Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II

Public school district · Ste. Genevieve County · Missouri · NCES district ID 2929370

Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II spent $15,034 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 89% of the other Missouri districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $11,885). Its 4 schools enrolled 1,926 students in 2024-25; 14.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,793 per student, down 1.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Missouri: 89.3%).

Spending per student among Missouri districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II in enrollment (1,769 to 1,888 students) and Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II itself.

Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II, FY23Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II $15,034; Reeds Spring Schools $14,413; Wright City R-II $12,538; Clinton $11,999; Dallas Co. R-I $11,875; Chillicothe R-II $11,446; Bayless $11,222; Kennett School District 39 $10,781; Aurora R-8 $10,773; Gasconade Co. R-II $10,268; State median, 1,000+ students $11,885.8k10k12k14k16kSte. Genevieve Co. R-II$15,034Reeds Spring Schools$14,413Wright City R-II$12,538Clinton$11,999Dallas Co. R-I$11,875Chillicothe R-II$11,446Bayless$11,222Kennett School District 39$10,781Aurora R-8$10,773Gasconade Co. R-II$10,268State median, 1,000+ students $11,885
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II, FY23Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II $15,034; Reeds Spring Schools $14,413; Wright City R-II $12,538; Clinton $11,999; Dallas Co. R-I $11,875; Chillicothe R-II $11,446; Bayless $11,222; Kennett School District 39 $10,781; Aurora R-8 $10,773; Gasconade Co. R-II $10,268; State median, 1,000+ students $11,885.8k10k12k14k16kSte. Genevieve Co. R-II$15,034Reeds Spring Schools$14,413Wright City R-II$12,538Clinton$11,999Dallas Co. R-I$11,875Chillicothe R-II$11,446Bayless$11,222Kennett School District 39$10,781Aurora R-8$10,773Gasconade Co. R-II$10,268State median, 1,000+ students $11,885
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II, FY23Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II $15,034; Reeds Spring Schools $14,413; Wright City R-II $12,538; Clinton $11,999; Dallas Co. R-I $11,875; Chillicothe R-II $11,446; Bayless $11,222; Kennett School District 39 $10,781; Aurora R-8 $10,773; Gasconade Co. R-II $10,268; State median, 1,000+ students $11,885.8k12k16kSte. Genevieve Co. R-II$15,034Reeds Spring Schools$14,413Wright City R-II$12,538Clinton$11,999Dallas Co. R-I$11,875Chillicothe R-II$11,446Bayless$11,222Kennett School District 39$10,781Aurora R-8$10,773Gasconade Co. R-II$10,268State median, 1,000+ students $11,885
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II, FY23Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II $15,034; Reeds Spring Schools $14,413; Wright City R-II $12,538; Clinton $11,999; Dallas Co. R-I $11,875; Chillicothe R-II $11,446; Bayless $11,222; Kennett School District 39 $10,781; Aurora R-8 $10,773; Gasconade Co. R-II $10,268; State median, 1,000+ students $11,885.8k12k16kSte. Genevieve Co. R-II$15,034Reeds Spring Schools$14,413Wright City R-II$12,538Clinton$11,999Dallas Co. R-I$11,875Chillicothe R-II$11,446Bayless$11,222Kennett School District 39$10,781Aurora R-8$10,773Gasconade Co. R-II$10,268State median, 1,000+ students $11,885

Where the money came from

$35,230,000 in revenue: 14.2% state, 75.3% local and 10.4% federal. Total spending including $1,343,000 of capital outlay was $29,641,000, or $16,331 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $5,015,000; Local $26,539,000; Federal $3,676,000; total $35,230,000.
  • State$5,015,000 14%
  • Local$26,539,000 75%
  • Federal$3,676,000 10%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 176 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,815 students in 2022-23, 1,868 students in 2023-24, 1,926 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,815, 2023-24: 1,868, 2024-25: 1,92605001k1.5k2k2022-231,8152023-241,8682024-251,926
Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,815, 2023-24: 1,868, 2024-25: 1,92605001k1.5k2k2022-231,8152023-241,8682024-251,926
Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,815, 2023-24: 1,868, 2024-25: 1,92605001k1.5k2k2022-231,8152023-241,8682024-251,926
Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,815, 2023-24: 1,868, 2024-25: 1,92605001k1.5k2k2022-231,8152023-241,8682024-251,926

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,815154.311.8
2023-241,868154.312.1
2024-251,926158.412.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$9,930,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,471 per student

Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II booked $9,930,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 154 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $64,376 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 93 in 100 Missouri districts with a figure (state median $50,410, 484 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$7,375,00074.3%
Special education$1,452,00014.6%
Vocational$342,0003.4%
Other programs$761,0007.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,879 in 2018-19, $4,801 in 2019-20, $5,047 in 2020-21, $5,373 in 2021-22, $5,471 in 2022-23.

Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,879, 2019-20: $4,801, 2020-21: $5,047, 2021-22: $5,373, 2022-23: $5,47102k4k6k2018-19$4,8792019-20$4,8012020-21$5,0472021-22$5,3732022-23$5,471
Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,879, 2019-20: $4,801, 2020-21: $5,047, 2021-22: $5,373, 2022-23: $5,47102k4k6k2018-19$4,8792019-20$4,8012020-21$5,0472021-22$5,3732022-23$5,471
Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,879, 2019-20: $4,801, 2020-21: $5,047, 2021-22: $5,373, 2022-23: $5,47102k4k6k2018-19$4,8792019-20$4,8012020-21$5,0472021-22$5,3732022-23$5,471
Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,879, 2019-20: $4,801, 2020-21: $5,047, 2021-22: $5,373, 2022-23: $5,47102k4k6k2018-19$4,8792019-20$4,8012020-21$5,0472021-22$5,3732022-23$5,471

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II scored proficient or above: 47% in reading and 52% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Missouri, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMissouriStudents tested
Reading and language arts47%43.2%922
Math52%39.2%950

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 105 students in Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMissouri
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%89.3%
Students in the class10567,017

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 948 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ste. Genevieve Elementary62411.538.1%Schoolwide program
Bloomsdale Elementary32412.036.7%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 412 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ste. Genevieve Middle41212.935.2%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 566 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ste. Genevieve Senior High56612.432.9%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II

  1. Missouri districts by spending per studentSte. Genevieve Co. R-II ranks 21 of 176 Missouri districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,034).#21 of 176
  2. Every school district in MissouriSte. Genevieve Co. R-II is the number 117 by size of 558 Missouri districts, with 1,815 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#117 of 558
  3. ClintonThe next larger Missouri district: 1,835 students in fall 2022, $11,999 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,999
  4. Chillicothe R-II School DistrictThe next smaller Missouri district: 1,809 students in fall 2022, $11,446 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,446
  5. Compare Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II with ClintonEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Ste. Genevieve Senior High, its largest high school566 students in 2024-25, 12.4 per teacher.566
  7. Teacher salary spending across MissouriSte. Genevieve Co. R-II spent $64,376 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,410); spending, not a salary.$64,376
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II

  1. How many schools and students are in Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,926 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II spend per student?
    $15,034 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Missouri median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,885 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,793 per student, down 1.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II's money come from?
    $35,230,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 14.2% state, 75.3% local and 10.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 243 of the 2,453 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 9.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II spend on teacher salaries?
    $9,930,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,471 per student. Divided by the 154 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $64,376 per teacher, more than 93 in 100 Missouri districts (state median $50,410). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II scored proficient or above: 47% in reading and 52% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Missouri's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II?
    90-94% of the 105 students in Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Ste. Genevieve Co. R-II's NCES district ID?
    2929370. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25