Schuylkill Haven Area SD

Public school district · Schuylkill County · Pennsylvania · NCES district ID 4220910

Schuylkill Haven Area SD spent $16,926 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 63% of the other Pennsylvania districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,594). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,161 students in 2024-25; 51.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,346 per student, up 2.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 75-79% (Pennsylvania: 87.5%).

Spending per student among Pennsylvania districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Schuylkill Haven Area SD in enrollment (1,147 to 1,170 students) and Schuylkill Haven Area SD itself.

Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Schuylkill Haven Area SD, FY23Mastery CS-Gratz Campus $20,858; Philadelphia Academy Charter School $20,122; Bristol Borough SD $20,003; Brentwood Borough SD $19,995; Moniteau SD $18,392; Schuylkill Haven Area SD $16,926; Cranberry Area SD $16,909; Everett Area SD $16,175; Bellwood-Antis SD $16,078; Antietam SD $15,718; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.14k16k18k20k22kMastery CS-Gratz Campus$20,858Philadelphia Academy Charter S…$20,122Bristol Borough SD$20,003Brentwood Borough SD$19,995Moniteau SD$18,392Schuylkill Haven Area SD$16,926Cranberry Area SD$16,909Everett Area SD$16,175Bellwood-Antis SD$16,078Antietam SD$15,718State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Schuylkill Haven Area SD, FY23Mastery CS-Gratz Campus $20,858; Philadelphia Academy Charter School $20,122; Bristol Borough SD $20,003; Brentwood Borough SD $19,995; Moniteau SD $18,392; Schuylkill Haven Area SD $16,926; Cranberry Area SD $16,909; Everett Area SD $16,175; Bellwood-Antis SD $16,078; Antietam SD $15,718; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.14k16k18k20k22kMastery CS-Gratz Campus$20,858Philadelphia Academy Charter School$20,122Bristol Borough SD$20,003Brentwood Borough SD$19,995Moniteau SD$18,392Schuylkill Haven Area SD$16,926Cranberry Area SD$16,909Everett Area SD$16,175Bellwood-Antis SD$16,078Antietam SD$15,718State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Schuylkill Haven Area SD, FY23Mastery CS-Gratz Campus $20,858; Philadelphia Academy Charter School $20,122; Bristol Borough SD $20,003; Brentwood Borough SD $19,995; Moniteau SD $18,392; Schuylkill Haven Area SD $16,926; Cranberry Area SD $16,909; Everett Area SD $16,175; Bellwood-Antis SD $16,078; Antietam SD $15,718; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.14k18k22kMastery CS-Gratz Campus$20,858Philadelphia Academy Charter School$20,122Bristol Borough SD$20,003Brentwood Borough SD$19,995Moniteau SD$18,392Schuylkill Haven Area SD$16,926Cranberry Area SD$16,909Everett Area SD$16,175Bellwood-Antis SD$16,078Antietam SD$15,718State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Schuylkill Haven Area SD, FY23Mastery CS-Gratz Campus $20,858; Philadelphia Academy Charter School $20,122; Bristol Borough SD $20,003; Brentwood Borough SD $19,995; Moniteau SD $18,392; Schuylkill Haven Area SD $16,926; Cranberry Area SD $16,909; Everett Area SD $16,175; Bellwood-Antis SD $16,078; Antietam SD $15,718; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.14k18k22kMastery CS-Gratz Campus$20,858Philadelphia Academy Charter School$20,122Bristol Borough SD$20,003Brentwood Borough SD$19,995Moniteau SD$18,392Schuylkill Haven Area SD$16,926Cranberry Area SD$16,909Everett Area SD$16,175Bellwood-Antis SD$16,078Antietam SD$15,718State median, 1,000+ students $17,594

Where the money came from

$24,444,000 in revenue: 51.9% state, 42.1% local and 6.1% federal. Total spending including $2,247,000 of capital outlay was $24,346,000, or $21,207 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Schuylkill Haven Area SD revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $12,676,000; Local $10,289,000; Federal $1,479,000; total $24,444,000.
  • State$12,676,000 52%
  • Local$10,289,000 42%
  • Federal$1,479,000 6%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 418 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,139 students in 2022-23, 1,157 students in 2023-24, 1,161 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Schuylkill Haven Area SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,139, 2023-24: 1,157, 2024-25: 1,16105001k1.5k2022-231,1392023-241,1572024-251,161
Schuylkill Haven Area SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,139, 2023-24: 1,157, 2024-25: 1,16105001k1.5k2022-231,1392023-241,1572024-251,161
Schuylkill Haven Area SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,139, 2023-24: 1,157, 2024-25: 1,16105001k1.5k2022-231,1392023-241,1572024-251,161
Schuylkill Haven Area SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,139, 2023-24: 1,157, 2024-25: 1,16105001k1.5k2022-231,1392023-241,1572024-251,161

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,13994.012.1
2023-241,15793.012.4
2024-251,16197.511.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$6,555,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,710 per student

Schuylkill Haven Area SD booked $6,555,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 94 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $69,734 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 19 in 100 Pennsylvania districts with a figure (state median $81,309, 647 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Pennsylvania teacher salary at $72,248 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$4,642,00070.8%
Special education$1,692,00025.8%
Other programs$221,0003.4%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,123 in 2018-19, $5,386 in 2019-20, $5,342 in 2020-21, $5,656 in 2021-22, $5,710 in 2022-23.

Schuylkill Haven Area SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,123, 2019-20: $5,386, 2020-21: $5,342, 2021-22: $5,656, 2022-23: $5,71002k4k6k2018-19$5,1232019-20$5,3862020-21$5,3422021-22$5,6562022-23$5,710
Schuylkill Haven Area SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,123, 2019-20: $5,386, 2020-21: $5,342, 2021-22: $5,656, 2022-23: $5,71002k4k6k2018-19$5,1232019-20$5,3862020-21$5,3422021-22$5,6562022-23$5,710
Schuylkill Haven Area SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,123, 2019-20: $5,386, 2020-21: $5,342, 2021-22: $5,656, 2022-23: $5,71002k4k6k2018-19$5,1232019-20$5,3862020-21$5,3422021-22$5,6562022-23$5,710
Schuylkill Haven Area SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,123, 2019-20: $5,386, 2020-21: $5,342, 2021-22: $5,656, 2022-23: $5,71002k4k6k2018-19$5,1232019-20$5,3862020-21$5,3422021-22$5,6562022-23$5,710

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Schuylkill Haven Area SD scored proficient or above: 59-63% in reading and 32-36% in math, against 54% in reading and 34% in math across Pennsylvania. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Pennsylvania, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtPennsylvaniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts59-63%54%513
Math32-36%34%509

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

75-79% of the 95 students in Schuylkill Haven Area SD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Pennsylvania. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtPennsylvania
Four-year graduation rate75‑79%87.5%
Students in the class95136,045

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 451 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Schuylkill Haven El Ctr45111.555.4%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 255 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Schuylkill Haven Middle School25511.348.6%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 455 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Schuylkill Haven SHS45512.838.9%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Schuylkill Haven Area SD

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Schuylkill Haven Area SD

  1. Pennsylvania districts by spending per studentSchuylkill Haven Area SD ranks 262 of 418 Pennsylvania districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,926).#262 of 418
  2. Every school district in PennsylvaniaSchuylkill Haven Area SD is the number 402 by size of 775 Pennsylvania districts, with 1,148 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#402 of 775
  3. Brentwood Borough SDThe next larger Pennsylvania district: 1,153 students in fall 2022, $19,995 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,995
  4. Moniteau SDThe next smaller Pennsylvania district: 1,147 students in fall 2022, $18,392 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,392
  5. Compare Schuylkill Haven Area SD with Brentwood Borough SDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Schuylkill Haven SHS, its largest high school455 students in 2024-25, 12.8 per teacher.455
  7. Teacher salary spending across PennsylvaniaSchuylkill Haven Area SD spent $69,734 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $81,309); spending, not a salary.$69,734
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Schuylkill Haven Area SD

  1. How many schools and students are in Schuylkill Haven Area SD?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,161 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Schuylkill Haven Area SD spend per student?
    $16,926 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Pennsylvania median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,594 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,346 per student, up 2.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Schuylkill Haven Area SD's money come from?
    $24,444,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 51.9% state, 42.1% local and 6.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Schuylkill Haven Area SD live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 161 of the 1,382 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Schuylkill Haven Area SD spend on teacher salaries?
    $6,555,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,710 per student. Divided by the 94 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $69,734 per teacher, more than 19 in 100 Pennsylvania districts (state median $81,309). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Pennsylvania teacher salary at $72,248 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Schuylkill Haven Area SD do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Schuylkill Haven Area SD scored proficient or above: 59-63% in reading and 32-36% in math, against 54% in reading and 34% in math across Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Schuylkill Haven Area SD?
    75-79% of the 95 students in Schuylkill Haven Area SD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Pennsylvania. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Schuylkill Haven Area SD's NCES district ID?
    4220910. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25