Chisholm Middle School

Public middle school, grades 6 to 8 · Enid, Oklahoma

Chisholm Middle School in Enid, Oklahoma enrolled 247 students in 2024-25 with 14.8 full-time teachers, 16.7 students per teacher against the Oklahoma middle-school median of 15.4. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 42% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 58% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Oklahoma: 27.2% and 25.1%).

Enrollment fell 7% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 15%

266 students in 2022-23, 248 students in 2023-24, 247 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 17.4 to 14.8.

Students enrolled at Chisholm Middle School by school year2022-23: 266, 2023-24: 248, 2024-25: 24701002003002022-232662023-242482024-25247
Students enrolled at Chisholm Middle School by school year2022-23: 266, 2023-24: 248, 2024-25: 24701002003002022-232662023-242482024-25247
Students enrolled at Chisholm Middle School by school year2022-23: 266, 2023-24: 248, 2024-25: 24701002003002022-232662023-242482024-25247
Students enrolled at Chisholm Middle School by school year2022-23: 266, 2023-24: 248, 2024-25: 24701002003002022-232662023-242482024-25247
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2326617.415.3
2023-2424816.614.9
2024-2524714.816.7

16.7 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 65 of every 100 Oklahoma middle schools

Among the 354 Oklahoma middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 15.4; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Oklahoma middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.1 to 37.1; Chisholm Middle School 16.7; state median 15.4.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherChisholm Middle School 16.7state median 15.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Oklahoma middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.1 to 37.1; Chisholm Middle School 16.7; state median 15.4.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherChisholm Middle School 16.7state median 15.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Oklahoma middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.1 to 37.1; Chisholm Middle School 16.7; state median 15.4.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherChisholm Middle School 16.7state median 15.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Oklahoma middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.1 to 37.1; Chisholm Middle School 16.7; state median 15.4.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherChisholm Middle School 16.7state median 15.4U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 283 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Chisholm Middle School enrolled 283 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 10 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 283 of the 283 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions10
  • Chronically absent3.0% (2022-23)

Who attends

72.9% of students were White, 13.0% Hispanic, 8.9% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White72.9%
  2. Hispanic13.0%
  3. Two or more races8.9%
  4. American Indian2.0%
  5. Black1.2%
  6. Pacific Islander1.2%
  7. Asian0.8%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Chisholm Middle School scored proficient or above: 42% in reading in 2021-22 and 58% in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oklahoma, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtOklahoma
Reading and language arts, 2021-2242%47%27.2%
Math, 2022-2358%55% (2021-22)25.1%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Middle schools in Enid

4 public middle schools in Enid report 2024-25 enrollment; Chisholm Middle School is number 4 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Dewitt Waller Middle School73518.3not reported
Longfellow Middle School51915.5not reported
Emerson Middle School35314.4not reported
Chisholm Middle School24716.7not reported

All public schools in Enid →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Chisholm Middle School

  1. Dewitt Waller Middle SchoolThe nearest public middle school, 4.6 miles away: 735 students, 18.3 per teacher (2024-25).4.6 mi
  2. Emerson Middle SchoolThe next nearest public middle school, 5.0 miles away: 353 students, 14.4 per teacher (2024-25).5.0 mi
  3. Compare Chisholm Middle School with Dewitt Waller Middle SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Chisholm Public Schools spends per student$10,351 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$10,351
  5. The largest public schools in OklahomaChisholm Middle School is the number 210 by size of 355 Oklahoma middle schools open in 2024-25.#210 of 355
  6. Oklahoma schools by students per teacher16.7 students per teacher here against the Oklahoma median of 15.4 for middle schools.16.7:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Chisholm Middle School

  1. How many students attend Chisholm Middle School?
    247 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 266 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Enid, OK.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Chisholm Middle School?
    16.7 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Oklahoma median for middle schools is 15.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Chisholm Middle School a Title I school?
    Chisholm Middle School was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Chisholm Middle School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Chisholm Middle School scored proficient or above: 42% in reading in 2021-22 and 58% in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Oklahoma's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Chisholm Middle School in?
    Chisholm Public Schools, NCES district ID 4021780. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 402178002105 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22