Stevensville Elementary

Public school district · Ravalli County · Montana · NCES district ID 3025020

Stevensville Elementary spent $9,480 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 97% of the other Montana districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $16,778). Its 2 schools enrolled 663 students in 2024-25; 46.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $9,490 per student, up 0.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among Montana districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Stevensville Elementary in enrollment (581 to 706 students) and Stevensville Elementary itself.

Current spending per student, Montana districts closest in size to Stevensville Elementary, FY23Poplar Elementary $22,549; Evergreen School District #50 $15,048; Whitefish High School $14,611; Columbia Falls High School $13,421; Townsend K-12 Schools $12,363; Laurel High School $11,553; Bigfork Elementary $10,189; Elder Grove $9,504; Stevensville Elementary $9,480; Monforton Elementary $9,357; State median, under 1,000 students $16,778.5k10k15k20k25kPoplar Elementary$22,549Evergreen School District #50$15,048Whitefish High School$14,611Columbia Falls High School$13,421Townsend K-12 Schools$12,363Laurel High School$11,553Bigfork Elementary$10,189Elder Grove$9,504Stevensville Elementary$9,480Monforton Elementary$9,357State median, under 1,000 students $16,778
Current spending per student, Montana districts closest in size to Stevensville Elementary, FY23Poplar Elementary $22,549; Evergreen School District #50 $15,048; Whitefish High School $14,611; Columbia Falls High School $13,421; Townsend K-12 Schools $12,363; Laurel High School $11,553; Bigfork Elementary $10,189; Elder Grove $9,504; Stevensville Elementary $9,480; Monforton Elementary $9,357; State median, under 1,000 students $16,778.5k10k15k20k25kPoplar Elementary$22,549Evergreen School District #50$15,048Whitefish High School$14,611Columbia Falls High School$13,421Townsend K-12 Schools$12,363Laurel High School$11,553Bigfork Elementary$10,189Elder Grove$9,504Stevensville Elementary$9,480Monforton Elementary$9,357State median, under 1,000 students $16,778
Current spending per student, Montana districts closest in size to Stevensville Elementary, FY23Poplar Elementary $22,549; Evergreen School District #50 $15,048; Whitefish High School $14,611; Columbia Falls High School $13,421; Townsend K-12 Schools $12,363; Laurel High School $11,553; Bigfork Elementary $10,189; Elder Grove $9,504; Stevensville Elementary $9,480; Monforton Elementary $9,357; State median, under 1,000 students $16,778.5k15k25kPoplar Elementary$22,549Evergreen School District #50$15,048Whitefish High School$14,611Columbia Falls High School$13,421Townsend K-12 Schools$12,363Laurel High School$11,553Bigfork Elementary$10,189Elder Grove$9,504Stevensville Elementary$9,480Monforton Elementary$9,357State median, under 1,000 students $16,778
Current spending per student, Montana districts closest in size to Stevensville Elementary, FY23Poplar Elementary $22,549; Evergreen School District #50 $15,048; Whitefish High School $14,611; Columbia Falls High School $13,421; Townsend K-12 Schools $12,363; Laurel High School $11,553; Bigfork Elementary $10,189; Elder Grove $9,504; Stevensville Elementary $9,480; Monforton Elementary $9,357; State median, under 1,000 students $16,778.5k15k25kPoplar Elementary$22,549Evergreen School District #50$15,048Whitefish High School$14,611Columbia Falls High School$13,421Townsend K-12 Schools$12,363Laurel High School$11,553Bigfork Elementary$10,189Elder Grove$9,504Stevensville Elementary$9,480Monforton Elementary$9,357State median, under 1,000 students $16,778

Where the money came from

$7,870,000 in revenue: 46.5% state, 47.2% local and 6.3% federal. Total spending including $116,000 of capital outlay was $6,851,000, or $10,444 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Stevensville Elementary revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $3,661,000; Local $3,714,000; Federal $495,000; total $7,870,000.
  • State$3,661,000 47%
  • Local$3,714,000 47%
  • Federal$495,000 6%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 361 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

656 students in 2022-23, 655 students in 2023-24, 663 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Stevensville Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 656, 2023-24: 655, 2024-25: 66302004006008002022-236562023-246552024-25663
Stevensville Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 656, 2023-24: 655, 2024-25: 66302004006008002022-236562023-246552024-25663
Stevensville Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 656, 2023-24: 655, 2024-25: 66302004006008002022-236562023-246552024-25663
Stevensville Elementary enrollment by school year2022-23: 656, 2023-24: 655, 2024-25: 66302004006008002022-236562023-246552024-25663

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2365643.315.2
2023-2465544.414.8
2024-2566343.115.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,832,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $2,793 per student

Stevensville Elementary booked $1,832,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 43 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $42,329 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 12 in 100 Montana districts with a figure (state median $53,321, 282 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Montana teacher salary at $53,628 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,638,00089.4%
Special education$194,00010.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,670 in 2018-19, $2,865 in 2019-20, $603 in 2020-21, $2,721 in 2021-22, $2,793 in 2022-23.

Stevensville Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,670, 2019-20: $2,865, 2020-21: $603, 2021-22: $2,721, 2022-23: $2,79301k2k3k2018-19$2,6702019-20$2,8652020-21$6032021-22$2,7212022-23$2,793
Stevensville Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,670, 2019-20: $2,865, 2020-21: $603, 2021-22: $2,721, 2022-23: $2,79301k2k3k2018-19$2,6702019-20$2,8652020-21$6032021-22$2,7212022-23$2,793
Stevensville Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,670, 2019-20: $2,865, 2020-21: $603, 2021-22: $2,721, 2022-23: $2,79301k2k3k2018-19$2,6702019-20$2,8652020-21$6032021-22$2,7212022-23$2,793
Stevensville Elementary teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,670, 2019-20: $2,865, 2020-21: $603, 2021-22: $2,721, 2022-23: $2,79301k2k3k2018-19$2,6702019-20$2,8652020-21$6032021-22$2,7212022-23$2,793

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Stevensville Elementary scored proficient or above: 39% in reading and 26% in math, against 45.7% in reading and 35.2% in math across Montana. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Montana, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMontanaStudents tested
Reading and language arts39%45.7%444
Math26%35.2%442

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 elementary school, 518 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Stevensville K-651815.039.0%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 145 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Stevensville 7-814516.739.3%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Stevensville Elementary

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Stevensville Elementary

  1. Montana districts by spending per studentStevensville Elementary ranks 351 of 361 Montana districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($9,480).#351 of 361
  2. Every school district in MontanaStevensville Elementary is the number 47 by size of 398 Montana districts, with 656 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#47 of 398
  3. Monforton ElementaryThe next larger Montana district: 669 students in fall 2022, $9,357 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$9,357
  4. Evergreen School District #50The next smaller Montana district: 651 students in fall 2022, $15,048 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,048
  5. Compare Stevensville Elementary with Monforton ElementaryEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across MontanaStevensville Elementary spent $42,329 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $53,321); spending, not a salary.$42,329
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Stevensville Elementary

  1. How many schools and students are in Stevensville Elementary?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 663 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Stevensville Elementary spend per student?
    $9,480 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Montana median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,778 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $9,490 per student, up 0.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Stevensville Elementary's money come from?
    $7,870,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 46.5% state, 47.2% local and 6.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Stevensville Elementary live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 112 of the 793 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 14.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Stevensville Elementary spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,832,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $2,793 per student. Divided by the 43 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $42,329 per teacher, more than 12 in 100 Montana districts (state median $53,321). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Montana teacher salary at $53,628 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Stevensville Elementary do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Stevensville Elementary scored proficient or above: 39% in reading and 26% in math, against 45.7% in reading and 35.2% in math across Montana. Montana's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is Stevensville Elementary's NCES district ID?
    3025020. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25