Ocean Springs School District

Listed by NCES as Ocean Springs School Dist (district ID 2803360)

Public school district · Jackson County · Mississippi · NCES district ID 2803360

Ocean Springs School District spent $10,621 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 88% of the other Mississippi districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,203). Its 6 schools enrolled 5,677 students in 2024-25; 51.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,831 per student, up 2.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 92% (Mississippi: 89.4%).

Spending per student among Mississippi districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Ocean Springs in enrollment (4,894 to 6,565 students) and Ocean Springs itself.

Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Ocean Springs, FY23Pascagoula-Gautier $15,771; Biloxi $13,206; Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist $13,106; Gulfport $11,784; Hinds County $11,422; Lee County $11,383; Lowndes Co School Dist $11,059; Lauderdale Co School Dist $11,039; Ocean Springs $10,621; Clinton $9,681; State median, 1,000+ students $12,203.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5kPascagoula-Gautier$15,771Biloxi$13,206Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist$13,106Gulfport$11,784Hinds County$11,422Lee County$11,383Lowndes Co School Dist$11,059Lauderdale Co School Dist$11,039Ocean Springs$10,621Clinton$9,681State median, 1,000+ students $12,203
Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Ocean Springs, FY23Pascagoula-Gautier $15,771; Biloxi $13,206; Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist $13,106; Gulfport $11,784; Hinds County $11,422; Lee County $11,383; Lowndes Co School Dist $11,059; Lauderdale Co School Dist $11,039; Ocean Springs $10,621; Clinton $9,681; State median, 1,000+ students $12,203.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5kPascagoula-Gautier$15,771Biloxi$13,206Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist$13,106Gulfport$11,784Hinds County$11,422Lee County$11,383Lowndes Co School Dist$11,059Lauderdale Co School Dist$11,039Ocean Springs$10,621Clinton$9,681State median, 1,000+ students $12,203
Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Ocean Springs, FY23Pascagoula-Gautier $15,771; Biloxi $13,206; Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist $13,106; Gulfport $11,784; Hinds County $11,422; Lee County $11,383; Lowndes Co School Dist $11,059; Lauderdale Co School Dist $11,039; Ocean Springs $10,621; Clinton $9,681; State median, 1,000+ students $12,203.7.5k12.5k17.5kPascagoula-Gautier$15,771Biloxi$13,206Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist$13,106Gulfport$11,784Hinds County$11,422Lee County$11,383Lowndes Co School Dist$11,059Lauderdale Co School Dist$11,039Ocean Springs$10,621Clinton$9,681State median, 1,000+ students $12,203
Current spending per student, Mississippi districts closest in size to Ocean Springs, FY23Pascagoula-Gautier $15,771; Biloxi $13,206; Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist $13,106; Gulfport $11,784; Hinds County $11,422; Lee County $11,383; Lowndes Co School Dist $11,059; Lauderdale Co School Dist $11,039; Ocean Springs $10,621; Clinton $9,681; State median, 1,000+ students $12,203.7.5k12.5k17.5kPascagoula-Gautier$15,771Biloxi$13,206Starkville- Oktibbeha Cons Dist$13,106Gulfport$11,784Hinds County$11,422Lee County$11,383Lowndes Co School Dist$11,059Lauderdale Co School Dist$11,039Ocean Springs$10,621Clinton$9,681State median, 1,000+ students $12,203

Where the money came from

$72,364,000 in revenue: 51.6% state, 32.8% local and 15.6% federal. Total spending including $7,411,000 of capital outlay was $69,982,000, or $11,940 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Ocean Springs School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $37,337,000; Local $23,753,000; Federal $11,274,000; total $72,364,000.
  • State$37,337,000 52%
  • Local$23,753,000 33%
  • Federal$11,274,000 16%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 112 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

5,861 students in 2022-23, 5,808 students in 2023-24, 5,677 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Ocean Springs School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,861, 2023-24: 5,808, 2024-25: 5,67702k4k6k2022-235,8612023-245,8082024-255,677
Ocean Springs School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,861, 2023-24: 5,808, 2024-25: 5,67702k4k6k2022-235,8612023-245,8082024-255,677
Ocean Springs School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,861, 2023-24: 5,808, 2024-25: 5,67702k4k6k2022-235,8612023-245,8082024-255,677
Ocean Springs School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,861, 2023-24: 5,808, 2024-25: 5,67702k4k6k2022-235,8612023-245,8082024-255,677

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-235,861404.214.5
2023-245,808413.214.1
2024-255,677390.014.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$22,107,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,772 per student

Ocean Springs School District booked $22,107,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 413 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $53,511 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 74 in 100 Mississippi districts with a figure (state median $51,076, 146 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$15,964,00072.2%
Special education$3,420,00015.5%
Vocational$1,425,0006.4%
Other programs$1,298,0005.9%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,127 in 2018-19, $3,339 in 2019-20, $3,607 in 2020-21, $3,376 in 2021-22, $3,772 in 2022-23.

Ocean Springs School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,127, 2019-20: $3,339, 2020-21: $3,607, 2021-22: $3,376, 2022-23: $3,77201k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1272019-20$3,3392020-21$3,6072021-22$3,3762022-23$3,772
Ocean Springs School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,127, 2019-20: $3,339, 2020-21: $3,607, 2021-22: $3,376, 2022-23: $3,77201k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1272019-20$3,3392020-21$3,6072021-22$3,3762022-23$3,772
Ocean Springs School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,127, 2019-20: $3,339, 2020-21: $3,607, 2021-22: $3,376, 2022-23: $3,77201k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1272019-20$3,3392020-21$3,6072021-22$3,3762022-23$3,772
Ocean Springs School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,127, 2019-20: $3,339, 2020-21: $3,607, 2021-22: $3,376, 2022-23: $3,77201k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1272019-20$3,3392020-21$3,6072021-22$3,3762022-23$3,772

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Ocean Springs School District scored proficient or above: 65% in reading and 69% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Mississippi, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMississippiStudents tested
Reading and language arts65%41.7%3,207
Math69%47%3,182

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

92% of the 449 students in Ocean Springs School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMississippi
Four-year graduation rate92%89.4%
Students in the class44931,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 elementary schools, 1,566 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Magnolia Park Elementary61314.320.2%Schoolwide program
Pecan Park Elementary School48613.321.8%Schoolwide program
Oak Park Elementary School46712.818.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 2,183 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ocean Springs Upper Elementary Scho1,28414.524.5%Eligible, no program
Ocean Springs Middle School89914.025.7%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 1,928 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ocean Springs High School1,92815.923.7%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Ocean Springs School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Ocean Springs School District

  1. Mississippi districts by spending per studentOcean Springs School District ranks 99 of 112 Mississippi districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($10,621).#99 of 112
  2. Every school district in MississippiOcean Springs School District is the number 15 by size of 152 Mississippi districts, with 5,861 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#15 of 152
  3. Lauderdale Co School DistThe next larger Mississippi district: 5,910 students in fall 2022, $11,039 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,039
  4. Biloxi Public School DistrictThe next smaller Mississippi district: 5,812 students in fall 2022, $13,206 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,206
  5. Compare Ocean Springs School District with Lauderdale Co School DistEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Ocean Springs High School, its largest high school1,928 students in 2024-25, 15.9 per teacher.1,928
  7. Teacher salary spending across MississippiOcean Springs School District spent $53,511 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $51,076); spending, not a salary.$53,511
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Ocean Springs School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Ocean Springs School District?
    6 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 2 middle, 1 high), enrolling 5,677 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Ocean Springs School District spend per student?
    $10,621 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Mississippi median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,203 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,831 per student, up 2.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Ocean Springs School District's money come from?
    $72,364,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 51.6% state, 32.8% local and 15.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Ocean Springs School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 733 of the 6,135 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Ocean Springs School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $22,107,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,772 per student. Divided by the 413 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $53,511 per teacher, more than 74 in 100 Mississippi districts (state median $51,076). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Ocean Springs School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Ocean Springs School District scored proficient or above: 65% in reading and 69% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Mississippi's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Ocean Springs School District?
    92% of the 449 students in Ocean Springs School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Ocean Springs School District's NCES district ID?
    2803360. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25