Orrick R-XI School District

Listed by NCES as Orrick R-Xi (district ID 2923220)

Public school district · Ray County · Missouri · NCES district ID 2923220

Orrick R-XI School District spent $14,478 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 61% of the other Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,479). Its 2 schools enrolled 293 students in 2024-25; 42.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,766 per student, up 15.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Missouri: 89.3%).

Spending per student among Missouri districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Orrick R-XI in enrollment (284 to 301 students) and Orrick R-XI itself.

Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Orrick R-XI, FY23South Iron R-I School $15,384; Clarkton Schools $15,031; Liberal R-II $14,877; North Andrew Co. R-Vi $14,613; Drexel R-IV $14,479; Orrick R-XI $14,478; Dora R-III $14,398; Buchanan County R-IV $13,248; Lockwood R-I $12,253; Niangua R-V $11,356; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k12k14k16kSouth Iron R-I School$15,384Clarkton Schools$15,031Liberal R-II$14,877North Andrew Co. R-Vi$14,613Drexel R-IV$14,479Orrick R-XI$14,478Dora R-III$14,398Buchanan County R-IV$13,248Lockwood R-I$12,253Niangua R-V$11,356State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Orrick R-XI, FY23South Iron R-I School $15,384; Clarkton Schools $15,031; Liberal R-II $14,877; North Andrew Co. R-Vi $14,613; Drexel R-IV $14,479; Orrick R-XI $14,478; Dora R-III $14,398; Buchanan County R-IV $13,248; Lockwood R-I $12,253; Niangua R-V $11,356; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k12k14k16kSouth Iron R-I School$15,384Clarkton Schools$15,031Liberal R-II$14,877North Andrew Co. R-Vi$14,613Drexel R-IV$14,479Orrick R-XI$14,478Dora R-III$14,398Buchanan County R-IV$13,248Lockwood R-I$12,253Niangua R-V$11,356State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Orrick R-XI, FY23South Iron R-I School $15,384; Clarkton Schools $15,031; Liberal R-II $14,877; North Andrew Co. R-Vi $14,613; Drexel R-IV $14,479; Orrick R-XI $14,478; Dora R-III $14,398; Buchanan County R-IV $13,248; Lockwood R-I $12,253; Niangua R-V $11,356; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k12k14k16kSouth Iron R-I School$15,384Clarkton Schools$15,031Liberal R-II$14,877North Andrew Co. R-Vi$14,613Drexel R-IV$14,479Orrick R-XI$14,478Dora R-III$14,398Buchanan County R-IV$13,248Lockwood R-I$12,253Niangua R-V$11,356State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Orrick R-XI, FY23South Iron R-I School $15,384; Clarkton Schools $15,031; Liberal R-II $14,877; North Andrew Co. R-Vi $14,613; Drexel R-IV $14,479; Orrick R-XI $14,478; Dora R-III $14,398; Buchanan County R-IV $13,248; Lockwood R-I $12,253; Niangua R-V $11,356; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.10k12k14k16kSouth Iron R-I School$15,384Clarkton Schools$15,031Liberal R-II$14,877North Andrew Co. R-Vi$14,613Drexel R-IV$14,479Orrick R-XI$14,478Dora R-III$14,398Buchanan County R-IV$13,248Lockwood R-I$12,253Niangua R-V$11,356State median, under 1,000 students $13,479

Where the money came from

$5,105,000 in revenue: 42.0% state, 45.3% local and 12.7% federal. Total spending including $237,000 of capital outlay was $4,577,000, or $15,729 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Orrick R-XI School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $2,145,000; Local $2,314,000; Federal $646,000; total $5,105,000.
  • State$2,145,000 42%
  • Local$2,314,000 45%
  • Federal$646,000 13%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 376 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

291 students in 2022-23, 278 students in 2023-24, 293 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Orrick R-XI School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 291, 2023-24: 278, 2024-25: 29301002003002022-232912023-242782024-25293
Orrick R-XI School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 291, 2023-24: 278, 2024-25: 29301002003002022-232912023-242782024-25293
Orrick R-XI School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 291, 2023-24: 278, 2024-25: 29301002003002022-232912023-242782024-25293
Orrick R-XI School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 291, 2023-24: 278, 2024-25: 29301002003002022-232912023-242782024-25293

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2329127.110.7
2023-2427827.99.9
2024-2529327.610.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,378,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,735 per student

Orrick R-XI School District booked $1,378,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 28 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $49,928 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 47 in 100 Missouri districts with a figure (state median $50,410, 484 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$989,00071.8%
Special education$100,0007.3%
Vocational$126,0009.1%
Other programs$163,00011.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,447 in 2018-19, $4,432 in 2019-20, $5,008 in 2020-21, $4,779 in 2021-22, $4,735 in 2022-23.

Orrick R-XI School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,447, 2019-20: $4,432, 2020-21: $5,008, 2021-22: $4,779, 2022-23: $4,73502k4k6k2018-19$4,4472019-20$4,4322020-21$5,0082021-22$4,7792022-23$4,735
Orrick R-XI School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,447, 2019-20: $4,432, 2020-21: $5,008, 2021-22: $4,779, 2022-23: $4,73502k4k6k2018-19$4,4472019-20$4,4322020-21$5,0082021-22$4,7792022-23$4,735
Orrick R-XI School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,447, 2019-20: $4,432, 2020-21: $5,008, 2021-22: $4,779, 2022-23: $4,73502k4k6k2018-19$4,4472019-20$4,4322020-21$5,0082021-22$4,7792022-23$4,735
Orrick R-XI School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,447, 2019-20: $4,432, 2020-21: $5,008, 2021-22: $4,779, 2022-23: $4,73502k4k6k2018-19$4,4472019-20$4,4322020-21$5,0082021-22$4,7792022-23$4,735

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Orrick R-XI School District scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading and 30-34% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Missouri, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMissouriStudents tested
Reading and language arts30-34%43.2%127
Math30-34%39.2%143

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 18 students in Orrick R-XI School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMissouri
Four-year graduation rate80% or more89.3%
Students in the class1867,017

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 160 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Orrick Elementary16012.445.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 133 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Orrick High1339.128.6%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Orrick R-XI School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Orrick R-XI School District

  1. Missouri districts by spending per studentOrrick R-XI School District ranks 147 of 376 Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,478).#147 of 376
  2. Every school district in MissouriOrrick R-XI School District is the number 379 by size of 558 Missouri districts, with 291 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#379 of 558
  3. South Iron R-I SchoolThe next larger Missouri district: 294 students in fall 2022, $15,384 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,384
  4. Clarkton SchoolsThe next smaller Missouri district: 290 students in fall 2022, $15,031 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,031
  5. Compare Orrick R-XI School District with South Iron R-I SchoolEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Orrick High, its largest high school133 students in 2024-25, 9.1 per teacher.133
  7. Teacher salary spending across MissouriOrrick R-XI School District spent $49,928 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,410); spending, not a salary.$49,928
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Orrick R-XI School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Orrick R-XI School District?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 293 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Orrick R-XI School District spend per student?
    $14,478 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Missouri median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,479 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,766 per student, up 15.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Orrick R-XI School District's money come from?
    $5,105,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 42.0% state, 45.3% local and 12.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Orrick R-XI School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 34 of the 295 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Orrick R-XI School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,378,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,735 per student. Divided by the 28 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $49,928 per teacher, more than 47 in 100 Missouri districts (state median $50,410). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Orrick R-XI School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Orrick R-XI School District scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading and 30-34% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Missouri's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Orrick R-XI School District?
    80% or more of the 18 students in Orrick R-XI School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Orrick R-XI School District's NCES district ID?
    2923220. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25