Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty)

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 8 · Stilwell, Oklahoma

Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) in Stilwell, Oklahoma enrolled 57 students in 2024-25 with 5.0 full-time teachers, 11.4 students per teacher against the Oklahoma elementary-school median of 15.5. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 10% or less of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 10% or less proficient in math in 2022-23 (Oklahoma: 27.2% and 25.1%).

Enrollment fell 21% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 23%

72 students in 2022-23, 67 students in 2023-24, 57 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 6.5 to 5.0.

Students enrolled at Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) by school year2022-23: 72, 2023-24: 67, 2024-25: 570204060802022-23722023-24672024-2557
Students enrolled at Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) by school year2022-23: 72, 2023-24: 67, 2024-25: 570204060802022-23722023-24672024-2557
Students enrolled at Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) by school year2022-23: 72, 2023-24: 67, 2024-25: 570204060802022-23722023-24672024-2557
Students enrolled at Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) by school year2022-23: 72, 2023-24: 67, 2024-25: 570204060802022-23722023-24672024-2557
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23726.511.1
2023-24675.512.2
2024-25575.011.4

11.4 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 93 of every 100 Oklahoma elementary schools

Among the 915 Oklahoma elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 15.5; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Oklahoma elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 5.1 to 60.0; This school 11.4; state median 15.5.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 11.4state median 15.5U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Oklahoma elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 5.1 to 60.0; This school 11.4; state median 15.5.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 11.4state median 15.5U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Oklahoma elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 5.1 to 60.0; This school 11.4; state median 15.5.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 11.4state median 15.5U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Oklahoma elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 5.1 to 60.0; This school 11.4; state median 15.5.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 11.4state median 15.5U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 70 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) enrolled 70 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 70 of the 70 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent59.7% (2022-23)

Who attends

82.5% of students were American Indian, 12.3% of two or more races, 3.5% White in 2024-25.

  1. American Indian82.5%
  2. Two or more races12.3%
  3. White3.5%
  4. Hispanic1.8%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) scored proficient or above: 10% or less in reading in 2021-22 and 10% or less in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oklahoma, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtOklahoma
Reading and language arts, 2021-2210% or less6‑9%27.2%
Math, 2022-2310% or less5% or less (2021-22)25.1%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Stilwell

7 public elementary schools in Stilwell report 2024-25 enrollment; Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) is number 7 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Maryetta Public School64013.7not reported
Stilwell Elementary School42312.5not reported
Zion Public School26311.5not reported
Rocky Mountain Public School19313.0not reported
Dahlonegah Public School16310.5not reported
Peavine Public School10511.0not reported
Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty)5711.4not reported

All public schools in Stilwell →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty)

  1. Zion Public SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 5.1 miles away: 263 students, 11.5 per teacher (2024-25).5.1 mi
  2. Dahlonegah Public SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 5.5 miles away: 163 students, 10.5 per teacher (2024-25).5.5 mi
  3. Compare Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) with Zion Public SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Belfonte spends per student$14,531 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$14,531
  5. The largest public schools in OklahomaBelfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) is the number 893 by size of 917 Oklahoma elementary schools open in 2024-25.#893 of 917
  6. Oklahoma schools by students per teacher11.4 students per teacher here against the Oklahoma median of 15.5 for elementary schools.11.4:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty)

  1. How many students attend Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty)?
    57 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 72 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Stilwell, OK.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty)?
    11.4 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Oklahoma median for elementary schools is 15.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) a Title I school?
    Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) do on state tests?
    The students tested at Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) scored proficient or above: 10% or less in reading in 2021-22 and 10% or less in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Oklahoma's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Belfonte Bell Es (Adair Cnty) in?
    Belfonte, NCES district ID 4003840. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 400384002750 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22