Southern Local

Public school district · Meigs County · Ohio · NCES district ID 3904853

Southern Local spent $15,246 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 50% of the other Ohio districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $15,201). Its 2 schools enrolled 680 students in 2024-25; 57.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,426 per student, up 1.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 70-79% (Ohio: 86.2%).

Spending per student among Ohio districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Southern Local in enrollment (672 to 693 students) and Southern Local itself.

Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Southern Local, FY23Pickaway-Ross County JVSD $30,996; EHOVE Career Center $26,957; Mahoning Co Career & Tech Ctr $22,363; Western Local $21,924; Southeastern Local $16,123; Southern Local $15,246; Antwerp Local $15,082; Citizens Academy Southeast $14,261; Toledo School For The Arts $10,847; Quaker Digital Academy $6,939; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.010k20k30k40kPickaway-Ross County JVSD$30,996EHOVE Career Center$26,957Mahoning Co Career & Tech Ctr$22,363Western Local$21,924Southeastern Local$16,123Southern Local$15,246Antwerp Local$15,082Citizens Academy Southeast$14,261Toledo School For The Arts$10,847Quaker Digital Academy$6,939State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Southern Local, FY23Pickaway-Ross County JVSD $30,996; EHOVE Career Center $26,957; Mahoning Co Career & Tech Ctr $22,363; Western Local $21,924; Southeastern Local $16,123; Southern Local $15,246; Antwerp Local $15,082; Citizens Academy Southeast $14,261; Toledo School For The Arts $10,847; Quaker Digital Academy $6,939; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.010k20k30k40kPickaway-Ross County JVSD$30,996EHOVE Career Center$26,957Mahoning Co Career & Tech Ctr$22,363Western Local$21,924Southeastern Local$16,123Southern Local$15,246Antwerp Local$15,082Citizens Academy Southeast$14,261Toledo School For The Arts$10,847Quaker Digital Academy$6,939State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Southern Local, FY23Pickaway-Ross County JVSD $30,996; EHOVE Career Center $26,957; Mahoning Co Career & Tech Ctr $22,363; Western Local $21,924; Southeastern Local $16,123; Southern Local $15,246; Antwerp Local $15,082; Citizens Academy Southeast $14,261; Toledo School For The Arts $10,847; Quaker Digital Academy $6,939; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.020k40kPickaway-Ross County JVSD$30,996EHOVE Career Center$26,957Mahoning Co Career & Tech Ctr$22,363Western Local$21,924Southeastern Local$16,123Southern Local$15,246Antwerp Local$15,082Citizens Academy Southeast$14,261Toledo School For The Arts$10,847Quaker Digital Academy$6,939State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Southern Local, FY23Pickaway-Ross County JVSD $30,996; EHOVE Career Center $26,957; Mahoning Co Career & Tech Ctr $22,363; Western Local $21,924; Southeastern Local $16,123; Southern Local $15,246; Antwerp Local $15,082; Citizens Academy Southeast $14,261; Toledo School For The Arts $10,847; Quaker Digital Academy $6,939; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.020k40kPickaway-Ross County JVSD$30,996EHOVE Career Center$26,957Mahoning Co Career & Tech Ctr$22,363Western Local$21,924Southeastern Local$16,123Southern Local$15,246Antwerp Local$15,082Citizens Academy Southeast$14,261Toledo School For The Arts$10,847Quaker Digital Academy$6,939State median, under 1,000 students $15,201

Where the money came from

$11,932,000 in revenue: 57.7% state, 26.0% local and 16.3% federal. Total spending including $488,000 of capital outlay was $11,491,000, or $16,849 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Southern Local revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $6,882,000; Local $3,101,000; Federal $1,949,000; total $11,932,000.
  • State$6,882,000 58%
  • Local$3,101,000 26%
  • Federal$1,949,000 16%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 529 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

682 students in 2022-23, 697 students in 2023-24, 680 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Southern Local enrollment by school year2022-23: 682, 2023-24: 697, 2024-25: 68002004006008002022-236822023-246972024-25680
Southern Local enrollment by school year2022-23: 682, 2023-24: 697, 2024-25: 68002004006008002022-236822023-246972024-25680
Southern Local enrollment by school year2022-23: 682, 2023-24: 697, 2024-25: 68002004006008002022-236822023-246972024-25680
Southern Local enrollment by school year2022-23: 682, 2023-24: 697, 2024-25: 68002004006008002022-236822023-246972024-25680

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2368241.016.6
2023-2469745.015.5
2024-2568045.015.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,912,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,270 per student

Southern Local booked $2,912,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 41 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $71,024 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 26 in 100 Ohio districts with a figure (state median $78,983, 642 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,132,00073.2%
Special education$645,00022.1%
Vocational$135,0004.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,191 in 2018-19, $3,450 in 2019-20, $3,469 in 2020-21, $3,695 in 2021-22, $4,270 in 2022-23.

Southern Local teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,191, 2019-20: $3,450, 2020-21: $3,469, 2021-22: $3,695, 2022-23: $4,27002k4k6k2018-19$3,1912019-20$3,4502020-21$3,4692021-22$3,6952022-23$4,270
Southern Local teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,191, 2019-20: $3,450, 2020-21: $3,469, 2021-22: $3,695, 2022-23: $4,27002k4k6k2018-19$3,1912019-20$3,4502020-21$3,4692021-22$3,6952022-23$4,270
Southern Local teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,191, 2019-20: $3,450, 2020-21: $3,469, 2021-22: $3,695, 2022-23: $4,27002k4k6k2018-19$3,1912019-20$3,4502020-21$3,4692021-22$3,6952022-23$4,270
Southern Local teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,191, 2019-20: $3,450, 2020-21: $3,469, 2021-22: $3,695, 2022-23: $4,27002k4k6k2018-19$3,1912019-20$3,4502020-21$3,4692021-22$3,6952022-23$4,270

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Southern Local scored proficient or above: 66-74% in reading and 53-61% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOhioStudents tested
Reading and language arts66-74%59%296
Math53-61%54%296

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

70-79% of the 42 students in Southern Local's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOhio
Four-year graduation rate70‑79%86.2%
Students in the class42132,008

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 495 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Southern Elementary School49517.1All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 185 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Southern High School18511.6All free (CEP)Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Southern Local

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Southern Local

  1. Ohio districts by spending per studentSouthern Local ranks 262 of 529 Ohio districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,246).#262 of 529
  2. Every school district in OhioSouthern Local is the number 574 by size of 999 Ohio districts, with 682 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#574 of 999
  3. Western LocalThe next larger Ohio district: 685 students in fall 2022, $21,924 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$21,924
  4. Quaker Digital AcademyThe next smaller Ohio district: 673 students in fall 2022, $6,939 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$6,939
  5. Compare Southern Local with Western LocalEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Southern High School, its largest high school185 students in 2024-25, 11.6 per teacher.185
  7. Teacher salary spending across OhioSouthern Local spent $71,024 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $78,983); spending, not a salary.$71,024
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Southern Local

  1. How many schools and students are in Southern Local?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 680 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Southern Local spend per student?
    $15,246 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Ohio median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,201 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,426 per student, up 1.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Southern Local's money come from?
    $11,932,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 57.7% state, 26.0% local and 16.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Southern Local live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 105 of the 690 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 15.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Southern Local spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,912,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,270 per student. Divided by the 41 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $71,024 per teacher, more than 26 in 100 Ohio districts (state median $78,983). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Southern Local do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Southern Local scored proficient or above: 66-74% in reading and 53-61% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Southern Local?
    70-79% of the 42 students in Southern Local's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Southern Local's NCES district ID?
    3904853. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25