Norwood Middle School
Public middle school, grades 6 to 8 · Oliver Springs, Tennessee
Norwood Middle School in Oliver Springs, Tennessee enrolled 162 students in 2024-25. It was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no program; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 10-18% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 20-24% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Tennessee: 35% and 34.3%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2023-24; full-time teachers fell 1%
159 students in 2022-23, 158 students in 2023-24. Full-time teachers went from 16.1 to 16.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 159 | 16.1 | 9.9 |
| 2023-24 | 158 | 16.0 | 9.9 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24.
One counselor per 174 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Norwood Middle School enrolled 174 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 23 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 174 of the 174 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions23
- Chronically absent11.9% (2022-23)
Who attends
87.0% of students were White, 8.0% Hispanic, 2.5% of two or more races in 2024-25.
- White87.0%
- Hispanic8.0%
- Two or more races2.5%
- Black1.2%
- American Indian1.2%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Norwood Middle School scored proficient or above: 10-18% in reading in 2021-22 and 20-24% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Tennessee, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Tennessee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 10‑18% | 30% | 35% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 20‑24% | 30% (2021-22) | 34.3% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Middle schools in Oliver Springs
2 public middle schools in Oliver Springs report 2024-25 enrollment; Norwood Middle School is number 2 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oliver Springs Middle | 172 | 11.0 | not reported |
| Norwood Middle School | 162 | 9.9 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Norwood Middle School
- Oliver Springs MiddleThe nearest public middle school, 1.4 miles away: 172 students, 11.0 per teacher (2024-25).1.4 mi
- Robertsville Middle SchoolThe next nearest public middle school, 3.1 miles away: 768 students, 13.6 per teacher (2024-25).3.1 mi
- Compare Norwood Middle School with Oliver Springs MiddleStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Anderson County School District spends per student$12,945 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$12,945
- The largest public schools in TennesseeNorwood Middle School is the number 325 by size of 332 Tennessee middle schools open in 2024-25.#325 of 332
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Norwood Middle School
How many students attend Norwood Middle School?
162 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 159 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Oliver Springs, TN.What is the student-teacher ratio at Norwood Middle School?
9.9 students per full-time teacher (2022-23). A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Norwood Middle School a Title I school?
Norwood Middle School was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no Title I program (2021-22 is the last year NCES published school Title I status).How do students at Norwood Middle School do on state tests?
The students tested at Norwood Middle School scored proficient or above: 10-18% in reading in 2021-22 and 20-24% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Tennessee's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Norwood Middle School in?
Anderson County School District, NCES district ID 4700090. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 470009000021 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.