Valor Academy High School

Listed by NCES as Valor Academy High District (district ID 0601789)

Public school district · Los Angeles County · California · NCES district ID 0601789

Valor Academy High School spent $17,697 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 50% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 492 students in 2024-25; 60.1% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (California: 86.2%).

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Valor Academy High School in enrollment (494 to 502 students) and Valor Academy High School itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Valor Academy High School, FY23Alliance Piera Barbaglia Shaheen HLT SRVs Academy District $20,223; Big Picture Educational Academy $19,354; Magnolia Science Academy Santa Ana District $18,781; Accelerated Charter Elementary District $18,310; Valor Academy High School $17,697; Alta Vista Elementary $17,303; Downtown College Preparatory District $17,230; Bay View District $16,549; Palo Verde Union Elementary $16,449; Richmond Charter Elementary-Benito Juarez District $13,492; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kAlliance Piera Barbaglia Shahe…$20,223Big Picture Educational Academy$19,354Magnolia Science Academy Santa…$18,781Accelerated Charter Elementary…$18,310Valor Academy High School$17,697Alta Vista Elementary$17,303Downtown College Preparatory D…$17,230Bay View District$16,549Palo Verde Union Elementary$16,449Richmond Charter Elementary-Be…$13,492State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Valor Academy High School, FY23Alliance Piera Barbaglia Shaheen HLT SRVs Academy District $20,223; Big Picture Educational Academy $19,354; Magnolia Science Academy Santa Ana District $18,781; Accelerated Charter Elementary District $18,310; Valor Academy High School $17,697; Alta Vista Elementary $17,303; Downtown College Preparatory District $17,230; Bay View District $16,549; Palo Verde Union Elementary $16,449; Richmond Charter Elementary-Benito Juarez District $13,492; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kAlliance Piera Barbaglia Shaheen HL…$20,223Big Picture Educational Academy$19,354Magnolia Science Academy Santa Ana …$18,781Accelerated Charter Elementary Dist…$18,310Valor Academy High School$17,697Alta Vista Elementary$17,303Downtown College Preparatory Distri…$17,230Bay View District$16,549Palo Verde Union Elementary$16,449Richmond Charter Elementary-Benito …$13,492State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Valor Academy High School, FY23Alliance Piera Barbaglia Shaheen HLT SRVs Academy District $20,223; Big Picture Educational Academy $19,354; Magnolia Science Academy Santa Ana District $18,781; Accelerated Charter Elementary District $18,310; Valor Academy High School $17,697; Alta Vista Elementary $17,303; Downtown College Preparatory District $17,230; Bay View District $16,549; Palo Verde Union Elementary $16,449; Richmond Charter Elementary-Benito Juarez District $13,492; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k22.5kAlliance Piera Barbaglia Shaheen HLT SRVs A…$20,223Big Picture Educational Academy$19,354Magnolia Science Academy Santa Ana District$18,781Accelerated Charter Elementary District$18,310Valor Academy High School$17,697Alta Vista Elementary$17,303Downtown College Preparatory District$17,230Bay View District$16,549Palo Verde Union Elementary$16,449Richmond Charter Elementary-Benito Juarez D…$13,492State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Valor Academy High School, FY23Alliance Piera Barbaglia Shaheen HLT SRVs Academy District $20,223; Big Picture Educational Academy $19,354; Magnolia Science Academy Santa Ana District $18,781; Accelerated Charter Elementary District $18,310; Valor Academy High School $17,697; Alta Vista Elementary $17,303; Downtown College Preparatory District $17,230; Bay View District $16,549; Palo Verde Union Elementary $16,449; Richmond Charter Elementary-Benito Juarez District $13,492; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k22.5kAlliance Piera Barbaglia Shaheen HLT SR…$20,223Big Picture Educational Academy$19,354Magnolia Science Academy Santa Ana Dist…$18,781Accelerated Charter Elementary District$18,310Valor Academy High School$17,697Alta Vista Elementary$17,303Downtown College Preparatory District$17,230Bay View District$16,549Palo Verde Union Elementary$16,449Richmond Charter Elementary-Benito Juar…$13,492State median, under 1,000 students $17,666

Where the money came from

$11,218,000 in revenue: 60.1% state, 29.8% local and 10.1% federal. Total spending was $9,985,000, or $20,050 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.

Valor Academy High School revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $6,739,000; Local $3,344,000; Federal $1,135,000; total $11,218,000.
  • State$6,739,000 60%
  • Local$3,344,000 30%
  • Federal$1,135,000 10%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

498 students in 2022-23, 491 students in 2023-24, 492 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Valor Academy High School enrollment by school year2022-23: 498, 2023-24: 491, 2024-25: 49202004006002022-234982023-244912024-25492
Valor Academy High School enrollment by school year2022-23: 498, 2023-24: 491, 2024-25: 49202004006002022-234982023-244912024-25492
Valor Academy High School enrollment by school year2022-23: 498, 2023-24: 491, 2024-25: 49202004006002022-234982023-244912024-25492
Valor Academy High School enrollment by school year2022-23: 498, 2023-24: 491, 2024-25: 49202004006002022-234982023-244912024-25492

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2349824.720.1
2023-2449127.418.0
2024-2549227.018.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,753,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,520 per student

Valor Academy High School booked $1,753,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 25 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $70,857 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 8 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2019-20 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,769 in 2019-20, $2,793 in 2020-21, $3,041 in 2021-22, $3,520 in 2022-23.

Valor Academy High School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $2,769, 2020-21: $2,793, 2021-22: $3,041, 2022-23: $3,52001k2k3k4k2019-20$2,7692020-21$2,7932021-22$3,0412022-23$3,520
Valor Academy High School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $2,769, 2020-21: $2,793, 2021-22: $3,041, 2022-23: $3,52001k2k3k4k2019-20$2,7692020-21$2,7932021-22$3,0412022-23$3,520
Valor Academy High School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $2,769, 2020-21: $2,793, 2021-22: $3,041, 2022-23: $3,52001k2k3k4k2019-20$2,7692020-21$2,7932021-22$3,0412022-23$3,520
Valor Academy High School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $2,769, 2020-21: $2,793, 2021-22: $3,041, 2022-23: $3,52001k2k3k4k2019-20$2,7692020-21$2,7932021-22$3,0412022-23$3,520

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 118 students in Valor Academy High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtCalifornia
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%86.2%
Students in the class118495,492

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 high school, 492 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Valor Academy High49218.282.5%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Valor Academy High School

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Valor Academy High School

  1. California districts by spending per studentValor Academy High School ranks 617 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,697).#617 of 1,238
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaValor Academy High School is the number 988 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 498 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#988 of 1,991
  3. Palo Verde Union ElementaryThe next larger California district: 499 students in fall 2022, $16,449 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,449
  4. Alliance Piera Barbaglia Shaheen HLT SRVs Academy DistrictThe next smaller California district: 497 students in fall 2022, $20,223 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,223
  5. Compare Valor Academy High School with Palo Verde Union ElementaryEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Valor Academy High, its largest high school492 students in 2024-25, 18.2 per teacher.492
  7. Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaValor Academy High School spent $70,857 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$70,857
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Valor Academy High School

  1. How many schools and students are in Valor Academy High School?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 high), enrolling 492 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Valor Academy High School spend per student?
    $17,697 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Valor Academy High School's money come from?
    $11,218,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 60.1% state, 29.8% local and 10.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How much does Valor Academy High School spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,753,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,520 per student. Divided by the 25 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $70,857 per teacher, more than 8 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  5. What is the graduation rate in Valor Academy High School?
    90-94% of the 118 students in Valor Academy High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  6. What is Valor Academy High School's NCES district ID?
    0601789. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25