Middle Area Learning Center

Public middle school, grades 5 to 8 · Grand Rapids, Minnesota

Middle Area Learning Center in Grand Rapids, Minnesota enrolled 54 students in 2024-25. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 10-14% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 10% or less proficient in math in 2022-23 (Minnesota: 51.1% and 45.5%).

Enrollment rose 2% from 2022-23 to 2024-25

53 students in 2022-23, 26 students in 2023-24, 54 students in 2024-25.

Students enrolled at Middle Area Learning Center by school year2022-23: 53, 2023-24: 26, 2024-25: 5402040602022-23532023-24262024-2554
Students enrolled at Middle Area Learning Center by school year2022-23: 53, 2023-24: 26, 2024-25: 5402040602022-23532023-24262024-2554
Students enrolled at Middle Area Learning Center by school year2022-23: 53, 2023-24: 26, 2024-25: 5402040602022-23532023-24262024-2554
Students enrolled at Middle Area Learning Center by school year2022-23: 53, 2023-24: 26, 2024-25: 5402040602022-23532023-24262024-2554
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23530.863.9
2023-24260.0not reported
2024-25540.0not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25.

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Middle Area Learning Center reported.

  • Advanced Placement coursesnot reported
  • Gifted and talented programnot reported
  • Counselors (FTE)not reported
  • Out-of-school suspensionsnot reported
  • Chronically absent1.9% (2022-23)

Who attends

79.6% of students were White, 7.4% American Indian, 5.6% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White79.6%
  2. American Indian7.4%
  3. Two or more races5.6%
  4. Hispanic1.9%
  5. Black1.9%
  6. Asian1.9%
  7. Pacific Islander1.9%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Middle Area Learning Center scored proficient or above: 10-14% in reading in 2021-22 and 10% or less in math in 2022-23, against 51.1% in reading in 2021-22 and 45.5% in math in 2022-23 across Minnesota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Minnesota, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtMinnesota
Reading and language arts, 2021-2210‑14%54%51.1%
Math, 2022-2310% or less46% (2021-22)45.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Middle schools in Grand Rapids

2 public middle schools in Grand Rapids report 2024-25 enrollment; Middle Area Learning Center is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Robert J. Elkington Middle School76417.325.1%
Middle Area Learning Center54not reported35.2%

All public schools in Grand Rapids →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Middle Area Learning Center

  1. Robert J. Elkington Middle SchoolThe nearest public middle school, under 0.1 miles away: 764 students, 17.3 per teacher (2024-25).under 0.1 mi
  2. Greenway MiddleThe next nearest public middle school, 5.2 miles away: 244 students, 15.7 per teacher (2024-25).5.2 mi
  3. Compare Middle Area Learning Center with Robert J. Elkington Middle SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Grand Rapids Area Schools spends per student$14,391 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$14,391
  5. The largest public schools in MinnesotaMiddle Area Learning Center is the number 267 by size of 301 Minnesota middle schools open in 2024-25.#267 of 301
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Middle Area Learning Center

  1. How many students attend Middle Area Learning Center?
    54 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 53 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Grand Rapids, MN.
  2. Is Middle Area Learning Center a Title I school?
    Middle Area Learning Center was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  3. How do students at Middle Area Learning Center do on state tests?
    The students tested at Middle Area Learning Center scored proficient or above: 10-14% in reading in 2021-22 and 10% or less in math in 2022-23, against 51.1% in reading in 2021-22 and 45.5% in math in 2022-23 across Minnesota. Minnesota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  4. What district is Middle Area Learning Center in?
    Grand Rapids Area Schools, NCES district ID 2713170. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 271317000940 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22