Princeton Primary School

Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 2 · Princeton, West Virginia

Princeton Primary School in Princeton, West Virginia enrolled 448 students in 2024-25 with 37.0 full-time teachers, 12.1 students per teacher against the West Virginia elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25).

Enrollment fell 10% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 10%

499 students in 2022-23, 475 students in 2023-24, 448 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 33.5 to 37.0.

Students enrolled at Princeton Primary School by school year2022-23: 499, 2023-24: 475, 2024-25: 44802004006002022-234992023-244752024-25448
Students enrolled at Princeton Primary School by school year2022-23: 499, 2023-24: 475, 2024-25: 44802004006002022-234992023-244752024-25448
Students enrolled at Princeton Primary School by school year2022-23: 499, 2023-24: 475, 2024-25: 44802004006002022-234992023-244752024-25448
Students enrolled at Princeton Primary School by school year2022-23: 499, 2023-24: 475, 2024-25: 44802004006002022-234992023-244752024-25448
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2349933.514.9
2023-2447535.013.6
2024-2544837.012.1

12.1 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 64 of every 100 West Virginia elementary schools

Among the 392 West Virginia elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, West Virginia elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.6 to 20.5; This school 12.1; state median 13.1.1 more above 20.0 →5101520students per full-time teacherThis school 12.1state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, West Virginia elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.6 to 20.5; This school 12.1; state median 13.1.1 more above 20.0 →5101520students per full-time teacherThis school 12.1state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, West Virginia elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.6 to 20.5; This school 12.1; state median 13.1.1 more above 20.0 →5101520students per full-time teacherThis school 12.1state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, West Virginia elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.6 to 20.5; This school 12.1; state median 13.1.1 more above 20.0 →5101520students per full-time teacherThis school 12.1state median 13.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 303 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Princeton Primary School enrolled 454 students and had 1.5 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 21 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.5, one per 303 of the 454 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions21
  • Chronically absent20.8% (2022-23)

Who attends

75.9% of students were White, 14.1% of two or more races, 6.9% Black in 2024-25.

  1. White75.9%
  2. Two or more races14.1%
  3. Black6.9%
  4. Hispanic2.2%
  5. Asian0.9%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

Elementary schools in Princeton

6 public elementary schools in Princeton report 2024-25 enrollment; Princeton Primary School is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Glenwood School (K-8)61413.4not reported
Princeton Primary School44812.1not reported
Mercer Elementary25812.6not reported
Melrose Elementary School23915.9not reported
Straley Elementary School17212.7not reported
Oakvale School16810.8not reported

All public schools in Princeton →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Princeton Primary School

  1. Mercer ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 0.7 miles away: 258 students, 12.6 per teacher (2024-25).0.7 mi
  2. Straley Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.1 miles away: 172 students, 12.7 per teacher (2024-25).1.1 mi
  3. Compare Princeton Primary School with Mercer ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Mercer County Schools spends per student$13,583 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$13,583
  5. The largest public schools in West VirginiaPrinceton Primary School is the number 60 by size of 393 West Virginia elementary schools open in 2024-25.#60 of 393
  6. West Virginia schools by students per teacher12.1 students per teacher here against the West Virginia median of 13.1 for elementary schools.12.1:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Princeton Primary School

  1. How many students attend Princeton Primary School?
    448 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 499 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Princeton, WV.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Princeton Primary School?
    12.1 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the West Virginia median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Princeton Primary School a Title I school?
    Princeton Primary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. What district is Princeton Primary School in?
    Mercer County Schools, NCES district ID 5400840. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 540084001120 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22