Polo R-VII School District

Listed by NCES as Polo R-Vii (district ID 2925410)

Public school district · Caldwell County · Missouri · NCES district ID 2925410

Polo R-VII School District spent $14,032 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 57% of the other Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,479). Its 3 schools enrolled 367 students in 2024-25; 39.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,099 per student, up 7.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Missouri: 89.3%).

Spending per student among Missouri districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Polo R-VII in enrollment (394 to 413 students) and Polo R-VII itself.

Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Polo R-VII, FY23Lakeland R-III $19,971; St. Louis Lang Immersion School $19,139; Citizens of the World Charter $15,161; Polo R-VII $14,032; Scuola Vita Nuova Charter School $13,375; Stoutland Schools $13,360; Sweet Springs R-Vii $13,007; Bakersfield R-IV $12,481; Lafayette Preparatory Academy $11,670; Newburg R-II $11,502; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k15k20k25kLakeland R-III$19,971St. Louis Lang Immersion School$19,139Citizens of the World Charter$15,161Polo R-VII$14,032Scuola Vita Nuova Charter Scho…$13,375Stoutland Schools$13,360Sweet Springs R-Vii$13,007Bakersfield R-IV$12,481Lafayette Preparatory Academy$11,670Newburg R-II$11,502State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Polo R-VII, FY23Lakeland R-III $19,971; St. Louis Lang Immersion School $19,139; Citizens of the World Charter $15,161; Polo R-VII $14,032; Scuola Vita Nuova Charter School $13,375; Stoutland Schools $13,360; Sweet Springs R-Vii $13,007; Bakersfield R-IV $12,481; Lafayette Preparatory Academy $11,670; Newburg R-II $11,502; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k15k20k25kLakeland R-III$19,971St. Louis Lang Immersion School$19,139Citizens of the World Charter$15,161Polo R-VII$14,032Scuola Vita Nuova Charter School$13,375Stoutland Schools$13,360Sweet Springs R-Vii$13,007Bakersfield R-IV$12,481Lafayette Preparatory Academy$11,670Newburg R-II$11,502State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Polo R-VII, FY23Lakeland R-III $19,971; St. Louis Lang Immersion School $19,139; Citizens of the World Charter $15,161; Polo R-VII $14,032; Scuola Vita Nuova Charter School $13,375; Stoutland Schools $13,360; Sweet Springs R-Vii $13,007; Bakersfield R-IV $12,481; Lafayette Preparatory Academy $11,670; Newburg R-II $11,502; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k15k20k25kLakeland R-III$19,971St. Louis Lang Immersion School$19,139Citizens of the World Charter$15,161Polo R-VII$14,032Scuola Vita Nuova Charter School$13,375Stoutland Schools$13,360Sweet Springs R-Vii$13,007Bakersfield R-IV$12,481Lafayette Preparatory Academy$11,670Newburg R-II$11,502State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Polo R-VII, FY23Lakeland R-III $19,971; St. Louis Lang Immersion School $19,139; Citizens of the World Charter $15,161; Polo R-VII $14,032; Scuola Vita Nuova Charter School $13,375; Stoutland Schools $13,360; Sweet Springs R-Vii $13,007; Bakersfield R-IV $12,481; Lafayette Preparatory Academy $11,670; Newburg R-II $11,502; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k15k20k25kLakeland R-III$19,971St. Louis Lang Immersion School$19,139Citizens of the World Charter$15,161Polo R-VII$14,032Scuola Vita Nuova Charter School$13,375Stoutland Schools$13,360Sweet Springs R-Vii$13,007Bakersfield R-IV$12,481Lafayette Preparatory Academy$11,670Newburg R-II$11,502State median, under 1,000 students $13,479

Where the money came from

$6,253,000 in revenue: 39.2% state, 53.4% local and 7.4% federal. Total spending including $382,000 of capital outlay was $6,299,000, or $15,553 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Polo R-VII School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $2,452,000; Local $3,337,000; Federal $464,000; total $6,253,000.
  • State$2,452,000 39%
  • Local$3,337,000 53%
  • Federal$464,000 7%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 376 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

405 students in 2022-23, 395 students in 2023-24, 367 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Polo R-VII School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 405, 2023-24: 395, 2024-25: 36702004006002022-234052023-243952024-25367
Polo R-VII School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 405, 2023-24: 395, 2024-25: 36702004006002022-234052023-243952024-25367
Polo R-VII School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 405, 2023-24: 395, 2024-25: 36702004006002022-234052023-243952024-25367
Polo R-VII School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 405, 2023-24: 395, 2024-25: 36702004006002022-234052023-243952024-25367

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2340539.010.4
2023-2439539.89.9
2024-2536737.89.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,014,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,973 per student

Polo R-VII School District booked $2,014,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 39 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $51,641 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 58 in 100 Missouri districts with a figure (state median $50,410, 484 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,591,00079.0%
Special education$195,0009.7%
Vocational$133,0006.6%
Other programs$95,0004.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,491 in 2018-19, $3,630 in 2019-20, $4,384 in 2020-21, $4,080 in 2021-22, $4,973 in 2022-23.

Polo R-VII School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,491, 2019-20: $3,630, 2020-21: $4,384, 2021-22: $4,080, 2022-23: $4,97302k4k6k2018-19$3,4912019-20$3,6302020-21$4,3842021-22$4,0802022-23$4,973
Polo R-VII School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,491, 2019-20: $3,630, 2020-21: $4,384, 2021-22: $4,080, 2022-23: $4,97302k4k6k2018-19$3,4912019-20$3,6302020-21$4,3842021-22$4,0802022-23$4,973
Polo R-VII School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,491, 2019-20: $3,630, 2020-21: $4,384, 2021-22: $4,080, 2022-23: $4,97302k4k6k2018-19$3,4912019-20$3,6302020-21$4,3842021-22$4,0802022-23$4,973
Polo R-VII School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,491, 2019-20: $3,630, 2020-21: $4,384, 2021-22: $4,080, 2022-23: $4,97302k4k6k2018-19$3,4912019-20$3,6302020-21$4,3842021-22$4,0802022-23$4,973

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Polo R-VII School District scored proficient or above: 50-54% in reading and 45-49% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Missouri, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMissouriStudents tested
Reading and language arts50-54%43.2%197
Math45-49%39.2%191

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 43 students in Polo R-VII School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMissouri
Four-year graduation rate90% or more89.3%
Students in the class4367,017

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 137 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Polo Elementary1379.241.6%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 103 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Polo Middle10310.737.9%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 127 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Polo High1279.725.2%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Polo R-VII School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Polo R-VII School District

  1. Missouri districts by spending per studentPolo R-VII School District ranks 164 of 376 Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,032).#164 of 376
  2. Every school district in MissouriPolo R-VII School District is the number 329 by size of 558 Missouri districts, with 405 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#329 of 558
  3. Stoutland SchoolsThe next larger Missouri district: 408 students in fall 2022, $13,360 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,360
  4. Newburg R-II School DistrictThe next smaller Missouri district: 402 students in fall 2022, $11,502 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,502
  5. Compare Polo R-VII School District with Stoutland SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Polo High, its largest high school127 students in 2024-25, 9.7 per teacher.127
  7. Teacher salary spending across MissouriPolo R-VII School District spent $51,641 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,410); spending, not a salary.$51,641
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Polo R-VII School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Polo R-VII School District?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 367 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Polo R-VII School District spend per student?
    $14,032 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Missouri median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,479 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,099 per student, up 7.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Polo R-VII School District's money come from?
    $6,253,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 39.2% state, 53.4% local and 7.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Polo R-VII School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 42 of the 352 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Polo R-VII School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,014,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,973 per student. Divided by the 39 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $51,641 per teacher, more than 58 in 100 Missouri districts (state median $50,410). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Polo R-VII School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Polo R-VII School District scored proficient or above: 50-54% in reading and 45-49% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Missouri's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Polo R-VII School District?
    90% or more of the 43 students in Polo R-VII School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Polo R-VII School District's NCES district ID?
    2925410. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25