East Hickman Intermediate School
Public elementary school, grades 3 to 5 · Lyles, Tennessee
East Hickman Intermediate School in Lyles, Tennessee enrolled 375 students in 2024-25. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 32-36% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 40% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Tennessee: 35% and 34.3%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 3% from 2022-23 to 2023-24; full-time teachers fell 4%
379 students in 2022-23, 366 students in 2023-24. Full-time teachers went from 23.5 to 22.5.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 379 | 23.5 | 16.1 |
| 2023-24 | 366 | 22.5 | 16.3 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24.
One counselor per 211 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection East Hickman Intermediate School enrolled 211 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 211 of the 211 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions0
- Chronically absent17.4% (2022-23)
Who attends
88.8% of students were White, 7.2% Hispanic, 2.7% of two or more races in 2024-25.
- White88.8%
- Hispanic7.2%
- Two or more races2.7%
- Black1.1%
- Asian0.3%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at East Hickman Intermediate School scored proficient or above: 32-36% in reading in 2021-22 and 40% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Tennessee, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Tennessee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 32‑36% | 24‑28% | 35% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 40% | 23‑27% (2021-22) | 34.3% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Elementary schools in Lyles
2 public elementary schools in Lyles report 2024-25 enrollment; East Hickman Intermediate School is the largest.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| East Hickman Intermediate School | 375 | 16.1 | not reported |
| East Hickman Elementary | 365 | 13.9 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about East Hickman Intermediate School
- East Hickman ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 0.1 miles away: 365 students, 13.9 per teacher (2024-25).0.1 mi
- Stuart Burns ElementaryThe next nearest public elementary school, 8.6 miles away: 706 students, 15.6 per teacher (2024-25).8.6 mi
- Compare East Hickman Intermediate School with East Hickman ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Hickman County spends per student$11,938 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$11,938
- The largest public schools in TennesseeEast Hickman Intermediate School is the number 645 by size of 998 Tennessee elementary schools open in 2024-25.#645 of 998
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about East Hickman Intermediate School
How many students attend East Hickman Intermediate School?
375 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 379 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Lyles, TN.What is the student-teacher ratio at East Hickman Intermediate School?
16.1 students per full-time teacher (2022-23). A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is East Hickman Intermediate School a Title I school?
East Hickman Intermediate School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at East Hickman Intermediate School do on state tests?
The students tested at East Hickman Intermediate School scored proficient or above: 32-36% in reading in 2021-22 and 40% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Tennessee's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is East Hickman Intermediate School in?
Hickman County, NCES district ID 4701860. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 470186001296 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.