Rochester Community School District

Public school district · Oakland County · Michigan · NCES district ID 2629940

Rochester Community School District spent $14,637 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 60% of the other Michigan districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,214). Its 21 schools enrolled 14,496 students in 2024-25; 64.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,197 per student, up 3.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 96% (Michigan: 81.8%).

Spending per student among Michigan's largest districts

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. Among the 10 districts shown, Rochester Community ranks 8.

Current spending per student, largest Michigan districts, FY23Detroit Public Schools Community District $22,002; Ann Arbor Public Schools $19,271; Dearborn City $18,204; Grand Rapids Public Schools $17,565; Warren Consolidated Schools $17,520; Livonia Public Schools $16,627; Plymouth-Canton Community Schools $14,974; Rochester Community $14,637; Utica Community Schools $14,295; Chippewa Valley Schools $13,999; State median, 1,000+ students $14,214.10k15k20k25kDetroit Public Schools Communi…$22,002Ann Arbor Public Schools$19,271Dearborn City$18,204Grand Rapids Public Schools$17,565Warren Consolidated Schools$17,520Livonia Public Schools$16,627Plymouth-Canton Community Scho…$14,974Rochester Community$14,637Utica Community Schools$14,295Chippewa Valley Schools$13,999State median, 1,000+ students $14,214
Current spending per student, largest Michigan districts, FY23Detroit Public Schools Community District $22,002; Ann Arbor Public Schools $19,271; Dearborn City $18,204; Grand Rapids Public Schools $17,565; Warren Consolidated Schools $17,520; Livonia Public Schools $16,627; Plymouth-Canton Community Schools $14,974; Rochester Community $14,637; Utica Community Schools $14,295; Chippewa Valley Schools $13,999; State median, 1,000+ students $14,214.10k15k20k25kDetroit Public Schools Community Di…$22,002Ann Arbor Public Schools$19,271Dearborn City$18,204Grand Rapids Public Schools$17,565Warren Consolidated Schools$17,520Livonia Public Schools$16,627Plymouth-Canton Community Schools$14,974Rochester Community$14,637Utica Community Schools$14,295Chippewa Valley Schools$13,999State median, 1,000+ students $14,214
Current spending per student, largest Michigan districts, FY23Detroit Public Schools Community District $22,002; Ann Arbor Public Schools $19,271; Dearborn City $18,204; Grand Rapids Public Schools $17,565; Warren Consolidated Schools $17,520; Livonia Public Schools $16,627; Plymouth-Canton Community Schools $14,974; Rochester Community $14,637; Utica Community Schools $14,295; Chippewa Valley Schools $13,999; State median, 1,000+ students $14,214.10k15k20k25kDetroit Public Schools Community District$22,002Ann Arbor Public Schools$19,271Dearborn City$18,204Grand Rapids Public Schools$17,565Warren Consolidated Schools$17,520Livonia Public Schools$16,627Plymouth-Canton Community Schools$14,974Rochester Community$14,637Utica Community Schools$14,295Chippewa Valley Schools$13,999State median, 1,000+ students $14,214
Current spending per student, largest Michigan districts, FY23Detroit Public Schools Community District $22,002; Ann Arbor Public Schools $19,271; Dearborn City $18,204; Grand Rapids Public Schools $17,565; Warren Consolidated Schools $17,520; Livonia Public Schools $16,627; Plymouth-Canton Community Schools $14,974; Rochester Community $14,637; Utica Community Schools $14,295; Chippewa Valley Schools $13,999; State median, 1,000+ students $14,214.10k15k20k25kDetroit Public Schools Community Distri…$22,002Ann Arbor Public Schools$19,271Dearborn City$18,204Grand Rapids Public Schools$17,565Warren Consolidated Schools$17,520Livonia Public Schools$16,627Plymouth-Canton Community Schools$14,974Rochester Community$14,637Utica Community Schools$14,295Chippewa Valley Schools$13,999State median, 1,000+ students $14,214

Where the money came from

$258,089,000 in revenue: 64.0% state, 28.8% local and 7.1% federal. Total spending including $17,562,000 of capital outlay was $250,823,000, or $16,703 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Rochester Community School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $165,284,000; Local $74,395,000; Federal $18,410,000; total $258,089,000.
  • State$165,284,000 64%
  • Local$74,395,000 29%
  • Federal$18,410,000 7%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 347 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

14,723 students in 2022-23, 14,636 students in 2023-24, 14,496 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Rochester Community School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 14,723, 2023-24: 14,636, 2024-25: 14,49605k10k15k2022-2314,7232023-2414,6362024-2514,496
Rochester Community School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 14,723, 2023-24: 14,636, 2024-25: 14,49605k10k15k2022-2314,7232023-2414,6362024-2514,496
Rochester Community School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 14,723, 2023-24: 14,636, 2024-25: 14,49605k10k15k2022-2314,7232023-2414,6362024-2514,496
Rochester Community School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 14,723, 2023-24: 14,636, 2024-25: 14,49605k10k15k2022-2314,7232023-2414,6362024-2514,496

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2314,723742.919.8
2023-2414,636796.018.4
2024-2514,496762.419.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$60,359,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,019 per student

Rochester Community School District booked $60,359,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 756 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $79,843 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 97 in 100 Michigan districts with a figure (state median $62,387, 536 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Michigan teacher salary at $65,198 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$48,618,00080.5%
Special education$8,044,00013.3%
Vocational$265,0000.4%
Other programs$3,432,0005.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,489 in 2018-19, $3,635 in 2019-20, $3,768 in 2020-21, $3,913 in 2021-22, $4,019 in 2022-23.

Rochester Community School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,489, 2019-20: $3,635, 2020-21: $3,768, 2021-22: $3,913, 2022-23: $4,01902k4k6k2018-19$3,4892019-20$3,6352020-21$3,7682021-22$3,9132022-23$4,019
Rochester Community School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,489, 2019-20: $3,635, 2020-21: $3,768, 2021-22: $3,913, 2022-23: $4,01902k4k6k2018-19$3,4892019-20$3,6352020-21$3,7682021-22$3,9132022-23$4,019
Rochester Community School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,489, 2019-20: $3,635, 2020-21: $3,768, 2021-22: $3,913, 2022-23: $4,01902k4k6k2018-19$3,4892019-20$3,6352020-21$3,7682021-22$3,9132022-23$4,019
Rochester Community School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,489, 2019-20: $3,635, 2020-21: $3,768, 2021-22: $3,913, 2022-23: $4,01902k4k6k2018-19$3,4892019-20$3,6352020-21$3,7682021-22$3,9132022-23$4,019

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Rochester Community School District scored proficient or above: 70% in reading and 64% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Michigan, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMichiganStudents tested
Reading and language arts70%44%6,619
Math64%34%6,611

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

96% of the 1,268 students in Rochester Community School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMichigan
Four-year graduation rate96%81.8%
Students in the class1,268115,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

13 elementary schools, 6,320 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Delta Kelly Elementary School64317.92.5%Not Title I
Hampton Elementary School56715.314.3%Targeted program
Baldwin Elementary School53419.02.8%Not Title I
Long Meadow Elementary School52816.59.1%Eligible, no program
North Hill Elementary School51215.89.6%Eligible, no program
Hugger Elementary School51219.16.6%Not Title I
Musson Elementary School50519.44.2%Not Title I
Hamlin Elementary School45014.813.6%Targeted program
McGregor Elementary School44317.329.8%Targeted program
Brooklands Elementary School44215.918.1%Targeted program
Meadow Brook Elementary School42817.510.3%Not Title I
University Hills Elementary School37915.17.7%Not Title I
One more elementary school
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Brewster Elementary School37714.24.5%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

8 high schools, 8,176 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Rochester High School1,68223.113.3%Eligible, no program
Rochester Adams High School1,52121.74.1%Not Title I
Stoney Creek High School1,47823.48.5%Eligible, no program
Hart Middle School99924.58.3%Eligible, no program
Van Hoosen Middle School90620.72.6%Not Title I
West Middle School78419.78.2%Not Title I
Reuther Middle School70619.116.4%Eligible, no program
John M Schultz Educational Campus1006.133.0%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Rochester Community Schools Virtual Campus

School in Rochester Hls; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 147 students; 12.9 students per teacher.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Rochester Community School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Rochester Community School District

  1. Michigan districts by spending per studentRochester Community School District ranks 141 of 347 Michigan districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,637).#141 of 347
  2. Every school district in MichiganRochester Community School District is the number 6 by size of 892 Michigan districts, with 15,017 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#6 of 892
  3. Plymouth-Canton Community SchoolsThe next larger Michigan district: 16,294 students in fall 2022, $14,974 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,974
  4. Chippewa Valley SchoolsThe next smaller Michigan district: 14,703 students in fall 2022, $13,999 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,999
  5. Compare Rochester Community School District with Plymouth-Canton Community SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Rochester High School, its largest high school1,682 students in 2024-25, 23.1 per teacher.1,682
  7. Teacher salary spending across MichiganRochester Community School District spent $79,843 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,387); spending, not a salary.$79,843
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Rochester Community School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Rochester Community School District?
    21 schools were open in 2024-25 (13 elementary, 8 high), enrolling 14,496 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Rochester Community School District spend per student?
    $14,637 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Michigan median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,214 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,197 per student, up 3.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Rochester Community School District's money come from?
    $258,089,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 64.0% state, 28.8% local and 7.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Rochester Community School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 481 of the 17,248 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 2.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Rochester Community School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $60,359,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,019 per student. Divided by the 756 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $79,843 per teacher, more than 97 in 100 Michigan districts (state median $62,387). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Michigan teacher salary at $65,198 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Rochester Community School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Rochester Community School District scored proficient or above: 70% in reading and 64% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Michigan's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Rochester Community School District?
    96% of the 1,268 students in Rochester Community School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Rochester Community School District's NCES district ID?
    2629940. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25