Independence Elementary School
Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 5 · Bolingbrook, Illinois
Independence Elementary School in Bolingbrook, Illinois enrolled 617 students in 2024-25 with 47.5 full-time teachers, 13.0 students per teacher against the Illinois elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 28% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 22% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 9%
620 students in 2022-23, 602 students in 2023-24, 617 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 43.5 to 47.5.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 620 | 43.5 | 14.3 |
| 2023-24 | 602 | 46.5 | 12.9 |
| 2024-25 | 617 | 47.5 | 13.0 |
13.0 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 52 of every 100 Illinois elementary schools
Among the 2,300 Illinois elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
Programs and staff in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Independence Elementary School enrolled 557 students and reported no counselor; it reported 5 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)0.0
- Out-of-school suspensions5
- Chronically absent29.0% (2022-23)
Who attends
60.1% of students were Hispanic, 22.4% Black, 8.6% White in 2024-25.
- Hispanic60.1%
- Black22.4%
- White8.6%
- Asian4.7%
- Two or more races3.9%
- American Indian0.3%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Independence Elementary School scored proficient or above: 28% in reading in 2021-22 and 22% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Illinois |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 28% | 31% | 29.9% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 22% | not published | 26.6% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Elementary schools in Bolingbrook
10 public elementary schools in Bolingbrook report 2024-25 enrollment; Independence Elementary School is number 2 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oak View Elementary School | 636 | 14.6 | not reported |
| Independence Elementary School | 617 | 13.0 | not reported |
| Pioneer Elementary School | 561 | 12.3 | not reported |
| Liberty Elementary School | 522 | 13.2 | not reported |
| Jamie McGee Elementary School | 487 | 15.8 | not reported |
| Wood View Elementary School | 443 | 14.8 | not reported |
| Jonas E Salk Elementary School | 391 | 10.1 | not reported |
| Bernard J Ward Elementary School | 363 | 11.8 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Independence Elementary School
- Oak View Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 0.8 miles away: 636 students, 14.6 per teacher (2024-25).0.8 mi
- Jamie McGee Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.0 miles away: 487 students, 15.8 per teacher (2024-25).1.0 mi
- Compare Independence Elementary School with Oak View Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Valley View Community School District 365-U spends per student$22,208 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$22,208
- The largest public schools in IllinoisIndependence Elementary School is the number 246 by size of 2,314 Illinois elementary schools open in 2024-25.#246 of 2,314
- Illinois schools by students per teacher13.0 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.1 for elementary schools.13.0:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Independence Elementary School
How many students attend Independence Elementary School?
617 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 620 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Bolingbrook, IL.What is the student-teacher ratio at Independence Elementary School?
13.0 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Independence Elementary School a Title I school?
Independence Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Independence Elementary School do on state tests?
The students tested at Independence Elementary School scored proficient or above: 28% in reading in 2021-22 and 22% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Independence Elementary School in?
Valley View Community School District 365-U, NCES district ID 1740070. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 174007004028 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.