Bronx Writing Academy

Public middle school, 6 to ungraded · Bronx, New York

Bronx Writing Academy in Bronx, New York enrolled 184 students in 2024-25 with 27.7 full-time teachers, 6.6 students per teacher against the New York middle-school median of 10.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22. On the state tests, 37-41% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 22% proficient in math in 2022-23 (New York: 47% and 52%).

Enrollment fell 22% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 13%

237 students in 2022-23, 230 students in 2023-24, 184 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 31.8 to 27.7.

Students enrolled at Bronx Writing Academy by school year2022-23: 237, 2023-24: 230, 2024-25: 18401002003002022-232372023-242302024-25184
Students enrolled at Bronx Writing Academy by school year2022-23: 237, 2023-24: 230, 2024-25: 18401002003002022-232372023-242302024-25184
Students enrolled at Bronx Writing Academy by school year2022-23: 237, 2023-24: 230, 2024-25: 18401002003002022-232372023-242302024-25184
Students enrolled at Bronx Writing Academy by school year2022-23: 237, 2023-24: 230, 2024-25: 18401002003002022-232372023-242302024-25184
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2323731.87.5
2023-2423031.87.2
2024-2518427.76.6

6.6 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 97 of every 100 New York middle schools

Among the 768 New York middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 10.1; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, New York middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 32.8; Bronx Writing Academy 6.6; state median 10.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherBronx Writing Academy 6.6state median 10.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, New York middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 32.8; Bronx Writing Academy 6.6; state median 10.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherBronx Writing Academy 6.6state median 10.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, New York middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 32.8; Bronx Writing Academy 6.6; state median 10.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherBronx Writing Academy 6.6state median 10.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, New York middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 32.8; Bronx Writing Academy 6.6; state median 10.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherBronx Writing Academy 6.6state median 10.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Bronx Writing Academy reported.

  • Advanced Placement coursesnot reported
  • Gifted and talented programnot reported
  • Counselors (FTE)not reported
  • Out-of-school suspensionsnot reported
  • Chronically absent38.4% (2022-23)

Who attends

73.4% of students were Hispanic, 22.8% Black, 2.7% White in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic73.4%
  2. Black22.8%
  3. White2.7%
  4. Two or more races0.5%
  5. American Indian0.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Bronx Writing Academy scored proficient or above: 37-41% in reading in 2021-22 and 22% in math in 2022-23, against 47% in reading in 2021-22 and 52% in math in 2022-23 across New York. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New York, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtNew York
Reading and language arts, 2021-2237‑41%32%47%
Math, 2022-2322%20% (2021-22)52%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Middle schools in Bronx

75 public middle schools in Bronx report 2024-25 enrollment.

All public schools in Bronx →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Bronx Writing Academy

  1. JHS 22 Jordan L MottThe nearest public middle school, under 0.1 miles away: 262 students, 8.1 per teacher (2024-25).under 0.1 mi
  2. New Millennium Bronx Academy of the ArtsThe next nearest public middle school, 0.3 miles away: 126 students, 7.3 per teacher (2024-25).0.3 mi
  3. Compare Bronx Writing Academy with JHS 22 Jordan L MottStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much New York City Geographic District # 9 spends per studentIts schools, enrollment and finance figures.
  5. The largest public schools in New YorkBronx Writing Academy is the number 692 by size of 777 New York middle schools open in 2024-25.#692 of 777
  6. New York schools by students per teacher6.6 students per teacher here against the New York median of 10.1 for middle schools.6.6:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Bronx Writing Academy

  1. How many students attend Bronx Writing Academy?
    184 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 237 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Bronx, NY.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Bronx Writing Academy?
    6.6 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the New York median for middle schools is 10.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Bronx Writing Academy a Title I school?
    Bronx Writing Academy ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Bronx Writing Academy do on state tests?
    The students tested at Bronx Writing Academy scored proficient or above: 37-41% in reading in 2021-22 and 22% in math in 2022-23, against 47% in reading in 2021-22 and 52% in math in 2022-23 across New York. New York's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Bronx Writing Academy in?
    New York City Geographic District # 9, NCES district ID 3600086. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 360008605664 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22