Geneva Middle Sch South
Public middle school, grades 6 to 8 · Geneva, Illinois
Geneva Middle Sch South in Geneva, Illinois enrolled 613 students in 2024-25 with 49.0 full-time teachers, 12.5 students per teacher against the Illinois middle-school median of 12.7. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it does not take part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 39% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 40% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment rose 3% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 7%
593 students in 2022-23, 591 students in 2023-24, 613 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 52.9 to 49.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 593 | 52.9 | 11.2 |
| 2023-24 | 591 | 49.4 | 12.0 |
| 2024-25 | 613 | 49.0 | 12.5 |
12.5 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 55 of every 100 Illinois middle schools
Among the 684 Illinois middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.7; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 292 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Geneva Middle Sch South enrolled 584 students and had 2.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)2.0, one per 292 of the 584 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions0
- Chronically absent14.0% (2022-23)
Who attends
80.4% of students were White, 12.1% Hispanic, 4.6% of two or more races in 2024-25.
- White80.4%
- Hispanic12.1%
- Two or more races4.6%
- Asian1.8%
- Black1.0%
- Pacific Islander0.2%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Geneva Middle Sch South scored proficient or above: 39% in reading in 2021-22 and 40% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Illinois |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 39% | 44% | 29.9% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 40% | not published | 26.6% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Middle schools in Geneva
2 public middle schools in Geneva report 2024-25 enrollment; Geneva Middle Sch South is number 2 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Geneva Middle Sch North | 623 | 11.7 | not reported |
| Geneva Middle Sch South | 613 | 12.5 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Geneva Middle Sch South
- Geneva Middle Sch NorthThe nearest public middle school, 0.1 miles away: 623 students, 11.7 per teacher (2024-25).0.1 mi
- Thompson Middle SchoolThe next nearest public middle school, 3.3 miles away: 1,364 students, 13.7 per teacher (2024-25).3.3 mi
- Compare Geneva Middle Sch South with Geneva Middle Sch NorthStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Geneva CUSD 304 spends per student$20,336 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$20,336
- The largest public schools in IllinoisGeneva Middle Sch South is the number 205 by size of 686 Illinois middle schools open in 2024-25.#205 of 686
- Illinois schools by students per teacher12.5 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 12.7 for middle schools.12.5:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Geneva Middle Sch South
How many students attend Geneva Middle Sch South?
613 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 593 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Geneva, IL.What is the student-teacher ratio at Geneva Middle Sch South?
12.5 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for middle schools is 12.7. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Geneva Middle Sch South a Title I school?
Geneva Middle Sch South was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Geneva Middle Sch South do on state tests?
The students tested at Geneva Middle Sch South scored proficient or above: 39% in reading in 2021-22 and 40% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Geneva Middle Sch South in?
Geneva CUSD 304, NCES district ID 1716380. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 171638001953 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.