Roxana CUSD 1
Public school district · Madison County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1735010
Roxana CUSD 1 spent $19,531 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 62% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $18,127). Its 4 schools enrolled 1,708 students in 2024-25; 25.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,111 per student, up 8.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 85-89% (Illinois: 87.6%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Roxana CUSD 1 in enrollment (1,665 to 1,703 students) and Roxana CUSD 1 itself.
Where the money came from
$43,539,000 in revenue: 25.1% state, 63.4% local and 11.5% federal. Total spending including $2,675,000 of capital outlay was $36,757,000, or $21,750 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$10,909,000 25%
- Local$27,625,000 63%
- Federal$5,005,000 11%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
1,690 students in 2022-23, 1,655 students in 2023-24, 1,708 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 1,690 | 112.0 | 15.1 |
| 2023-24 | 1,655 | 123.5 | 13.4 |
| 2024-25 | 1,708 | 119.1 | 14.3 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Roxana CUSD 1 scored proficient or above: 21% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Illinois | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 21% | 29.9% | 856 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
85-89% of the 131 students in Roxana CUSD 1's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Illinois | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 85‑89% | 87.6% |
| Students in the class | 131 | 149,998 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
2 elementary schools, 815 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Primary School | 450 | 14.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Central Intermediate School | 365 | 15.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 393 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roxana Junior High School | 393 | 13.5 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 500 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roxana Sr High School | 500 | 14.1 | All free (CEP) | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Roxana CUSD 1
- Website: rcusd.org
- Phone: (618) 254-7546
- Office: 401 Chaffer Ave, Roxana, IL 62084
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Roxana CUSD 1
- Illinois districts by spending per studentRoxana CUSD 1 ranks 143 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($19,531).#143 of 377
- Every school district in IllinoisRoxana CUSD 1 is the number 237 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 1,690 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#237 of 865
- Herscher CUSD 2The next larger Illinois district: 1,695 students in fall 2022, $16,729 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,729
- Queen Bee SD 16The next smaller Illinois district: 1,685 students in fall 2022, $19,754 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,754
- Compare Roxana CUSD 1 with Herscher CUSD 2Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Roxana Sr High School, its largest high school500 students in 2024-25, 14.1 per teacher.500
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Roxana CUSD 1
How many schools and students are in Roxana CUSD 1?
4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,708 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Roxana CUSD 1 spend per student?
$19,531 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,111 per student, up 8.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Roxana CUSD 1's money come from?
$43,539,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 25.1% state, 63.4% local and 11.5% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Roxana CUSD 1 live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 214 of the 1,854 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in Roxana CUSD 1 do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Roxana CUSD 1 scored proficient or above: 21% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Roxana CUSD 1?
85-89% of the 131 students in Roxana CUSD 1's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Roxana CUSD 1's NCES district ID?
1735010. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25