Cleora Public School
Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 8 · Afton, Oklahoma
Cleora Public School in Afton, Oklahoma enrolled 167 students in 2024-25 with 14.7 full-time teachers, 11.3 students per teacher against the Oklahoma elementary-school median of 15.5. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 60-64% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 55-59% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Oklahoma: 27.2% and 25.1%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment rose 1% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers held steady
165 students in 2022-23, 162 students in 2023-24, 167 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 14.6 to 14.7.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 165 | 14.6 | 11.3 |
| 2023-24 | 162 | 14.6 | 11.1 |
| 2024-25 | 167 | 14.7 | 11.3 |
11.3 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 94 of every 100 Oklahoma elementary schools
Among the 915 Oklahoma elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 15.5; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 372 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Cleora Public School enrolled 134 students and had 0.4 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)0.4, one per 372 of the 134 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions0
- Chronically absent0.6% (2022-23)
Who attends
51.5% of students were White, 36.5% American Indian, 6.6% Hispanic in 2024-25.
- White51.5%
- American Indian36.5%
- Hispanic6.6%
- Two or more races3.6%
- Black1.2%
- Asian0.6%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Cleora Public School scored proficient or above: 60-64% in reading in 2021-22 and 55-59% in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oklahoma, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Oklahoma |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 60‑64% | 60‑64% | 27.2% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 55‑59% | 65‑69% (2021-22) | 25.1% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Elementary schools in Afton
2 public elementary schools in Afton report 2024-25 enrollment; Cleora Public School is number 2 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Afton Elementary School | 268 | 11.6 | not reported |
| Cleora Public School | 167 | 11.3 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Cleora Public School
- Ketchum Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 5.4 miles away: 255 students, 15.9 per teacher (2024-25).5.4 mi
- Afton Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 6.8 miles away: 268 students, 11.6 per teacher (2024-25).6.8 mi
- Compare Cleora Public School with Ketchum Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Cleora spends per student$16,788 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$16,788
- The largest public schools in OklahomaCleora Public School is the number 754 by size of 917 Oklahoma elementary schools open in 2024-25.#754 of 917
- Oklahoma schools by students per teacher11.3 students per teacher here against the Oklahoma median of 15.5 for elementary schools.11.3:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Cleora Public School
How many students attend Cleora Public School?
167 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 165 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Afton, OK.What is the student-teacher ratio at Cleora Public School?
11.3 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Oklahoma median for elementary schools is 15.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Cleora Public School a Title I school?
Cleora Public School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Cleora Public School do on state tests?
The students tested at Cleora Public School scored proficient or above: 60-64% in reading in 2021-22 and 55-59% in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Oklahoma's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Cleora Public School in?
Cleora, NCES district ID 4008010. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 400801000330 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.