Rockland

Public school district · Plymouth County · Massachusetts · NCES district ID 2510170

Rockland spent $22,068 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 58% of the other Massachusetts districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $21,173). Its 4 schools enrolled 2,158 students in 2024-25; 51.8% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,893 per student, up 8.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Massachusetts: 89.2%).

Spending per student among Massachusetts districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Rockland in enrollment (2,136 to 2,223 students) and Rockland itself.

Current spending per student, Massachusetts districts closest in size to Rockland, FY23Sandwich $26,346; Brooke Charter Schools $24,924; Newburyport Public Schools $23,538; Rockland $22,068; Medway Public Schools $20,876; Norwell Public Schools $19,734; Lynnfield Public Schools $19,679; Quabbin Regional $19,677; Abington Public Schools $18,081; Belchertown Public Schools $17,874; State median, 1,000+ students $21,173.15k20k25k30kSandwich$26,346Brooke Charter Schools$24,924Newburyport Public Schools$23,538Rockland$22,068Medway Public Schools$20,876Norwell Public Schools$19,734Lynnfield Public Schools$19,679Quabbin Regional$19,677Abington Public Schools$18,081Belchertown Public Schools$17,874State median, 1,000+ students $21,173
Current spending per student, Massachusetts districts closest in size to Rockland, FY23Sandwich $26,346; Brooke Charter Schools $24,924; Newburyport Public Schools $23,538; Rockland $22,068; Medway Public Schools $20,876; Norwell Public Schools $19,734; Lynnfield Public Schools $19,679; Quabbin Regional $19,677; Abington Public Schools $18,081; Belchertown Public Schools $17,874; State median, 1,000+ students $21,173.15k20k25k30kSandwich$26,346Brooke Charter Schools$24,924Newburyport Public Schools$23,538Rockland$22,068Medway Public Schools$20,876Norwell Public Schools$19,734Lynnfield Public Schools$19,679Quabbin Regional$19,677Abington Public Schools$18,081Belchertown Public Schools$17,874State median, 1,000+ students $21,173
Current spending per student, Massachusetts districts closest in size to Rockland, FY23Sandwich $26,346; Brooke Charter Schools $24,924; Newburyport Public Schools $23,538; Rockland $22,068; Medway Public Schools $20,876; Norwell Public Schools $19,734; Lynnfield Public Schools $19,679; Quabbin Regional $19,677; Abington Public Schools $18,081; Belchertown Public Schools $17,874; State median, 1,000+ students $21,173.15k20k25k30kSandwich$26,346Brooke Charter Schools$24,924Newburyport Public Schools$23,538Rockland$22,068Medway Public Schools$20,876Norwell Public Schools$19,734Lynnfield Public Schools$19,679Quabbin Regional$19,677Abington Public Schools$18,081Belchertown Public Schools$17,874State median, 1,000+ students $21,173
Current spending per student, Massachusetts districts closest in size to Rockland, FY23Sandwich $26,346; Brooke Charter Schools $24,924; Newburyport Public Schools $23,538; Rockland $22,068; Medway Public Schools $20,876; Norwell Public Schools $19,734; Lynnfield Public Schools $19,679; Quabbin Regional $19,677; Abington Public Schools $18,081; Belchertown Public Schools $17,874; State median, 1,000+ students $21,173.15k20k25k30kSandwich$26,346Brooke Charter Schools$24,924Newburyport Public Schools$23,538Rockland$22,068Medway Public Schools$20,876Norwell Public Schools$19,734Lynnfield Public Schools$19,679Quabbin Regional$19,677Abington Public Schools$18,081Belchertown Public Schools$17,874State median, 1,000+ students $21,173

Where the money came from

$55,627,000 in revenue: 51.8% state, 40.4% local and 7.8% federal. Total spending including $15,674,000 of capital outlay was $69,501,000, or $31,779 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Rockland revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $28,818,000; Local $22,462,000; Federal $4,347,000; total $55,627,000.
  • State$28,818,000 52%
  • Local$22,462,000 40%
  • Federal$4,347,000 8%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 243 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,163 students in 2022-23, 2,140 students in 2023-24, 2,158 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Rockland enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,163, 2023-24: 2,140, 2024-25: 2,15801k2k3k2022-232,1632023-242,1402024-252,158
Rockland enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,163, 2023-24: 2,140, 2024-25: 2,15801k2k3k2022-232,1632023-242,1402024-252,158
Rockland enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,163, 2023-24: 2,140, 2024-25: 2,15801k2k3k2022-232,1632023-242,1402024-252,158
Rockland enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,163, 2023-24: 2,140, 2024-25: 2,15801k2k3k2022-232,1632023-242,1402024-252,158

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,163179.312.1
2023-242,140175.312.2
2024-252,158170.312.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$13,587,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,213 per student

Rockland booked $13,587,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 179 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $75,765 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 28 in 100 Massachusetts districts with a figure (state median $83,840, 276 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Massachusetts teacher salary at $88,903 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$10,645,00078.3%
Special education$2,942,00021.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,347 in 2018-19, $5,398 in 2019-20, $5,709 in 2020-21, $6,006 in 2021-22, $6,213 in 2022-23.

Rockland teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,347, 2019-20: $5,398, 2020-21: $5,709, 2021-22: $6,006, 2022-23: $6,21302k4k6k8k2018-19$5,3472019-20$5,3982020-21$5,7092021-22$6,0062022-23$6,213
Rockland teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,347, 2019-20: $5,398, 2020-21: $5,709, 2021-22: $6,006, 2022-23: $6,21302k4k6k8k2018-19$5,3472019-20$5,3982020-21$5,7092021-22$6,0062022-23$6,213
Rockland teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,347, 2019-20: $5,398, 2020-21: $5,709, 2021-22: $6,006, 2022-23: $6,21302k4k6k8k2018-19$5,3472019-20$5,3982020-21$5,7092021-22$6,0062022-23$6,213
Rockland teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,347, 2019-20: $5,398, 2020-21: $5,709, 2021-22: $6,006, 2022-23: $6,21302k4k6k8k2018-19$5,3472019-20$5,3982020-21$5,7092021-22$6,0062022-23$6,213

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Rockland scored proficient or above: 41% in reading and 38% in math, against 43.7% in reading and 40.7% in math across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMassachusettsStudents tested
Reading and language arts41%43.7%1,192
Math38%40.7%1,198

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 139 students in Rockland's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMassachusetts
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%89.2%
Students in the class13972,602

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 881 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Jefferson Elementary School63913.5All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
R Stewart Esten24211.7All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 687 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
John W Rogers Middle68712.4All free (CEP)Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 590 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Rockland Senior High59012.5All free (CEP)Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Memorial Park

Elementary school in Rockland; 247 students; 9.9 students per teacher.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Rockland

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Rockland

  1. Massachusetts districts by spending per studentRockland ranks 103 of 243 Massachusetts districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($22,068).#103 of 243
  2. Every school district in MassachusettsRockland is the number 132 by size of 397 Massachusetts districts, with 2,187 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#132 of 397
  3. Newburyport Public SchoolsThe next larger Massachusetts district: 2,191 students in fall 2022, $23,538 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$23,538
  4. Abington Public SchoolsThe next smaller Massachusetts district: 2,177 students in fall 2022, $18,081 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,081
  5. Compare Rockland with Newburyport Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Rockland Senior High, its largest high school590 students in 2024-25, 12.5 per teacher.590
  7. Teacher salary spending across MassachusettsRockland spent $75,765 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $83,840); spending, not a salary.$75,765
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Rockland

  1. How many schools and students are in Rockland?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 2,158 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Rockland spend per student?
    $22,068 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Massachusetts median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $21,173 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,893 per student, up 8.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Rockland's money come from?
    $55,627,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 51.8% state, 40.4% local and 7.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Rockland live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 237 of the 2,339 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 10.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Rockland spend on teacher salaries?
    $13,587,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,213 per student. Divided by the 179 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $75,765 per teacher, more than 28 in 100 Massachusetts districts (state median $83,840). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Massachusetts teacher salary at $88,903 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Rockland do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Rockland scored proficient or above: 41% in reading and 38% in math, against 43.7% in reading and 40.7% in math across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Rockland?
    90-94% of the 139 students in Rockland's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Rockland's NCES district ID?
    2510170. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25