Winona-Montgomery School District

Listed by NCES as Winona-Montgomery Consolidated (district ID 2800196)

Public school district · Montgomery County · Mississippi · NCES district ID 2800196

Winona-Montgomery School District spent $13,101 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 68% of the other Mississippi districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,203). Its 2 schools enrolled 1,069 students in 2024-25; 59.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,503 per student, up 3.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Mississippi: 89.4%).

Spending per student among Mississippi districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Winona-Montgomery in enrollment (1,041 to 1,235 students) and Winona-Montgomery itself.

Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Winona-Montgomery, FY23Choctaw Co School Dist $16,120; Jefferson Davis County $15,747; Humphreys Co School Dist $15,062; Jefferson Co School Dist $15,061; Claiborne County $14,923; North Panola $13,138; Winona-Montgomery $13,101; Franklin Co School Dist $13,050; Nettleton $10,989; Water Valley $10,907; State median, 1,000+ students $12,203.8k10k12k14k16k18kChoctaw Co School Dist$16,120Jefferson Davis County$15,747Humphreys Co School Dist$15,062Jefferson Co School Dist$15,061Claiborne County$14,923North Panola$13,138Winona-Montgomery$13,101Franklin Co School Dist$13,050Nettleton$10,989Water Valley$10,907State median, 1,000+ students $12,203
Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Winona-Montgomery, FY23Choctaw Co School Dist $16,120; Jefferson Davis County $15,747; Humphreys Co School Dist $15,062; Jefferson Co School Dist $15,061; Claiborne County $14,923; North Panola $13,138; Winona-Montgomery $13,101; Franklin Co School Dist $13,050; Nettleton $10,989; Water Valley $10,907; State median, 1,000+ students $12,203.8k10k12k14k16k18kChoctaw Co School Dist$16,120Jefferson Davis County$15,747Humphreys Co School Dist$15,062Jefferson Co School Dist$15,061Claiborne County$14,923North Panola$13,138Winona-Montgomery$13,101Franklin Co School Dist$13,050Nettleton$10,989Water Valley$10,907State median, 1,000+ students $12,203
Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Winona-Montgomery, FY23Choctaw Co School Dist $16,120; Jefferson Davis County $15,747; Humphreys Co School Dist $15,062; Jefferson Co School Dist $15,061; Claiborne County $14,923; North Panola $13,138; Winona-Montgomery $13,101; Franklin Co School Dist $13,050; Nettleton $10,989; Water Valley $10,907; State median, 1,000+ students $12,203.8k12k16k18kChoctaw Co School Dist$16,120Jefferson Davis County$15,747Humphreys Co School Dist$15,062Jefferson Co School Dist$15,061Claiborne County$14,923North Panola$13,138Winona-Montgomery$13,101Franklin Co School Dist$13,050Nettleton$10,989Water Valley$10,907State median, 1,000+ students $12,203
Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Winona-Montgomery, FY23Choctaw Co School Dist $16,120; Jefferson Davis County $15,747; Humphreys Co School Dist $15,062; Jefferson Co School Dist $15,061; Claiborne County $14,923; North Panola $13,138; Winona-Montgomery $13,101; Franklin Co School Dist $13,050; Nettleton $10,989; Water Valley $10,907; State median, 1,000+ students $12,203.8k12k16k18kChoctaw Co School Dist$16,120Jefferson Davis County$15,747Humphreys Co School Dist$15,062Jefferson Co School Dist$15,061Claiborne County$14,923North Panola$13,138Winona-Montgomery$13,101Franklin Co School Dist$13,050Nettleton$10,989Water Valley$10,907State median, 1,000+ students $12,203

Where the money came from

$25,250,000 in revenue: 59.6% state, 17.3% local and 23.1% federal. Total spending including $2,434,000 of capital outlay was $17,769,000, or $15,532 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Winona-Montgomery School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $15,047,000; Local $4,361,000; Federal $5,842,000; total $25,250,000.
  • State$15,047,000 60%
  • Local$4,361,000 17%
  • Federal$5,842,000 23%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 112 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,144 students in 2022-23, 1,081 students in 2023-24, 1,069 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Winona-Montgomery School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,144, 2023-24: 1,081, 2024-25: 1,06905001k1.5k2022-231,1442023-241,0812024-251,069
Winona-Montgomery School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,144, 2023-24: 1,081, 2024-25: 1,06905001k1.5k2022-231,1442023-241,0812024-251,069
Winona-Montgomery School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,144, 2023-24: 1,081, 2024-25: 1,06905001k1.5k2022-231,1442023-241,0812024-251,069
Winona-Montgomery School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,144, 2023-24: 1,081, 2024-25: 1,06905001k1.5k2022-231,1442023-241,0812024-251,069

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,14485.013.5
2023-241,08180.813.4
2024-251,06985.012.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$4,982,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,355 per student

Winona-Montgomery School District booked $4,982,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 91 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $54,983 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 86 in 100 Mississippi districts with a figure (state median $51,076, 146 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$3,417,00068.6%
Special education$745,00015.0%
Vocational$556,00011.2%
Other programs$264,0005.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,538 in 2018-19, $3,656 in 2019-20, $3,788 in 2020-21, $4,095 in 2021-22, $4,355 in 2022-23.

Winona-Montgomery School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,538, 2019-20: $3,656, 2020-21: $3,788, 2021-22: $4,095, 2022-23: $4,35502k4k6k2018-19$3,5382019-20$3,6562020-21$3,7882021-22$4,0952022-23$4,355
Winona-Montgomery School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,538, 2019-20: $3,656, 2020-21: $3,788, 2021-22: $4,095, 2022-23: $4,35502k4k6k2018-19$3,5382019-20$3,6562020-21$3,7882021-22$4,0952022-23$4,355
Winona-Montgomery School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,538, 2019-20: $3,656, 2020-21: $3,788, 2021-22: $4,095, 2022-23: $4,35502k4k6k2018-19$3,5382019-20$3,6562020-21$3,7882021-22$4,0952022-23$4,355
Winona-Montgomery School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,538, 2019-20: $3,656, 2020-21: $3,788, 2021-22: $4,095, 2022-23: $4,35502k4k6k2018-19$3,5382019-20$3,6562020-21$3,7882021-22$4,0952022-23$4,355

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Winona-Montgomery School District scored proficient or above: 29% in reading and 40% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Mississippi, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMississippiStudents tested
Reading and language arts29%41.7%598
Math40%47%603

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 84 students in Winona-Montgomery School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMississippi
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%89.4%
Students in the class8431,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 567 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Winona Elementary School56715.399.5%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 502 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Winona Secondary School50210.599.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Winona-Montgomery School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Winona-Montgomery School District

  1. Mississippi districts by spending per studentWinona-Montgomery School District ranks 36 of 112 Mississippi districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,101).#36 of 112
  2. Every school district in MississippiWinona-Montgomery School District is the number 107 by size of 152 Mississippi districts, with 1,144 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#107 of 152
  3. Claiborne County School DistrictThe next larger Mississippi district: 1,188 students in fall 2022, $14,923 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,923
  4. Nettleton School DistrictThe next smaller Mississippi district: 1,112 students in fall 2022, $10,989 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,989
  5. Compare Winona-Montgomery School District with Claiborne County School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Winona Secondary School, its largest high school502 students in 2024-25, 10.5 per teacher.502
  7. Teacher salary spending across MississippiWinona-Montgomery School District spent $54,983 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $51,076); spending, not a salary.$54,983
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Winona-Montgomery School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Winona-Montgomery School District?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 1,069 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Winona-Montgomery School District spend per student?
    $13,101 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Mississippi median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,203 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,503 per student, up 3.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Winona-Montgomery School District's money come from?
    $25,250,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 59.6% state, 17.3% local and 23.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Winona-Montgomery School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 545 of the 1,483 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 36.7%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Winona-Montgomery School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $4,982,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,355 per student. Divided by the 91 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $54,983 per teacher, more than 86 in 100 Mississippi districts (state median $51,076). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Winona-Montgomery School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Winona-Montgomery School District scored proficient or above: 29% in reading and 40% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Mississippi's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Winona-Montgomery School District?
    90-94% of the 84 students in Winona-Montgomery School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Winona-Montgomery School District's NCES district ID?
    2800196. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25