Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 5 · Columbus, Ohio

Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School in Columbus, Ohio enrolled 183 students in 2024-25 with 13.0 full-time teachers, 14.1 students per teacher against the Ohio elementary-school median of 17.4. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 26-41% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 15-19% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Ohio: 59% and 54.3%).

Enrollment fell 6% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 8%

194 students in 2022-23, 198 students in 2023-24, 183 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 12.0 to 13.0.

Students enrolled at Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School by school year2022-23: 194, 2023-24: 198, 2024-25: 1830501001502002022-231942023-241982024-25183
Students enrolled at Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School by school year2022-23: 194, 2023-24: 198, 2024-25: 1830501001502002022-231942023-241982024-25183
Students enrolled at Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School by school year2022-23: 194, 2023-24: 198, 2024-25: 1830501001502002022-231942023-241982024-25183
Students enrolled at Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School by school year2022-23: 194, 2023-24: 198, 2024-25: 1830501001502002022-231942023-241982024-25183
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2319412.016.2
2023-2419812.016.5
2024-2518313.014.1

14.1 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 87 of every 100 Ohio elementary schools

Among the 1,708 Ohio elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 17.4; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 14.1; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 14.1state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 14.1; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 14.1state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 14.1; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 14.1state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 14.1; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 14.1state median 17.4U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 166 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School enrolled 166 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 20 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 166 of the 166 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions20
  • Chronically absent50.5% (2022-23)

Who attends

73.2% of students were Black, 13.1% of two or more races, 8.7% White in 2024-25.

  1. Black73.2%
  2. Two or more races13.1%
  3. White8.7%
  4. Hispanic3.3%
  5. American Indian1.1%
  6. Pacific Islander0.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School scored proficient or above: 26-41% in reading in 2021-22 and 15-19% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtOhio
Reading and language arts, 2021-2226‑41%31%59%
Math, 2022-2315‑19%20% (2021-22)54.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Columbus

134 public elementary schools in Columbus report 2024-25 enrollment.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Hamilton Elementary School1,02818.442.5%
United Preparatory Academy83839.9not reported
Horizon Science Academy Elementary School77413.391.7%
Focus Learning Academy of Northern Columbus72120.3not reported
Indianola Informal K-8 School72119.0not reported
Great Western Academy69416.5not reported
Berwick Alternative K-8 School69117.7not reported
Columbus Humanities Arts and Technology Academy63725.5not reported

All public schools in Columbus →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School

  1. North Columbus Preparatory AcademyThe nearest public elementary school, 0.5 miles away: 131 students, 32.8 per teacher (2024-25).0.5 mi
  2. Cesar Chavez College Preparatory SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 0.9 miles away: 389 students, 35.4 per teacher (2024-25).0.9 mi
  3. Compare Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School with North Columbus Preparatory AcademyStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Columbus City Schools spends per student$22,307 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$22,307
  5. The largest public schools in OhioDuxberry Park Alternative Elementary School is the number 1,595 by size of 1,715 Ohio elementary schools open in 2024-25.#1,595 of 1,715
  6. Ohio schools by students per teacher14.1 students per teacher here against the Ohio median of 17.4 for elementary schools.14.1:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School

  1. How many students attend Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School?
    183 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 194 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Columbus, OH.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School?
    14.1 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Ohio median for elementary schools is 17.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School a Title I school?
    Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School scored proficient or above: 26-41% in reading in 2021-22 and 15-19% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School in?
    Columbus City Schools, NCES district ID 3904380. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 390438000622 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22