Mount Hermon Preschool Center

Public school, pre-kindergarten · Portsmouth, Virginia

Mount Hermon Preschool Center in Portsmouth, Virginia enrolled 208 students in 2024-25 with 20.0 full-time teachers, 10.4 students per teacher against the Virginia median of 11.4. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25).

Enrollment fell 19% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 11%

256 students in 2022-23, 227 students in 2023-24, 208 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 18.0 to 20.0.

Students enrolled at Mount Hermon Preschool Center by school year2022-23: 256, 2023-24: 227, 2024-25: 20801002003002022-232562023-242272024-25208
Students enrolled at Mount Hermon Preschool Center by school year2022-23: 256, 2023-24: 227, 2024-25: 20801002003002022-232562023-242272024-25208
Students enrolled at Mount Hermon Preschool Center by school year2022-23: 256, 2023-24: 227, 2024-25: 20801002003002022-232562023-242272024-25208
Students enrolled at Mount Hermon Preschool Center by school year2022-23: 256, 2023-24: 227, 2024-25: 20801002003002022-232562023-242272024-25208
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2325618.014.2
2023-2422718.012.6
2024-2520820.010.4

10.4 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 68 of every 100 Virginia schools of this kind

Among the 41 Virginia schools of this kind that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 11.4; the national median for schools of this kind is 13.8. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Virginia other schools, 2024-2541 values from 4.9 to 18.8; This school 10.4; state median 11.4.2.557.51012.51517.520students per full-time teacherThis school 10.4state median 11.4U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Virginia other schools, 2024-2541 values from 4.9 to 18.8; This school 10.4; state median 11.4.2.557.51012.51517.520students per full-time teacherThis school 10.4state median 11.4U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Virginia other schools, 2024-2541 values from 4.9 to 18.8; This school 10.4; state median 11.4.2.57.512.517.520students per full-time teacherThis school 10.4state median 11.4U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Virginia other schools, 2024-2541 values from 4.9 to 18.8; This school 10.4; state median 11.4.2.57.512.517.520students per full-time teacherThis school 10.4state median 11.4U.S. 13.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Mount Hermon Preschool Center reported and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absentnot reported for this school

Who attends

71.2% of students were Black, 11.5% Hispanic, 10.6% White in 2024-25.

  1. Black71.2%
  2. Hispanic11.5%
  3. White10.6%
  4. Two or more races4.8%
  5. Pacific Islander1.4%
  6. Asian0.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

Schools of this kind in Portsmouth

3 public schools of this kind in Portsmouth report 2024-25 enrollment; Mount Hermon Preschool Center is the largest.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Mount Hermon Preschool Center20810.497.1%
Olive Branch Preschool Center1718.699.5%
Churchland Preschool Center11210.2not reported

All public schools in Portsmouth →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Mount Hermon Preschool Center

  1. Olive Branch Preschool CenterThe nearest public school of this kind, 2.5 miles away: 171 students, 8.6 per teacher (2024-25).2.5 mi
  2. Churchland Preschool CenterThe next nearest public school of this kind, 3.8 miles away: 112 students, 10.2 per teacher (2024-25).3.8 mi
  3. Compare Mount Hermon Preschool Center with Olive Branch Preschool CenterStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Portsmouth City Public Schools spends per student$14,888 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$14,888
  5. The largest public schools in VirginiaMount Hermon Preschool Center is the number 20 by size of 47 Virginia schools of this kind open in 2024-25.#20 of 47
  6. Virginia schools by students per teacher10.4 students per teacher here against the Virginia median of 11.4 for schools of this kind.10.4:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Mount Hermon Preschool Center

  1. How many students attend Mount Hermon Preschool Center?
    208 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 256 in 2022-23. It is a public school in Portsmouth, VA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Mount Hermon Preschool Center?
    10.4 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Virginia median for schools of this kind is 11.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Mount Hermon Preschool Center a Title I school?
    Mount Hermon Preschool Center was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. What district is Mount Hermon Preschool Center in?
    Portsmouth City Public Schools, NCES district ID 5103000. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 510300002474 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22