Washington County Public Schools

Public school district · Washington County · Virginia · NCES district ID 5103900

Washington County Public Schools spent $14,125 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 67% of the other Virginia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $14,972). Its 15 schools enrolled 6,733 students in 2024-25; 54.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,860 per student, up 5.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% (Virginia: 88.8%).

Spending per student among Virginia districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Washington County Public Schools in enrollment (5,627 to 7,413 students) and Washington County Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Washington County Public Schools, FY23Danville Public Schools $18,424; Manassas City Public Schools $16,832; Harrisonburg City Public Schools $15,787; Franklin County Public Schools $15,045; Shenandoah County Public Schools $14,918; Washington County Public Schools $14,125; Wise County Public Schools $13,973; Henry County $13,812; Isle of Wight County Public Schools $13,320; Prince George County Public Schools $13,299; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.10k12k14k16k18k20kDanville Public Schools$18,424Manassas City Public Schools$16,832Harrisonburg City Public Schoo…$15,787Franklin County Public Schools$15,045Shenandoah County Public Schoo…$14,918Washington County Public Schoo…$14,125Wise County Public Schools$13,973Henry County$13,812Isle of Wight County Public Sc…$13,320Prince George County Public Sc…$13,299State median, 1,000+ students $14,972
Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Washington County Public Schools, FY23Danville Public Schools $18,424; Manassas City Public Schools $16,832; Harrisonburg City Public Schools $15,787; Franklin County Public Schools $15,045; Shenandoah County Public Schools $14,918; Washington County Public Schools $14,125; Wise County Public Schools $13,973; Henry County $13,812; Isle of Wight County Public Schools $13,320; Prince George County Public Schools $13,299; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.10k12k14k16k18k20kDanville Public Schools$18,424Manassas City Public Schools$16,832Harrisonburg City Public Schools$15,787Franklin County Public Schools$15,045Shenandoah County Public Schools$14,918Washington County Public Schools$14,125Wise County Public Schools$13,973Henry County$13,812Isle of Wight County Public Schools$13,320Prince George County Public Schools$13,299State median, 1,000+ students $14,972
Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Washington County Public Schools, FY23Danville Public Schools $18,424; Manassas City Public Schools $16,832; Harrisonburg City Public Schools $15,787; Franklin County Public Schools $15,045; Shenandoah County Public Schools $14,918; Washington County Public Schools $14,125; Wise County Public Schools $13,973; Henry County $13,812; Isle of Wight County Public Schools $13,320; Prince George County Public Schools $13,299; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.10k14k18k20kDanville Public Schools$18,424Manassas City Public Schools$16,832Harrisonburg City Public Schools$15,787Franklin County Public Schools$15,045Shenandoah County Public Schools$14,918Washington County Public Schools$14,125Wise County Public Schools$13,973Henry County$13,812Isle of Wight County Public Schools$13,320Prince George County Public Schools$13,299State median, 1,000+ students $14,972
Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Washington County Public Schools, FY23Danville Public Schools $18,424; Manassas City Public Schools $16,832; Harrisonburg City Public Schools $15,787; Franklin County Public Schools $15,045; Shenandoah County Public Schools $14,918; Washington County Public Schools $14,125; Wise County Public Schools $13,973; Henry County $13,812; Isle of Wight County Public Schools $13,320; Prince George County Public Schools $13,299; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.10k14k18k20kDanville Public Schools$18,424Manassas City Public Schools$16,832Harrisonburg City Public Schools$15,787Franklin County Public Schools$15,045Shenandoah County Public Schools$14,918Washington County Public Schools$14,125Wise County Public Schools$13,973Henry County$13,812Isle of Wight County Public Schools$13,320Prince George County Public Schools$13,299State median, 1,000+ students $14,972

Where the money came from

$105,538,000 in revenue: 54.4% state, 30.7% local and 14.9% federal. Total spending including $4,409,000 of capital outlay was $100,573,000, or $14,928 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Washington County Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $57,443,000; Local $32,380,000; Federal $15,715,000; total $105,538,000.
  • State$57,443,000 54%
  • Local$32,380,000 31%
  • Federal$15,715,000 15%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 116 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

6,737 students in 2022-23, 6,705 students in 2023-24, 6,733 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Washington County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,737, 2023-24: 6,705, 2024-25: 6,73302k4k6k8k2022-236,7372023-246,7052024-256,733
Washington County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,737, 2023-24: 6,705, 2024-25: 6,73302k4k6k8k2022-236,7372023-246,7052024-256,733
Washington County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,737, 2023-24: 6,705, 2024-25: 6,73302k4k6k8k2022-236,7372023-246,7052024-256,733
Washington County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,737, 2023-24: 6,705, 2024-25: 6,73302k4k6k8k2022-236,7372023-246,7052024-256,733

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-236,737549.512.3
2023-246,705526.012.7
2024-256,733520.612.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$31,177,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,628 per student

Washington County Public Schools booked $31,177,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 578 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $53,939 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 14 in 100 Virginia districts with a figure (state median $61,899, 129 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Virginia teacher salary at $59,965 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$21,315,00068.4%
Special education$6,924,00022.2%
Vocational$2,848,0009.1%
Other programs$90,0000.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,985 in 2018-19, $4,075 in 2019-20, $4,377 in 2020-21, $4,429 in 2021-22, $4,628 in 2022-23.

Washington County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,985, 2019-20: $4,075, 2020-21: $4,377, 2021-22: $4,429, 2022-23: $4,62802k4k6k2018-19$3,9852019-20$4,0752020-21$4,3772021-22$4,4292022-23$4,628
Washington County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,985, 2019-20: $4,075, 2020-21: $4,377, 2021-22: $4,429, 2022-23: $4,62802k4k6k2018-19$3,9852019-20$4,0752020-21$4,3772021-22$4,4292022-23$4,628
Washington County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,985, 2019-20: $4,075, 2020-21: $4,377, 2021-22: $4,429, 2022-23: $4,62802k4k6k2018-19$3,9852019-20$4,0752020-21$4,3772021-22$4,4292022-23$4,628
Washington County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,985, 2019-20: $4,075, 2020-21: $4,377, 2021-22: $4,429, 2022-23: $4,62802k4k6k2018-19$3,9852019-20$4,0752020-21$4,3772021-22$4,4292022-23$4,628

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% of the 522 students in Washington County Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.8% across Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtVirginia
Four-year graduation rate90%88.8%
Students in the class52299,059

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

7 elementary schools, 3,044 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
High Point Elementary58214.476.1%Targeted program
Watauga Elementary58115.174.9%Targeted program
Meadowview Elementary54413.175.2%Schoolwide program
Abingdon Elementary42612.575.4%Targeted program
Rhea Valley Elementary40411.776.0%Schoolwide program
Greendale Elementary25710.776.3%Targeted program
Valley Institute Elementary2509.875.6%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

4 middle schools, 1,518 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
E.B. Stanley Middle65912.974.7%Not Title I
Wallace Middle44312.574.5%Not Title I
Glade Spring Middle2289.775.9%Not Title I
Damascus Middle18810.275.5%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

4 high schools, 2,171 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Abingdon High91415.174.2%Not Title I
John S. Battle High61314.875.5%Not Title I
Patrick Henry High39012.974.9%Not Title I
Holston High25412.074.8%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Washington County Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Washington County Public Schools

  1. Virginia districts by spending per studentWashington County Public Schools ranks 78 of 116 Virginia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,125).#78 of 116
  2. Every school district in VirginiaWashington County Public Schools is the number 36 by size of 132 Virginia districts, with 6,737 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#36 of 132
  3. Henry County School DistrictThe next larger Virginia district: 7,010 students in fall 2022, $13,812 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,812
  4. Harrisonburg City Public SchoolsThe next smaller Virginia district: 6,682 students in fall 2022, $15,787 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,787
  5. Compare Washington County Public Schools with Henry County School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Abingdon High, its largest high school914 students in 2024-25, 15.1 per teacher.914
  7. Teacher salary spending across VirginiaWashington County Public Schools spent $53,939 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $61,899); spending, not a salary.$53,939
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Washington County Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Washington County Public Schools?
    15 schools were open in 2024-25 (7 elementary, 4 middle, 4 high), enrolling 6,733 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Washington County Public Schools spend per student?
    $14,125 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Virginia median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,972 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,860 per student, up 5.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Washington County Public Schools' money come from?
    $105,538,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 54.4% state, 30.7% local and 14.9% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Washington County Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 931 of the 7,163 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 13.0%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Washington County Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $31,177,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,628 per student. Divided by the 578 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $53,939 per teacher, more than 14 in 100 Virginia districts (state median $61,899). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Virginia teacher salary at $59,965 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. What is the graduation rate in Washington County Public Schools?
    90% of the 522 students in Washington County Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.8% across Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Washington County Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    5103900. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25