Taos Municipal Schools

Public school district · Taos County · New Mexico · NCES district ID 3502520

Taos Municipal Schools spent $17,919 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 72% of the other New Mexico districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $15,080). Its 8 schools enrolled 2,184 students in 2024-25; 63.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,471 per student, up 3.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 68% (New Mexico: 76.5%).

Spending per student among New Mexico districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Taos Municipal Schools in enrollment (1,630 to 2,786 students) and Taos Municipal Schools itself.

Current spending per student, New Mexico districts closest in size to Taos Municipal Schools, FY23Bernalillo Public Schools $19,085; Taos Municipal Schools $17,919; Silver Consolidated Schools $16,057; Portales Municipal $15,691; Bloomfield $15,195; Ruidoso Municipal Schools $15,052; Moriarty-Edgewood $14,977; Mission Achievement and Success $14,845; Pojoaque Valley Public Schools $14,768; Aztec Municipal Schools $14,624; State median, 1,000+ students $15,080.12k14k16k18k20kBernalillo Public Schools$19,085Taos Municipal Schools$17,919Silver Consolidated Schools$16,057Portales Municipal$15,691Bloomfield$15,195Ruidoso Municipal Schools$15,052Moriarty-Edgewood$14,977Mission Achievement and Success$14,845Pojoaque Valley Public Schools$14,768Aztec Municipal Schools$14,624State median, 1,000+ students $15,080
Current spending per student, New Mexico districts closest in size to Taos Municipal Schools, FY23Bernalillo Public Schools $19,085; Taos Municipal Schools $17,919; Silver Consolidated Schools $16,057; Portales Municipal $15,691; Bloomfield $15,195; Ruidoso Municipal Schools $15,052; Moriarty-Edgewood $14,977; Mission Achievement and Success $14,845; Pojoaque Valley Public Schools $14,768; Aztec Municipal Schools $14,624; State median, 1,000+ students $15,080.12k14k16k18k20kBernalillo Public Schools$19,085Taos Municipal Schools$17,919Silver Consolidated Schools$16,057Portales Municipal$15,691Bloomfield$15,195Ruidoso Municipal Schools$15,052Moriarty-Edgewood$14,977Mission Achievement and Success$14,845Pojoaque Valley Public Schools$14,768Aztec Municipal Schools$14,624State median, 1,000+ students $15,080
Current spending per student, New Mexico districts closest in size to Taos Municipal Schools, FY23Bernalillo Public Schools $19,085; Taos Municipal Schools $17,919; Silver Consolidated Schools $16,057; Portales Municipal $15,691; Bloomfield $15,195; Ruidoso Municipal Schools $15,052; Moriarty-Edgewood $14,977; Mission Achievement and Success $14,845; Pojoaque Valley Public Schools $14,768; Aztec Municipal Schools $14,624; State median, 1,000+ students $15,080.12k16k20kBernalillo Public Schools$19,085Taos Municipal Schools$17,919Silver Consolidated Schools$16,057Portales Municipal$15,691Bloomfield$15,195Ruidoso Municipal Schools$15,052Moriarty-Edgewood$14,977Mission Achievement and Success$14,845Pojoaque Valley Public Schools$14,768Aztec Municipal Schools$14,624State median, 1,000+ students $15,080
Current spending per student, New Mexico districts closest in size to Taos Municipal Schools, FY23Bernalillo Public Schools $19,085; Taos Municipal Schools $17,919; Silver Consolidated Schools $16,057; Portales Municipal $15,691; Bloomfield $15,195; Ruidoso Municipal Schools $15,052; Moriarty-Edgewood $14,977; Mission Achievement and Success $14,845; Pojoaque Valley Public Schools $14,768; Aztec Municipal Schools $14,624; State median, 1,000+ students $15,080.12k16k20kBernalillo Public Schools$19,085Taos Municipal Schools$17,919Silver Consolidated Schools$16,057Portales Municipal$15,691Bloomfield$15,195Ruidoso Municipal Schools$15,052Moriarty-Edgewood$14,977Mission Achievement and Success$14,845Pojoaque Valley Public Schools$14,768Aztec Municipal Schools$14,624State median, 1,000+ students $15,080

Where the money came from

$46,842,000 in revenue: 63.3% state, 16.3% local and 20.4% federal. Total spending including $4,958,000 of capital outlay was $46,386,000, or $20,461 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Taos Municipal Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $29,634,000; Local $7,639,000; Federal $9,569,000; total $46,842,000.
  • State$29,634,000 63%
  • Local$7,639,000 16%
  • Federal$9,569,000 20%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 40 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,267 students in 2022-23, 2,234 students in 2023-24, 2,184 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Taos Municipal Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,267, 2023-24: 2,234, 2024-25: 2,18401k2k3k2022-232,2672023-242,2342024-252,184
Taos Municipal Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,267, 2023-24: 2,234, 2024-25: 2,18401k2k3k2022-232,2672023-242,2342024-252,184
Taos Municipal Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,267, 2023-24: 2,234, 2024-25: 2,18401k2k3k2022-232,2672023-242,2342024-252,184
Taos Municipal Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,267, 2023-24: 2,234, 2024-25: 2,18401k2k3k2022-232,2672023-242,2342024-252,184

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,267184.112.3
2023-242,234187.511.9
2024-252,184181.512.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$11,437,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,045 per student

Taos Municipal Schools booked $11,437,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 184 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $62,124 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 24 in 100 New Mexico districts with a figure (state median $66,663, 128 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Mexico teacher salary at $54,272 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$8,578,00075.0%
Special education$2,020,00017.7%
Vocational$396,0003.5%
Other programs$443,0003.9%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2019-20 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,908 in 2019-20, $4,341 in 2020-21, $4,034 in 2021-22, $5,045 in 2022-23.

Taos Municipal Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $3,908, 2020-21: $4,341, 2021-22: $4,034, 2022-23: $5,04502k4k6k2019-20$3,9082020-21$4,3412021-22$4,0342022-23$5,045
Taos Municipal Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $3,908, 2020-21: $4,341, 2021-22: $4,034, 2022-23: $5,04502k4k6k2019-20$3,9082020-21$4,3412021-22$4,0342022-23$5,045
Taos Municipal Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $3,908, 2020-21: $4,341, 2021-22: $4,034, 2022-23: $5,04502k4k6k2019-20$3,9082020-21$4,3412021-22$4,0342022-23$5,045
Taos Municipal Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2019-20: $3,908, 2020-21: $4,341, 2021-22: $4,034, 2022-23: $5,04502k4k6k2019-20$3,9082020-21$4,3412021-22$4,0342022-23$5,045

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Taos Municipal Schools scored proficient or above: 38% in reading and 22% in math, against 33.8% in reading and 24.5% in math across New Mexico. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New Mexico, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew MexicoStudents tested
Reading and language arts38%33.8%1,160
Math22%24.5%1,155

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

68% of the 233 students in Taos Municipal Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 76.5% across New Mexico. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNew Mexico
Four-year graduation rate68%76.5%
Students in the class23325,411

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

5 elementary schools, 1,086 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Enos Garcia Elementary34810.4100.0%Schoolwide program
Ranchos De Taos Elementary22510.1100.0%Schoolwide program
Taos Municipal Charter21612.6100.0%Eligible, no program
Anansi Charter School19811.846.0%Eligible, no program
Arroyo Del Norte Elementary999.3100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 337 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Taos Middle33710.3100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 761 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Taos High74915.599.6%Schoolwide program
Taos Cyber Magnet12not reported100.0%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Taos Municipal Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Taos Municipal Schools

  1. New Mexico districts by spending per studentTaos Municipal Schools ranks 12 of 40 New Mexico districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,919).#12 of 40
  2. Every school district in New MexicoTaos Municipal Schools is the number 28 by size of 152 New Mexico districts, with 2,267 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#28 of 152
  3. Silver Consolidated SchoolsThe next larger New Mexico district: 2,273 students in fall 2022, $16,057 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,057
  4. Mission Achievement and SuccessThe next smaller New Mexico district: 2,105 students in fall 2022, $14,845 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,845
  5. Compare Taos Municipal Schools with Silver Consolidated SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Taos High, its largest high school749 students in 2024-25, 15.5 per teacher.749
  7. Teacher salary spending across New MexicoTaos Municipal Schools spent $62,124 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $66,663); spending, not a salary.$62,124
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Taos Municipal Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Taos Municipal Schools?
    8 schools were open in 2024-25 (5 elementary, 1 middle, 2 high), enrolling 2,184 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Taos Municipal Schools spend per student?
    $17,919 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New Mexico median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,080 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,471 per student, up 3.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Taos Municipal Schools' money come from?
    $46,842,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 63.3% state, 16.3% local and 20.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Taos Municipal Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 554 of the 3,068 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 18.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Taos Municipal Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $11,437,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,045 per student. Divided by the 184 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $62,124 per teacher, more than 24 in 100 New Mexico districts (state median $66,663). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Mexico teacher salary at $54,272 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Taos Municipal Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Taos Municipal Schools scored proficient or above: 38% in reading and 22% in math, against 33.8% in reading and 24.5% in math across New Mexico. New Mexico's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Taos Municipal Schools?
    68% of the 233 students in Taos Municipal Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 76.5% across New Mexico. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Taos Municipal Schools' NCES district ID?
    3502520. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25