Durham Charter School

Public school, kindergarten to grade 11 · Durham, North Carolina

Durham Charter School in Durham, North Carolina enrolled 1,010 students in 2024-25 with 72.8 full-time teachers, 13.9 students per teacher against the North Carolina median of 15.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 49-56% of its students tested were proficient in reading and 56-63% proficient in math in 2021-22 (North Carolina: 48% and 50%).

Enrollment rose 57% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 45%

643 students in 2022-23, 777 students in 2023-24, 1,010 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 50.2 to 72.8.

Students enrolled at Durham Charter School by school year2022-23: 643, 2023-24: 777, 2024-25: 1,01005001k1.5k2022-236432023-247772024-251,010
Students enrolled at Durham Charter School by school year2022-23: 643, 2023-24: 777, 2024-25: 1,01005001k1.5k2022-236432023-247772024-251,010
Students enrolled at Durham Charter School by school year2022-23: 643, 2023-24: 777, 2024-25: 1,01005001k1.5k2022-236432023-247772024-251,010
Students enrolled at Durham Charter School by school year2022-23: 643, 2023-24: 777, 2024-25: 1,01005001k1.5k2022-236432023-247772024-251,010
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2364350.212.8
2023-2477762.812.4
2024-251,01072.813.9

13.9 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 63 of every 100 North Carolina schools of this kind

Among the 120 North Carolina schools of this kind that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 15.1; the national median for schools of this kind is 13.8. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, North Carolina other schools, 2024-25120 values from 4.4 to 60.5; Durham Charter School 13.9; state median 15.1.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherDurham Charter School 13.9state median 15.1U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, North Carolina other schools, 2024-25120 values from 4.4 to 60.5; Durham Charter School 13.9; state median 15.1.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherDurham Charter School 13.9state median 15.1U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, North Carolina other schools, 2024-25120 values from 4.4 to 60.5; Durham Charter School 13.9; state median 15.1.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherDurham Charter School 13.9state median 15.1U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, North Carolina other schools, 2024-25120 values from 4.4 to 60.5; Durham Charter School 13.9; state median 15.1.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherDurham Charter School 13.9state median 15.1U.S. 13.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Durham Charter School enrolled 507 students and reported no counselor; it reported 24 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions24
  • Chronically absent23.6% (2022-23)

Who attends

77.5% of students were Hispanic, 18.3% Black, 2.1% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic77.5%
  2. Black18.3%
  3. Two or more races2.1%
  4. White1.7%
  5. Asian0.4%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested at Durham Charter School scored proficient or above: 49-56% in reading and 56-63% in math, against 48% in reading and 50% in math across North Carolina. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within North Carolina, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis schoolIts districtNorth Carolina
Reading and language arts49‑56%49‑56%48%
Math56‑63%56‑63%50%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive): ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Schools of this kind in Durham

6 public schools of this kind in Durham report 2024-25 enrollment; Durham Charter School is number 5 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
NC Virtual Academy3,48218.7not reported
North Carolina Cyber Academy2,46117.1not reported
Voyager Academy1,36013.420.4%
Excelsior Classical Academy1,03224.8not reported
Durham Charter School1,01013.999.0%
Ignite Online Academy36313.058.1%

All public schools in Durham →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Durham Charter School

  1. Voyager AcademyThe nearest public school of this kind, 3.6 miles away: 1,360 students, 13.4 per teacher (2024-25).3.6 mi
  2. Excelsior Classical AcademyThe next nearest public school of this kind, 3.6 miles away: 1,032 students, 24.8 per teacher (2024-25).3.6 mi
  3. Compare Durham Charter School with Voyager AcademyStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Durham Charter School spends per student$14,726 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$14,726
  5. The largest public schools in North CarolinaDurham Charter School is the number 37 by size of 129 North Carolina schools of this kind open in 2024-25.#37 of 129
  6. North Carolina schools by students per teacher13.9 students per teacher here against the North Carolina median of 15.1 for schools of this kind.13.9:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Durham Charter School

  1. How many students attend Durham Charter School?
    1,010 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 643 in 2022-23. It is a public school in Durham, NC.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Durham Charter School?
    13.9 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the North Carolina median for schools of this kind is 15.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Durham Charter School a Title I school?
    Durham Charter School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Durham Charter School do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested at Durham Charter School scored proficient or above: 49-56% in reading and 56-63% in math, against 48% in reading and 50% in math across North Carolina. North Carolina's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Durham Charter School in?
    Durham Charter School, NCES district ID 3700023. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 370002302090 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22