Reed Union School District

Listed by NCES as Reed Union Elementary (district ID 0632160)

Public school district · Marin County · California · NCES district ID 0632160

Reed Union School District spent $24,974 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 97% of the other California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $16,855). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,043 students in 2024-25; 9.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $27,108 per student, up 8.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Reed Union in enrollment (1,005 to 1,044 students) and Reed Union itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Reed Union, FY23Reed Union $24,974; Antelope Valley Learning Academy $24,852; Lucerne Valley Unified $21,124; Kings Valley Academy II District $20,102; Alliance Marine - Innovation and Techn 6-12 Complex District $18,719; Keyes Union $18,425; Rio Bravo-Greeley Union Elementary $15,831; Susanville $13,520; California Virtual Academy San Mateo District $13,356; Epic California Academy $12,379; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.10k15k20k25k30kReed Union$24,974Antelope Valley Learning Acade…$24,852Lucerne Valley Unified$21,124Kings Valley Academy II Distri…$20,102Alliance Marine - Innovation a…$18,719Keyes Union$18,425Rio Bravo-Greeley Union Elemen…$15,831Susanville$13,520California Virtual Academy San…$13,356Epic California Academy$12,379State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Reed Union, FY23Reed Union $24,974; Antelope Valley Learning Academy $24,852; Lucerne Valley Unified $21,124; Kings Valley Academy II District $20,102; Alliance Marine - Innovation and Techn 6-12 Complex District $18,719; Keyes Union $18,425; Rio Bravo-Greeley Union Elementary $15,831; Susanville $13,520; California Virtual Academy San Mateo District $13,356; Epic California Academy $12,379; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.10k15k20k25k30kReed Union$24,974Antelope Valley Learning Academy$24,852Lucerne Valley Unified$21,124Kings Valley Academy II District$20,102Alliance Marine - Innovation and Te…$18,719Keyes Union$18,425Rio Bravo-Greeley Union Elementary$15,831Susanville$13,520California Virtual Academy San Mate…$13,356Epic California Academy$12,379State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Reed Union, FY23Reed Union $24,974; Antelope Valley Learning Academy $24,852; Lucerne Valley Unified $21,124; Kings Valley Academy II District $20,102; Alliance Marine - Innovation and Techn 6-12 Complex District $18,719; Keyes Union $18,425; Rio Bravo-Greeley Union Elementary $15,831; Susanville $13,520; California Virtual Academy San Mateo District $13,356; Epic California Academy $12,379; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.10k20k30kReed Union$24,974Antelope Valley Learning Academy$24,852Lucerne Valley Unified$21,124Kings Valley Academy II District$20,102Alliance Marine - Innovation and Techn 6-12…$18,719Keyes Union$18,425Rio Bravo-Greeley Union Elementary$15,831Susanville$13,520California Virtual Academy San Mateo Distri…$13,356Epic California Academy$12,379State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Reed Union, FY23Reed Union $24,974; Antelope Valley Learning Academy $24,852; Lucerne Valley Unified $21,124; Kings Valley Academy II District $20,102; Alliance Marine - Innovation and Techn 6-12 Complex District $18,719; Keyes Union $18,425; Rio Bravo-Greeley Union Elementary $15,831; Susanville $13,520; California Virtual Academy San Mateo District $13,356; Epic California Academy $12,379; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.10k20k30kReed Union$24,974Antelope Valley Learning Academy$24,852Lucerne Valley Unified$21,124Kings Valley Academy II District$20,102Alliance Marine - Innovation and Techn…$18,719Keyes Union$18,425Rio Bravo-Greeley Union Elementary$15,831Susanville$13,520California Virtual Academy San Mateo Di…$13,356Epic California Academy$12,379State median, 1,000+ students $16,855

Where the money came from

$32,901,000 in revenue: 9.4% state, 89.2% local and 1.5% federal. Total spending including $292,000 of capital outlay was $26,835,000, or $26,206 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Reed Union School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $3,084,000; Local $29,339,000; Federal $478,000; total $32,901,000.
  • State$3,084,000 9%
  • Local$29,339,000 89%
  • Federal$478,000 1%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 646 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,023 students in 2022-23, 1,048 students in 2023-24, 1,043 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Reed Union School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,023, 2023-24: 1,048, 2024-25: 1,04305001k1.5k2022-231,0232023-241,0482024-251,043
Reed Union School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,023, 2023-24: 1,048, 2024-25: 1,04305001k1.5k2022-231,0232023-241,0482024-251,043
Reed Union School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,023, 2023-24: 1,048, 2024-25: 1,04305001k1.5k2022-231,0232023-241,0482024-251,043
Reed Union School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,023, 2023-24: 1,048, 2024-25: 1,04305001k1.5k2022-231,0232023-241,0482024-251,043

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,02369.414.7
2023-241,04869.915.0
2024-251,04370.514.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$8,474,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $8,275 per student

Reed Union School District booked $8,474,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 69 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $122,086 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 84 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$7,848,00092.6%
Special education$626,0007.4%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,817 in 2018-19, $6,575 in 2019-20, $7,500 in 2020-21, $8,107 in 2021-22, $8,275 in 2022-23.

Reed Union School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,817, 2019-20: $6,575, 2020-21: $7,500, 2021-22: $8,107, 2022-23: $8,27502.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$5,8172019-20$6,5752020-21$7,5002021-22$8,1072022-23$8,275
Reed Union School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,817, 2019-20: $6,575, 2020-21: $7,500, 2021-22: $8,107, 2022-23: $8,27502.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$5,8172019-20$6,5752020-21$7,5002021-22$8,1072022-23$8,275
Reed Union School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,817, 2019-20: $6,575, 2020-21: $7,500, 2021-22: $8,107, 2022-23: $8,27502.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$5,8172019-20$6,5752020-21$7,5002021-22$8,1072022-23$8,275
Reed Union School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,817, 2019-20: $6,575, 2020-21: $7,500, 2021-22: $8,107, 2022-23: $8,27502.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$5,8172019-20$6,5752020-21$7,5002021-22$8,1072022-23$8,275

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Reed Union School District scored proficient or above: 79-83% in reading and 73-77% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts79-83%45%721
Math73-77%34%722

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

2 elementary schools, 684 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Reed Elementary36216.82.8%Not reported
Bel Aire Elementary32217.78.1%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 359 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Del Mar Middle35911.74.7%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Reed Union School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Reed Union School District

  1. California districts by spending per studentReed Union School District ranks 19 of 646 California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($24,974).#19 of 646
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaReed Union School District is the number 663 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 1,024 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#663 of 1,991
  3. Lucerne Valley UnifiedThe next larger California district: 1,029 students in fall 2022, $21,124 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$21,124
  4. Keyes UnionThe next smaller California district: 1,020 students in fall 2022, $18,425 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,425
  5. Compare Reed Union School District with Lucerne Valley UnifiedEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaReed Union School District spent $122,086 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$122,086
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Reed Union School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Reed Union School District?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 1,043 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Reed Union School District spend per student?
    $24,974 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,855 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $27,108 per student, up 8.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Reed Union School District's money come from?
    $32,901,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 9.4% state, 89.2% local and 1.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Reed Union School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 102 of the 1,713 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 6.0%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Reed Union School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $8,474,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $8,275 per student. Divided by the 69 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $122,086 per teacher, more than 84 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Reed Union School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Reed Union School District scored proficient or above: 79-83% in reading and 73-77% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is Reed Union School District's NCES district ID?
    0632160. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25