Riverdale scored proficient or above: 50-54% in reading in 2021-22 and 45-49% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtMassachusetts
Reading and language arts, 2021-2250‑54%45%43.7%
Math, 2022-2345‑49%46% (2021-22)42%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Dedham

5 public elementary schools in Dedham report 2024-25 enrollment; Riverdale is number 5 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Avery32110.2not reported
Greenlodge32011.4not reported
Early Childhood Center28511.7not reported
Oakdale26210.7not reported
Riverdale2069.6not reported

All public schools in Dedham →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Riverdale

  1. Early Childhood CenterThe nearest public elementary school, 1.8 miles away: 285 students, 11.7 per teacher (2024-25).1.8 mi
  2. AveryThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.9 miles away: 321 students, 10.2 per teacher (2024-25).1.9 mi
  3. Compare Riverdale with Early Childhood CenterStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Dedham Public Schools spends per student$27,349 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$27,349
  5. The largest public schools in MassachusettsRiverdale is the number 910 by size of 1,014 Massachusetts elementary schools open in 2024-25.#910 of 1,014
  6. Massachusetts schools by students per teacher9.6 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 12.1 for elementary schools.9.6:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Riverdale

  1. How many students attend Riverdale?
    206 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 174 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Dedham, MA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Riverdale?
    9.6 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for elementary schools is 12.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Riverdale a Title I school?
    Riverdale ran a targeted assistance Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Riverdale do on state tests?
    The students tested at Riverdale scored proficient or above: 50-54% in reading in 2021-22 and 45-49% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Riverdale in?
    Dedham Public Schools, NCES district ID 2504050. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 250405000554 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22