Riverdale Elementary School
Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 8 · Germantown, Tennessee
Riverdale Elementary School in Germantown, Tennessee enrolled 1,184 students in 2024-25. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 55-59% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 69% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Tennessee: 35% and 34.3%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2023-24; full-time teachers fell 2%
1,171 students in 2022-23, 1,164 students in 2023-24. Full-time teachers went from 83.4 to 81.7.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 1,171 | 83.4 | 14.0 |
| 2023-24 | 1,164 | 81.7 | 14.2 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24.
One counselor per 351 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Riverdale Elementary School enrolled 1,053 students and had 3.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 11 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)3.0, one per 351 of the 1,053 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions11
- Chronically absent7.2% (2022-23)
Who attends
69.8% of students were White, 11.7% Black, 6.8% Hispanic in 2024-25.
- White69.8%
- Black11.7%
- Hispanic6.8%
- Asian6.3%
- Two or more races5.5%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Riverdale Elementary School scored proficient or above: 55-59% in reading in 2021-22 and 69% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Tennessee, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Tennessee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 55‑59% | 64% | 35% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 69% | 63% (2021-22) | 34.3% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Elementary schools in Germantown
6 public elementary schools in Germantown report 2024-25 enrollment; Riverdale Elementary School is the largest.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Riverdale Elementary School | 1,184 | 14.0 | not reported |
| Germanshire Elementary | 725 | 18.6 | not reported |
| Forest Hill Elementary School | 698 | 15.3 | not reported |
| Dogwood Elementary School | 663 | 14.0 | not reported |
| Farmington Elementary School | 646 | 13.8 | not reported |
| Germantown Elementary | 523 | 13.8 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Riverdale Elementary School
- Germantown ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 2.1 miles away: 523 students, 13.8 per teacher (2024-25).2.1 mi
- Farmington Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 2.3 miles away: 646 students, 13.8 per teacher (2024-25).2.3 mi
- Compare Riverdale Elementary School with Germantown ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Germantown Municipal District spends per student$11,689 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$11,689
- The largest public schools in TennesseeRiverdale Elementary School is the number 7 by size of 998 Tennessee elementary schools open in 2024-25.#7 of 998
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Riverdale Elementary School
How many students attend Riverdale Elementary School?
1,184 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 1,171 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Germantown, TN.What is the student-teacher ratio at Riverdale Elementary School?
14.0 students per full-time teacher (2022-23). A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Riverdale Elementary School a Title I school?
Riverdale Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Riverdale Elementary School do on state tests?
The students tested at Riverdale Elementary School scored proficient or above: 55-59% in reading in 2021-22 and 69% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Tennessee's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Riverdale Elementary School in?
Germantown Municipal District, NCES district ID 4700151. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 470015101591 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.