Gorsuch West Elementary School

Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 5 · Lancaster, Ohio

Gorsuch West Elementary School in Lancaster, Ohio enrolled 530 students in 2024-25 with 30.0 full-time teachers, 17.7 students per teacher against the Ohio elementary-school median of 17.4. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 47-51% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 52% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Ohio: 59% and 54.3%).

Enrollment fell 9% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 3%

580 students in 2022-23, 576 students in 2023-24, 530 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 29.0 to 30.0.

Students enrolled at Gorsuch West Elementary School by school year2022-23: 580, 2023-24: 576, 2024-25: 53002004006002022-235802023-245762024-25530
Students enrolled at Gorsuch West Elementary School by school year2022-23: 580, 2023-24: 576, 2024-25: 53002004006002022-235802023-245762024-25530
Students enrolled at Gorsuch West Elementary School by school year2022-23: 580, 2023-24: 576, 2024-25: 53002004006002022-235802023-245762024-25530
Students enrolled at Gorsuch West Elementary School by school year2022-23: 580, 2023-24: 576, 2024-25: 53002004006002022-235802023-245762024-25530
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2358029.020.0
2023-2457629.819.3
2024-2553030.017.7

17.7 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 53 of every 100 Ohio elementary schools

Among the 1,708 Ohio elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 17.4; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 17.7; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.7state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 17.7; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.7state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 17.7; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.7state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 17.7; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 17.7state median 17.4U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Gorsuch West Elementary School enrolled 551 students and reported no counselor; it reported 34 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions34
  • Chronically absent32.6% (2022-23)

Who attends

78.3% of students were White, 13.0% of two or more races, 6.2% Black in 2024-25.

  1. White78.3%
  2. Two or more races13.0%
  3. Black6.2%
  4. Hispanic2.1%
  5. Asian0.4%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Gorsuch West Elementary School scored proficient or above: 47-51% in reading in 2021-22 and 52% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtOhio
Reading and language arts, 2021-2247‑51%54%59%
Math, 2022-2352%50% (2021-22)54.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Lancaster

6 public elementary schools in Lancaster report 2024-25 enrollment; Gorsuch West Elementary School is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Tarhe Trails Elementary School61120.433.4%
Gorsuch West Elementary School53017.762.9%
Mt. Pleasant Elementary School53019.748.4%
Medill Elementary School53019.645.2%
Tallmadge Elementary School48618.755.9%
Early Childhood Center 218not reportednot reported

All public schools in Lancaster →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Gorsuch West Elementary School

  1. Tallmadge Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 0.9 miles away: 486 students, 18.7 per teacher (2024-25).0.9 mi
  2. Mt. Pleasant Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.7 miles away: 530 students, 19.7 per teacher (2024-25).1.7 mi
  3. Compare Gorsuch West Elementary School with Tallmadge Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Lancaster City Schools spends per student$14,319 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$14,319
  5. The largest public schools in OhioGorsuch West Elementary School is the number 403 by size of 1,715 Ohio elementary schools open in 2024-25.#403 of 1,715
  6. Ohio schools by students per teacher17.7 students per teacher here against the Ohio median of 17.4 for elementary schools.17.7:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Gorsuch West Elementary School

  1. How many students attend Gorsuch West Elementary School?
    530 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 580 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Lancaster, OH.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Gorsuch West Elementary School?
    17.7 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Ohio median for elementary schools is 17.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Gorsuch West Elementary School a Title I school?
    Gorsuch West Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Gorsuch West Elementary School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Gorsuch West Elementary School scored proficient or above: 47-51% in reading in 2021-22 and 52% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Gorsuch West Elementary School in?
    Lancaster City Schools, NCES district ID 3904420. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 390442001129 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22