Austintown Intermediate School

Public elementary school, grades 3 to 5 · Youngstown, Ohio

Austintown Intermediate School in Youngstown, Ohio enrolled 895 students in 2024-25 with 44.0 full-time teachers, 20.3 students per teacher against the Ohio elementary-school median of 17.4. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 74-75% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 82% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Ohio: 59% and 54.3%).

Enrollment fell 2% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 6%

917 students in 2022-23, 931 students in 2023-24, 895 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 47.0 to 44.0.

Students enrolled at Austintown Intermediate School by school year2022-23: 917, 2023-24: 931, 2024-25: 89502505007501k2022-239172023-249312024-25895
Students enrolled at Austintown Intermediate School by school year2022-23: 917, 2023-24: 931, 2024-25: 89502505007501k2022-239172023-249312024-25895
Students enrolled at Austintown Intermediate School by school year2022-23: 917, 2023-24: 931, 2024-25: 89502505007501k2022-239172023-249312024-25895
Students enrolled at Austintown Intermediate School by school year2022-23: 917, 2023-24: 931, 2024-25: 89502505007501k2022-239172023-249312024-25895
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2391747.019.5
2023-2493146.020.2
2024-2589544.020.3

20.3 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 83 of every 100 Ohio elementary schools

Among the 1,708 Ohio elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 17.4; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 20.3; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 20.3state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 20.3; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 20.3state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 20.3; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 20.3state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 20.3; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 20.3state median 17.4U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 463 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Austintown Intermediate School enrolled 925 students and had 2.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 36 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)2.0, one per 463 of the 925 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions36
  • Chronically absent28.2% (2022-23)

Who attends

67.6% of students were White, 15.5% Black, 8.9% Hispanic in 2024-25.

  1. White67.6%
  2. Black15.5%
  3. Hispanic8.9%
  4. Two or more races7.2%
  5. Asian0.7%
  6. American Indian0.1%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Austintown Intermediate School scored proficient or above: 74-75% in reading in 2021-22 and 82% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtOhio
Reading and language arts, 2021-2274‑75%70‑71%59%
Math, 2022-2382%68‑69% (2021-22)54.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Youngstown

18 public elementary schools in Youngstown report 2024-25 enrollment; Austintown Intermediate School is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Austintown Elementary School99618.851.4%
Austintown Intermediate School89520.349.2%
Stambaugh Charter Academy47211.8not reported
Horizon Science Academy Youngstown43916.3not reported
West Boulevard Elementary School41719.251.8%
Stadium Drive Elementary School37819.241.3%
Youngstown Community School35613.7not reported
E J Blott Elementary School35110.3not reported

All public schools in Youngstown →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Austintown Intermediate School

  1. Austintown Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 0.1 miles away: 996 students, 18.8 per teacher (2024-25).0.1 mi
  2. Summit Academy-YoungstownThe next nearest public elementary school, 2.4 miles away: 124 students, 7.5 per teacher (2024-25).2.4 mi
  3. Compare Austintown Intermediate School with Austintown Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Austintown Local Schools spends per student$12,617 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$12,617
  5. The largest public schools in OhioAustintown Intermediate School is the number 53 by size of 1,715 Ohio elementary schools open in 2024-25.#53 of 1,715
  6. Ohio schools by students per teacher20.3 students per teacher here against the Ohio median of 17.4 for elementary schools.20.3:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Austintown Intermediate School

  1. How many students attend Austintown Intermediate School?
    895 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 917 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Youngstown, OH.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Austintown Intermediate School?
    20.3 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Ohio median for elementary schools is 17.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Austintown Intermediate School a Title I school?
    Austintown Intermediate School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Austintown Intermediate School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Austintown Intermediate School scored proficient or above: 74-75% in reading in 2021-22 and 82% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Austintown Intermediate School in?
    Austintown Local Schools, NCES district ID 3904829. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 390482903190 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22