Martin Luther King Jr. Education Center
Public high school, grades 6 to 12 · Eugene, Oregon
Martin Luther King Jr. Education Center in Eugene, Oregon enrolled 7 students in 2024-25 with 2.0 full-time teachers, 3.5 students per teacher against the Oregon high-school median of 18.2. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it does not take part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 22% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 33%
9 students in 2022-23, 7 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 3.0 to 2.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 9 | 3.0 | 3.0 |
| 2024-25 | 7 | 2.0 | 3.5 |
3.5 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 100 of every 100 Oregon high schools
Among the 250 Oregon high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 18.2; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
Programs and staff in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Martin Luther King Jr. Education Center reported.
- Advanced Placement coursesnot reported
- Gifted and talented programnot reported
- Counselors (FTE)not reported
- Out-of-school suspensionsnot reported
- Chronically absent22.2% (2022-23)
Who attends
50.0% of students were White, 33.3% of two or more races, 16.7% Hispanic in 2024-25.
- White50.0%
- Two or more races33.3%
- Hispanic16.7%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
High schools in Eugene
11 public high schools in Eugene report 2024-25 enrollment.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| South Eugene High School | 1,499 | 22.5 | 64.6% |
| Sheldon High School | 1,462 | 20.1 | 64.8% |
| Willamette High School | 1,455 | 19.3 | 87.5% |
| North Eugene High School | 1,079 | 21.6 | 65.7% |
| Churchill High School | 1,031 | 19.7 | 66.0% |
| Network Charter School | 119 | 13.4 | 91.6% |
| Kalapuya High School | 108 | 11.3 | 99.1% |
| Eugene Education Options | 74 | 37.0 | 60.8% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Martin Luther King Jr. Education Center
- Sheldon High SchoolThe nearest public high school, 1.5 miles away: 1,462 students, 20.1 per teacher (2024-25).1.5 mi
- South Eugene High SchoolThe next nearest public high school, 1.9 miles away: 1,499 students, 22.5 per teacher (2024-25).1.9 mi
- Compare Martin Luther King Jr. Education Center with Sheldon High SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Lane ESD spends per student$552,167 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$552,167
- The largest public schools in OregonMartin Luther King Jr. Education Center is the number 256 by size of 260 Oregon high schools open in 2024-25.#256 of 260
- Oregon schools by students per teacher3.5 students per teacher here against the Oregon median of 18.2 for high schools.3.5:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Martin Luther King Jr. Education Center
How many students attend Martin Luther King Jr. Education Center?
7 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 9 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Eugene, OR.What is the student-teacher ratio at Martin Luther King Jr. Education Center?
3.5 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Oregon median for high schools is 18.2. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Martin Luther King Jr. Education Center a Title I school?
Martin Luther King Jr. Education Center was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.What district is Martin Luther King Jr. Education Center in?
Lane ESD, NCES district ID 4100032. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 410003201889 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.