Buckeye On-Line School for Success

Public school, kindergarten to grade 12 · East Liverpool, Ohio

Buckeye On-Line School for Success in East Liverpool, Ohio enrolled 516 students in 2024-25 with 39.0 full-time teachers, 13.2 students per teacher against the Ohio median of 17.7. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; it does not take part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 45-54% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 22% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Ohio: 59% and 54.3%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 65-69% (Ohio: 86.2%).

Enrollment fell 12% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 5%

584 students in 2022-23, 521 students in 2023-24, 516 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 41.0 to 39.0.

Students enrolled at Buckeye On-Line School for Success by school year2022-23: 584, 2023-24: 521, 2024-25: 51602004006002022-235842023-245212024-25516
Students enrolled at Buckeye On-Line School for Success by school year2022-23: 584, 2023-24: 521, 2024-25: 51602004006002022-235842023-245212024-25516
Students enrolled at Buckeye On-Line School for Success by school year2022-23: 584, 2023-24: 521, 2024-25: 51602004006002022-235842023-245212024-25516
Students enrolled at Buckeye On-Line School for Success by school year2022-23: 584, 2023-24: 521, 2024-25: 51602004006002022-235842023-245212024-25516
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2358441.014.2
2023-2452141.012.7
2024-2551639.013.2

13.2 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 75 of every 100 Ohio schools of this kind

Among the 147 Ohio schools of this kind that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 17.7; the national median for schools of this kind is 13.8. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Ohio other schools, 2024-25147 values from 5.6 to 76.0; This school 13.2; state median 17.7.020406080students per full-time teacherThis school 13.2state median 17.7U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Ohio other schools, 2024-25147 values from 5.6 to 76.0; This school 13.2; state median 17.7.020406080students per full-time teacherThis school 13.2state median 17.7U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Ohio other schools, 2024-25147 values from 5.6 to 76.0; This school 13.2; state median 17.7.020406080students per full-time teacherThis school 13.2state median 17.7U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Ohio other schools, 2024-25147 values from 5.6 to 76.0; This school 13.2; state median 17.7.020406080students per full-time teacherThis school 13.2state median 17.7U.S. 13.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Buckeye On-Line School for Success enrolled 563 students and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent25.0% (2022-23)

Who attends

65.1% of students were White, 15.5% Black, 11.2% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White65.1%
  2. Black15.5%
  3. Two or more races11.2%
  4. Hispanic6.6%
  5. Asian1.2%
  6. American Indian0.4%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Buckeye On-Line School for Success scored proficient or above: 45-54% in reading in 2021-22 and 22% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtOhio
Reading and language arts, 2021-2245‑54%45‑54%59%
Math, 2022-2322%22‑33% (2021-22)54.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

65-69% of the 86 students in Buckeye On-Line School for Success's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtOhio
Four-year graduation rate65‑69%65‑69%86.2%
Students in the class8686132,008

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

Schools of this kind in East Liverpool

2 public schools of this kind in East Liverpool report 2024-25 enrollment; Buckeye On-Line School for Success is the largest.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Buckeye On-Line School for Success51613.2not reported
Preschool at Westgate Middle School5819.3not reported

All public schools in East Liverpool →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Buckeye On-Line School for Success

  1. Preschool at Westgate Middle SchoolThe nearest public school of this kind, 0.6 miles away: 58 students, 19.3 per teacher (2024-25).0.6 mi
  2. Southern Online AcademyThe next nearest public school of this kind, 11 miles away: 10 students (2024-25).11 mi
  3. Compare Buckeye On-Line School for Success with Preschool at Westgate Middle SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Buckeye Online School spends per student$9,318 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$9,318
  5. The largest public schools in OhioBuckeye On-Line School for Success is the number 27 by size of 182 Ohio schools of this kind open in 2024-25.#27 of 182
  6. Ohio schools by students per teacher13.2 students per teacher here against the Ohio median of 17.7 for schools of this kind.13.2:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Buckeye On-Line School for Success

  1. How many students attend Buckeye On-Line School for Success?
    516 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 584 in 2022-23. It is a public school in East Liverpool, OH.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Buckeye On-Line School for Success?
    13.2 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Ohio median for schools of this kind is 17.7. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Buckeye On-Line School for Success a Title I school?
    Buckeye On-Line School for Success ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Buckeye On-Line School for Success do on state tests?
    The students tested at Buckeye On-Line School for Success scored proficient or above: 45-54% in reading in 2021-22 and 22% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What is the graduation rate at Buckeye On-Line School for Success?
    65-69% of the 86 students in Buckeye On-Line School for Success's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  6. What district is Buckeye On-Line School for Success in?
    Buckeye Online School, NCES district ID 3900530. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 390053005240 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22