Birchtree Charter School
Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 8 · Palmer, Alaska
Birchtree Charter School in Palmer, Alaska enrolled 416 students in 2024-25 with 23.6 full-time teachers, 17.6 students per teacher against the Alaska elementary-school median of 15.6. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it does not take part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 45% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 47% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Alaska: 29.4% and 32.3%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment rose 2% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 3%
407 students in 2022-23, 407 students in 2023-24, 416 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 24.2 to 23.6.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 407 | 24.2 | 16.8 |
| 2023-24 | 407 | 21.6 | 18.8 |
| 2024-25 | 416 | 23.6 | 17.6 |
17.6 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 77 of every 100 Alaska elementary schools
Among the 168 Alaska elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 15.6; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
Programs and staff in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Birchtree Charter School enrolled 406 students and reported no counselor; it reported 6 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)0.0
- Out-of-school suspensions6
- Chronically absent19.7% (2022-23)
Who attends
79.1% of students were White, 12.3% of two or more races, 4.1% Hispanic in 2024-25.
- White79.1%
- Two or more races12.3%
- Hispanic4.1%
- American Indian4.1%
- Black0.2%
- Pacific Islander0.2%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Birchtree Charter School scored proficient or above: 45% in reading in 2021-22 and 47% in math in 2022-23, against 29.4% in reading in 2021-22 and 32.3% in math in 2022-23 across Alaska. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Alaska, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Alaska |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 45% | 32% | 29.4% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 47% | 26% (2021-22) | 32.3% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Elementary schools in Palmer
7 public elementary schools in Palmer report 2024-25 enrollment; Birchtree Charter School is number 3 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Colony Middle School | 771 | 20.8 | 25.9% |
| Pioneer Peak Elementary | 449 | 15.5 | 30.5% |
| Birchtree Charter School | 416 | 17.6 | not reported |
| Sherrod Elementary | 383 | 16.7 | 62.4% |
| Swanson Elementary | 348 | 13.4 | 41.1% |
| Academy Charter School | 268 | 13.0 | not reported |
| Butte Elementary | 263 | 13.2 | 30.8% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Birchtree Charter School
- Pioneer Peak ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 1.1 miles away: 449 students, 15.5 per teacher (2024-25).1.1 mi
- Finger Lake ElementaryThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.3 miles away: 445 students, 16.5 per teacher (2024-25).1.3 mi
- Compare Birchtree Charter School with Pioneer Peak ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District spends per student$15,575 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$15,575
- The largest public schools in AlaskaBirchtree Charter School is the number 19 by size of 168 Alaska elementary schools open in 2024-25.#19 of 168
- Alaska schools by students per teacher17.6 students per teacher here against the Alaska median of 15.6 for elementary schools.17.6:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Birchtree Charter School
How many students attend Birchtree Charter School?
416 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 407 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Palmer, AK.What is the student-teacher ratio at Birchtree Charter School?
17.6 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Alaska median for elementary schools is 15.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Birchtree Charter School a Title I school?
Birchtree Charter School was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Birchtree Charter School do on state tests?
The students tested at Birchtree Charter School scored proficient or above: 45% in reading in 2021-22 and 47% in math in 2022-23, against 29.4% in reading in 2021-22 and 32.3% in math in 2022-23 across Alaska. Alaska's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Birchtree Charter School in?
Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District, NCES district ID 0200510. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 020051000744 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.