Texhoma

Public school district · Texas County · Oklahoma · NCES district ID 4029820

Texhoma spent $14,053 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 65% of the other Oklahoma districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,870). Its 2 schools enrolled 190 students in 2024-25; 43.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,031 per student, up 7.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Oklahoma: 81.2%).

Spending per student among Oklahoma districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Texhoma in enrollment (222 to 226 students) and Texhoma itself.

Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Texhoma, FY23Waynoka Public Schools $20,224; Fargo-Gage Public School $18,919; Ryan $17,341; Battiest Public Schools $15,862; Tipton Public Schools $14,772; Mulhall-Orlando $14,750; Texhoma $14,053; Watts Public Schools $12,192; Copan Public Schools $11,809; Tyrone $11,329; State median, under 1,000 students $12,870.10k15k20k25kWaynoka Public Schools$20,224Fargo-Gage Public School$18,919Ryan$17,341Battiest Public Schools$15,862Tipton Public Schools$14,772Mulhall-Orlando$14,750Texhoma$14,053Watts Public Schools$12,192Copan Public Schools$11,809Tyrone$11,329State median, under 1,000 students $12,870
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Texhoma, FY23Waynoka Public Schools $20,224; Fargo-Gage Public School $18,919; Ryan $17,341; Battiest Public Schools $15,862; Tipton Public Schools $14,772; Mulhall-Orlando $14,750; Texhoma $14,053; Watts Public Schools $12,192; Copan Public Schools $11,809; Tyrone $11,329; State median, under 1,000 students $12,870.10k15k20k25kWaynoka Public Schools$20,224Fargo-Gage Public School$18,919Ryan$17,341Battiest Public Schools$15,862Tipton Public Schools$14,772Mulhall-Orlando$14,750Texhoma$14,053Watts Public Schools$12,192Copan Public Schools$11,809Tyrone$11,329State median, under 1,000 students $12,870
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Texhoma, FY23Waynoka Public Schools $20,224; Fargo-Gage Public School $18,919; Ryan $17,341; Battiest Public Schools $15,862; Tipton Public Schools $14,772; Mulhall-Orlando $14,750; Texhoma $14,053; Watts Public Schools $12,192; Copan Public Schools $11,809; Tyrone $11,329; State median, under 1,000 students $12,870.10k15k20k25kWaynoka Public Schools$20,224Fargo-Gage Public School$18,919Ryan$17,341Battiest Public Schools$15,862Tipton Public Schools$14,772Mulhall-Orlando$14,750Texhoma$14,053Watts Public Schools$12,192Copan Public Schools$11,809Tyrone$11,329State median, under 1,000 students $12,870
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Texhoma, FY23Waynoka Public Schools $20,224; Fargo-Gage Public School $18,919; Ryan $17,341; Battiest Public Schools $15,862; Tipton Public Schools $14,772; Mulhall-Orlando $14,750; Texhoma $14,053; Watts Public Schools $12,192; Copan Public Schools $11,809; Tyrone $11,329; State median, under 1,000 students $12,870.10k15k20k25kWaynoka Public Schools$20,224Fargo-Gage Public School$18,919Ryan$17,341Battiest Public Schools$15,862Tipton Public Schools$14,772Mulhall-Orlando$14,750Texhoma$14,053Watts Public Schools$12,192Copan Public Schools$11,809Tyrone$11,329State median, under 1,000 students $12,870

Where the money came from

$3,443,000 in revenue: 43.9% state, 46.3% local and 9.8% federal. Total spending including $224,000 of capital outlay was $3,408,000, or $15,080 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Texhoma revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,510,000; Local $1,594,000; Federal $339,000; total $3,443,000.
  • State$1,510,000 44%
  • Local$1,594,000 46%
  • Federal$339,000 10%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 408 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

226 students in 2022-23, 223 students in 2023-24, 190 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Texhoma enrollment by school year2022-23: 226, 2023-24: 223, 2024-25: 19001002003002022-232262023-242232024-25190
Texhoma enrollment by school year2022-23: 226, 2023-24: 223, 2024-25: 19001002003002022-232262023-242232024-25190
Texhoma enrollment by school year2022-23: 226, 2023-24: 223, 2024-25: 19001002003002022-232262023-242232024-25190
Texhoma enrollment by school year2022-23: 226, 2023-24: 223, 2024-25: 19001002003002022-232262023-242232024-25190

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2322617.113.2
2023-2422317.113.0
2024-2519014.113.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$888,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,929 per student

Texhoma booked $888,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 17 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $51,809 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 84 in 100 Oklahoma districts with a figure (state median $48,166, 514 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oklahoma teacher salary at $54,804 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$736,00082.9%
Special education$53,0006.0%
Vocational$52,0005.9%
Other programs$47,0005.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,623 in 2018-19, $2,793 in 2019-20, $2,753 in 2020-21, $2,807 in 2021-22, $3,929 in 2022-23.

Texhoma teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,623, 2019-20: $2,793, 2020-21: $2,753, 2021-22: $2,807, 2022-23: $3,92901k2k3k4k2018-19$2,6232019-20$2,7932020-21$2,7532021-22$2,8072022-23$3,929
Texhoma teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,623, 2019-20: $2,793, 2020-21: $2,753, 2021-22: $2,807, 2022-23: $3,92901k2k3k4k2018-19$2,6232019-20$2,7932020-21$2,7532021-22$2,8072022-23$3,929
Texhoma teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,623, 2019-20: $2,793, 2020-21: $2,753, 2021-22: $2,807, 2022-23: $3,92901k2k3k4k2018-19$2,6232019-20$2,7932020-21$2,7532021-22$2,8072022-23$3,929
Texhoma teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,623, 2019-20: $2,793, 2020-21: $2,753, 2021-22: $2,807, 2022-23: $3,92901k2k3k4k2018-19$2,6232019-20$2,7932020-21$2,7532021-22$2,8072022-23$3,929

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Texhoma scored proficient or above: 25-29% in reading and 20-24% in math, against 27.2% in reading and 24.9% in math across Oklahoma. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oklahoma, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOklahomaStudents tested
Reading and language arts25-29%27.2%133
Math20-24%24.9%133

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 31 students in Texhoma's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.2% across Oklahoma. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOklahoma
Four-year graduation rate90% or more81.2%
Students in the class3152,179

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 114 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Texhoma Elementary School11424.7not reportedTargeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 76 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Texhoma High School768.0not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Texhoma

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Texhoma

  1. Oklahoma districts by spending per studentTexhoma ranks 145 of 408 Oklahoma districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,053).#145 of 408
  2. Every school district in OklahomaTexhoma is the number 404 by size of 544 Oklahoma districts, with 226 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#404 of 544
  3. Grandfield Public SchoolsThe next larger Oklahoma district: 230 students in fall 2022, $12,983 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,983
  4. Battiest Public SchoolsThe next smaller Oklahoma district: 225 students in fall 2022, $15,862 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,862
  5. Compare Texhoma with Grandfield Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Texhoma High School, its largest high school76 students in 2024-25, 8.0 per teacher.76
  7. Teacher salary spending across OklahomaTexhoma spent $51,809 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $48,166); spending, not a salary.$51,809
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Texhoma

  1. How many schools and students are in Texhoma?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 190 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Texhoma spend per student?
    $14,053 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Oklahoma median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,870 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,031 per student, up 7.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Texhoma's money come from?
    $3,443,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 43.9% state, 46.3% local and 9.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Texhoma live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 20 of the 209 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 9.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Texhoma spend on teacher salaries?
    $888,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,929 per student. Divided by the 17 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $51,809 per teacher, more than 84 in 100 Oklahoma districts (state median $48,166). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oklahoma teacher salary at $54,804 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Texhoma do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Texhoma scored proficient or above: 25-29% in reading and 20-24% in math, against 27.2% in reading and 24.9% in math across Oklahoma. Oklahoma's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Texhoma?
    90% or more of the 31 students in Texhoma's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.2% across Oklahoma. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Texhoma's NCES district ID?
    4029820. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25