Hawthorn Middle School North

Public middle school, grades 6 to 8 · Vernon Hills, Illinois

Hawthorn Middle School North in Vernon Hills, Illinois enrolled 627 students in 2024-25 with 55.3 full-time teachers, 11.3 students per teacher against the Illinois middle-school median of 12.7. It ran a targeted Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 45% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 40% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers held steady

623 students in 2022-23, 593 students in 2023-24, 627 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 55.1 to 55.3.

Students enrolled at Hawthorn Middle School North by school year2022-23: 623, 2023-24: 593, 2024-25: 62702004006008002022-236232023-245932024-25627
Students enrolled at Hawthorn Middle School North by school year2022-23: 623, 2023-24: 593, 2024-25: 62702004006008002022-236232023-245932024-25627
Students enrolled at Hawthorn Middle School North by school year2022-23: 623, 2023-24: 593, 2024-25: 62702004006008002022-236232023-245932024-25627
Students enrolled at Hawthorn Middle School North by school year2022-23: 623, 2023-24: 593, 2024-25: 62702004006008002022-236232023-245932024-25627
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2362355.111.3
2023-2459351.711.5
2024-2562755.311.3

11.3 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 76 of every 100 Illinois middle schools

Among the 684 Illinois middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.7; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Illinois middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.0 to 70.6; This school 11.3; state median 12.7.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 11.3state median 12.7U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.0 to 70.6; This school 11.3; state median 12.7.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 11.3state median 12.7U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.0 to 70.6; This school 11.3; state median 12.7.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 11.3state median 12.7U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.0 to 70.6; This school 11.3; state median 12.7.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 11.3state median 12.7U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Hawthorn Middle School North enrolled 613 students and reported no counselor; it reported 1 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions1
  • Chronically absent12.4% (2022-23)

Who attends

46.1% of students were White, 23.8% Asian, 21.5% Hispanic in 2024-25.

  1. White46.1%
  2. Asian23.8%
  3. Hispanic21.5%
  4. Black4.5%
  5. Two or more races3.3%
  6. American Indian0.8%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Hawthorn Middle School North scored proficient or above: 45% in reading in 2021-22 and 40% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtIllinois
Reading and language arts, 2021-2245%45%29.9%
Math, 2022-2340%not published26.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Middle schools in Vernon Hills

2 public middle schools in Vernon Hills report 2024-25 enrollment; Hawthorn Middle School North is the largest.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Hawthorn Middle School North62711.3not reported
Hawthorn Middle School South60911.2not reported

All public schools in Vernon Hills →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Hawthorn Middle School North

  1. Hawthorn Middle School SouthThe nearest public middle school, 0.3 miles away: 609 students, 11.2 per teacher (2024-25).0.3 mi
  2. West Oak Middle SchoolThe next nearest public middle school, 2.3 miles away: 280 students, 10.3 per teacher (2024-25).2.3 mi
  3. Compare Hawthorn Middle School North with Hawthorn Middle School SouthStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Hawthorn District 73 spends per student$19,084 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$19,084
  5. The largest public schools in IllinoisHawthorn Middle School North is the number 188 by size of 686 Illinois middle schools open in 2024-25.#188 of 686
  6. Illinois schools by students per teacher11.3 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 12.7 for middle schools.11.3:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Hawthorn Middle School North

  1. How many students attend Hawthorn Middle School North?
    627 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 623 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Vernon Hills, IL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Hawthorn Middle School North?
    11.3 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for middle schools is 12.7. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Hawthorn Middle School North a Title I school?
    Hawthorn Middle School North ran a targeted assistance Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Hawthorn Middle School North do on state tests?
    The students tested at Hawthorn Middle School North scored proficient or above: 45% in reading in 2021-22 and 40% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Hawthorn Middle School North in?
    Hawthorn District 73, NCES district ID 1718570. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 171857002149 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22