Prairie Care Mankato

Public school, kindergarten to grade 12 · Mankato, Minnesota

Prairie Care Mankato in Mankato, Minnesota enrolled 18 students in 2024-25 with 1.0 full-time teachers, 18.0 students per teacher against the Minnesota median of 6.6. It was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no program; it does not take part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, under 50% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 (Minnesota: 51.1%).

Enrollment fell 22% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers held steady

23 students in 2022-23, 17 students in 2023-24, 18 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 1.0 to 1.0.

Students enrolled at Prairie Care Mankato by school year2022-23: 23, 2023-24: 17, 2024-25: 1801020302022-23232023-24172024-2518
Students enrolled at Prairie Care Mankato by school year2022-23: 23, 2023-24: 17, 2024-25: 1801020302022-23232023-24172024-2518
Students enrolled at Prairie Care Mankato by school year2022-23: 23, 2023-24: 17, 2024-25: 1801020302022-23232023-24172024-2518
Students enrolled at Prairie Care Mankato by school year2022-23: 23, 2023-24: 17, 2024-25: 1801020302022-23232023-24172024-2518
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23231.023.0
2023-24171.017.0
2024-25181.018.0

18.0 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 88 of every 100 Minnesota schools of this kind

Among the 163 Minnesota schools of this kind that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 6.6; the national median for schools of this kind is 13.8. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Minnesota other schools, 2024-25163 values from 3.0 to 69.0; Prairie Care Mankato 18.0; state median 6.6.2 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherPrairie Care Mankato 18.0state median 6.6U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Minnesota other schools, 2024-25163 values from 3.0 to 69.0; Prairie Care Mankato 18.0; state median 6.6.2 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherPrairie Care Mankato 18.0state median 6.6U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Minnesota other schools, 2024-25163 values from 3.0 to 69.0; Prairie Care Mankato 18.0; state median 6.6.2 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherPrairie Care Mankato 18.0state median 6.6U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Minnesota other schools, 2024-25163 values from 3.0 to 69.0; Prairie Care Mankato 18.0; state median 6.6.2 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherPrairie Care Mankato 18.0state median 6.6U.S. 13.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Prairie Care Mankato reported.

  • Advanced Placement coursesnot reported
  • Gifted and talented programnot reported
  • Counselors (FTE)not reported
  • Out-of-school suspensionsnot reported
  • Chronically absentnot reported for this school

Who attends

55.6% of students were White, 33.3% Hispanic, 5.6% Black in 2024-25.

  1. White55.6%
  2. Hispanic33.3%
  3. Black5.6%
  4. Two or more races5.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested at Prairie Care Mankato scored proficient or above: under 50% in reading, against 51.1% in reading across Minnesota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Minnesota, not across states. No whole-school math result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis schoolIts districtMinnesota
Reading and language artsunder 50%55%51.1%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive): ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Schools of this kind in Mankato

3 public schools of this kind in Mankato report 2024-25 enrollment; Prairie Care Mankato is number 3 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Special Education23313.739.5%
Mankato Schools Center for Learning165not reported35.8%
Prairie Care Mankato1818.038.9%

All public schools in Mankato →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Prairie Care Mankato

  1. Special EducationThe nearest public school of this kind, 0.2 miles away: 233 students, 13.7 per teacher (2024-25).0.2 mi
  2. Futures ProgramThe next nearest public school of this kind, 1.7 miles away: 33 students (2024-25).1.7 mi
  3. Compare Prairie Care Mankato with Special EducationStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Mankato Area Public Schools spends per student$14,091 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$14,091
  5. The largest public schools in MinnesotaPrairie Care Mankato is the number 168 by size of 245 Minnesota schools of this kind open in 2024-25.#168 of 245
  6. Minnesota schools by students per teacher18.0 students per teacher here against the Minnesota median of 6.6 for schools of this kind.18.0:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Prairie Care Mankato

  1. How many students attend Prairie Care Mankato?
    18 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 23 in 2022-23. It is an alternative school in Mankato, MN.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Prairie Care Mankato?
    18.0 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Minnesota median for schools of this kind is 6.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Prairie Care Mankato a Title I school?
    Prairie Care Mankato was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no Title I program (2021-22 is the last year NCES published school Title I status).
  4. How do students at Prairie Care Mankato do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested at Prairie Care Mankato scored proficient or above: under 50% in reading, against 51.1% in reading across Minnesota. Minnesota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Prairie Care Mankato in?
    Mankato Area Public Schools, NCES district ID 2718780. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 271878005116 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22