Rsu 61/Msad 61

Public school district · Cumberland County · Maine · NCES district ID 2314210

Rsu 61/Msad 61 spent $21,203 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 87% of the other Maine districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $17,843). Its 5 schools enrolled 1,627 students in 2024-25; 21.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $24,941 per student, up 17.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 85-89% (Maine: 87.3%).

Spending per student among Maine districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Rsu 61/Msad 61 in enrollment (1,543 to 1,800 students) and Rsu 61/Msad 61 itself.

Current spending per student, Maine districts closest in size to Rsu 61/Msad 61, FY23Rsu 13 $23,183; Rsu 01 - Lkrsu $23,104; Waterville Public Schools $21,367; Rsu 61/Msad 61 $21,203; Yarmouth Schools $21,119; Rsu 10 $19,761; Rsu 40/Msad 40 $19,717; Brewer Public Schools $16,976; Rsu 79/Msad 01 $16,969; Rsu 16 $15,869; State median, 1,000+ students $17,843.12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5k25kRsu 13$23,183Rsu 01 - Lkrsu$23,104Waterville Public Schools$21,367Rsu 61/Msad 61$21,203Yarmouth Schools$21,119Rsu 10$19,761Rsu 40/Msad 40$19,717Brewer Public Schools$16,976Rsu 79/Msad 01$16,969Rsu 16$15,869State median, 1,000+ students $17,843
Current spending per student, Maine districts closest in size to Rsu 61/Msad 61, FY23Rsu 13 $23,183; Rsu 01 - Lkrsu $23,104; Waterville Public Schools $21,367; Rsu 61/Msad 61 $21,203; Yarmouth Schools $21,119; Rsu 10 $19,761; Rsu 40/Msad 40 $19,717; Brewer Public Schools $16,976; Rsu 79/Msad 01 $16,969; Rsu 16 $15,869; State median, 1,000+ students $17,843.12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5k25kRsu 13$23,183Rsu 01 - Lkrsu$23,104Waterville Public Schools$21,367Rsu 61/Msad 61$21,203Yarmouth Schools$21,119Rsu 10$19,761Rsu 40/Msad 40$19,717Brewer Public Schools$16,976Rsu 79/Msad 01$16,969Rsu 16$15,869State median, 1,000+ students $17,843
Current spending per student, Maine districts closest in size to Rsu 61/Msad 61, FY23Rsu 13 $23,183; Rsu 01 - Lkrsu $23,104; Waterville Public Schools $21,367; Rsu 61/Msad 61 $21,203; Yarmouth Schools $21,119; Rsu 10 $19,761; Rsu 40/Msad 40 $19,717; Brewer Public Schools $16,976; Rsu 79/Msad 01 $16,969; Rsu 16 $15,869; State median, 1,000+ students $17,843.12.5k17.5k22.5k25kRsu 13$23,183Rsu 01 - Lkrsu$23,104Waterville Public Schools$21,367Rsu 61/Msad 61$21,203Yarmouth Schools$21,119Rsu 10$19,761Rsu 40/Msad 40$19,717Brewer Public Schools$16,976Rsu 79/Msad 01$16,969Rsu 16$15,869State median, 1,000+ students $17,843
Current spending per student, Maine districts closest in size to Rsu 61/Msad 61, FY23Rsu 13 $23,183; Rsu 01 - Lkrsu $23,104; Waterville Public Schools $21,367; Rsu 61/Msad 61 $21,203; Yarmouth Schools $21,119; Rsu 10 $19,761; Rsu 40/Msad 40 $19,717; Brewer Public Schools $16,976; Rsu 79/Msad 01 $16,969; Rsu 16 $15,869; State median, 1,000+ students $17,843.12.5k17.5k22.5k25kRsu 13$23,183Rsu 01 - Lkrsu$23,104Waterville Public Schools$21,367Rsu 61/Msad 61$21,203Yarmouth Schools$21,119Rsu 10$19,761Rsu 40/Msad 40$19,717Brewer Public Schools$16,976Rsu 79/Msad 01$16,969Rsu 16$15,869State median, 1,000+ students $17,843

Where the money came from

$37,843,000 in revenue: 21.1% state, 68.0% local and 10.9% federal. Total spending including $443,000 of capital outlay was $36,840,000, or $22,060 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Rsu 61/Msad 61 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $7,976,000; Local $25,749,000; Federal $4,118,000; total $37,843,000.
  • State$7,976,000 21%
  • Local$25,749,000 68%
  • Federal$4,118,000 11%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 63 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,670 students in 2022-23, 1,640 students in 2023-24, 1,627 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Rsu 61/Msad 61 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,670, 2023-24: 1,640, 2024-25: 1,62705001k1.5k2k2022-231,6702023-241,6402024-251,627
Rsu 61/Msad 61 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,670, 2023-24: 1,640, 2024-25: 1,62705001k1.5k2k2022-231,6702023-241,6402024-251,627
Rsu 61/Msad 61 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,670, 2023-24: 1,640, 2024-25: 1,62705001k1.5k2k2022-231,6702023-241,6402024-251,627
Rsu 61/Msad 61 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,670, 2023-24: 1,640, 2024-25: 1,62705001k1.5k2k2022-231,6702023-241,6402024-251,627

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,670156.210.7
2023-241,640152.410.8
2024-251,627147.211.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$11,276,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,752 per student

Rsu 61/Msad 61 booked $11,276,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 168 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $67,235 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 78 in 100 Maine districts with a figure (state median $60,073, 173 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Maine teacher salary at $58,757 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$8,544,00075.8%
Special education$1,618,00014.3%
Vocational$863,0007.7%
Other programs$251,0002.2%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,426 in 2018-19, $5,653 in 2019-20, $6,165 in 2020-21, $6,458 in 2021-22, $6,752 in 2022-23.

Rsu 61/Msad 61 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,426, 2019-20: $5,653, 2020-21: $6,165, 2021-22: $6,458, 2022-23: $6,75202k4k6k8k2018-19$5,4262019-20$5,6532020-21$6,1652021-22$6,4582022-23$6,752
Rsu 61/Msad 61 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,426, 2019-20: $5,653, 2020-21: $6,165, 2021-22: $6,458, 2022-23: $6,75202k4k6k8k2018-19$5,4262019-20$5,6532020-21$6,1652021-22$6,4582022-23$6,752
Rsu 61/Msad 61 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,426, 2019-20: $5,653, 2020-21: $6,165, 2021-22: $6,458, 2022-23: $6,75202k4k6k8k2018-19$5,4262019-20$5,6532020-21$6,1652021-22$6,4582022-23$6,752
Rsu 61/Msad 61 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,426, 2019-20: $5,653, 2020-21: $6,165, 2021-22: $6,458, 2022-23: $6,75202k4k6k8k2018-19$5,4262019-20$5,6532020-21$6,1652021-22$6,4582022-23$6,752

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Rsu 61/Msad 61 scored proficient or above: 75% in reading and 75% in math, against 84.1% in reading and 81.5% in math across Maine. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Maine, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMaineStudents tested
Reading and language arts75%84.1%591
Math75%81.5%600

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

85-89% of the 147 students in Rsu 61/Msad 61's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Maine. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMaine
Four-year graduation rate85‑89%87.3%
Students in the class14713,941

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 elementary schools, 734 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Stevens Brook School29010.249.3%Schoolwide program
Songo Locks School24911.543.0%Schoolwide program
Crooked River Elementary19510.447.7%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 390 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lake Region Middle School39011.044.6%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 503 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lake Region High School50311.744.1%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Rsu 61/Msad 61

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Rsu 61/Msad 61

  1. Maine districts by spending per studentRsu 61/Msad 61 ranks 9 of 63 Maine districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($21,203).#9 of 63
  2. Every school district in MaineRsu 61/Msad 61 is the number 41 by size of 234 Maine districts, with 1,670 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#41 of 234
  3. Yarmouth SchoolsThe next larger Maine district: 1,679 students in fall 2022, $21,119 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$21,119
  4. Waterville Public SchoolsThe next smaller Maine district: 1,651 students in fall 2022, $21,367 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$21,367
  5. Compare Rsu 61/Msad 61 with Yarmouth SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Lake Region High School, its largest high school503 students in 2024-25, 11.7 per teacher.503
  7. Teacher salary spending across MaineRsu 61/Msad 61 spent $67,235 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $60,073); spending, not a salary.$67,235
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Rsu 61/Msad 61

  1. How many schools and students are in Rsu 61/Msad 61?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,627 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Rsu 61/Msad 61 spend per student?
    $21,203 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Maine median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,843 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $24,941 per student, up 17.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Rsu 61/Msad 61's money come from?
    $37,843,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 21.1% state, 68.0% local and 10.9% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Rsu 61/Msad 61 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 197 of the 1,705 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Rsu 61/Msad 61 spend on teacher salaries?
    $11,276,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,752 per student. Divided by the 168 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $67,235 per teacher, more than 78 in 100 Maine districts (state median $60,073). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Maine teacher salary at $58,757 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Rsu 61/Msad 61 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Rsu 61/Msad 61 scored proficient or above: 75% in reading and 75% in math, against 84.1% in reading and 81.5% in math across Maine. Maine's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Rsu 61/Msad 61?
    85-89% of the 147 students in Rsu 61/Msad 61's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Maine. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Rsu 61/Msad 61's NCES district ID?
    2314210. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25