New Milford School District

Listed by NCES as New Milford Public School District (district ID 3411280)

Public school district · Bergen County · New Jersey · NCES district ID 3411280

New Milford School District spent $25,774 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 63% of the other New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $24,665). Its 4 schools enrolled 1,998 students in 2024-25; 27.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $26,279 per student, up 2.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (New Jersey: 90.5%).

Spending per student among New Jersey districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to New Milford in enrollment (2,012 to 2,054 students) and New Milford itself.

Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to New Milford, FY23Northern Valley Regional High $46,829; Essex County Schools of Technology $32,017; Great Oaks Legacy Charter School $26,962; New Milford $25,774; Burlington County Institute of Technology $25,706; Roselle Park $24,985; KIPP: Cooper Norcross A New Jersey Nonprofit Corporation $24,884; Wyckoff $24,320; Middlesex Borough $23,220; Rancocas Valley Regional High School $21,647; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.10k20k30k40k50kNorthern Valley Regional High$46,829Essex County Schools of Techno…$32,017Great Oaks Legacy Charter Scho…$26,962New Milford$25,774Burlington County Institute of…$25,706Roselle Park$24,985KIPP: Cooper Norcross A New Je…$24,884Wyckoff$24,320Middlesex Borough$23,220Rancocas Valley Regional High …$21,647State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to New Milford, FY23Northern Valley Regional High $46,829; Essex County Schools of Technology $32,017; Great Oaks Legacy Charter School $26,962; New Milford $25,774; Burlington County Institute of Technology $25,706; Roselle Park $24,985; KIPP: Cooper Norcross A New Jersey Nonprofit Corporation $24,884; Wyckoff $24,320; Middlesex Borough $23,220; Rancocas Valley Regional High School $21,647; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.10k20k30k40k50kNorthern Valley Regional High$46,829Essex County Schools of Technology$32,017Great Oaks Legacy Charter School$26,962New Milford$25,774Burlington County Institute of Tech…$25,706Roselle Park$24,985KIPP: Cooper Norcross A New Jersey …$24,884Wyckoff$24,320Middlesex Borough$23,220Rancocas Valley Regional High School$21,647State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to New Milford, FY23Northern Valley Regional High $46,829; Essex County Schools of Technology $32,017; Great Oaks Legacy Charter School $26,962; New Milford $25,774; Burlington County Institute of Technology $25,706; Roselle Park $24,985; KIPP: Cooper Norcross A New Jersey Nonprofit Corporation $24,884; Wyckoff $24,320; Middlesex Borough $23,220; Rancocas Valley Regional High School $21,647; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.10k30k50kNorthern Valley Regional High$46,829Essex County Schools of Technology$32,017Great Oaks Legacy Charter School$26,962New Milford$25,774Burlington County Institute of Technology$25,706Roselle Park$24,985KIPP: Cooper Norcross A New Jersey Nonprofi…$24,884Wyckoff$24,320Middlesex Borough$23,220Rancocas Valley Regional High School$21,647State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to New Milford, FY23Northern Valley Regional High $46,829; Essex County Schools of Technology $32,017; Great Oaks Legacy Charter School $26,962; New Milford $25,774; Burlington County Institute of Technology $25,706; Roselle Park $24,985; KIPP: Cooper Norcross A New Jersey Nonprofit Corporation $24,884; Wyckoff $24,320; Middlesex Borough $23,220; Rancocas Valley Regional High School $21,647; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.10k30k50kNorthern Valley Regional High$46,829Essex County Schools of Technology$32,017Great Oaks Legacy Charter School$26,962New Milford$25,774Burlington County Institute of Technolo…$25,706Roselle Park$24,985KIPP: Cooper Norcross A New Jersey Nonp…$24,884Wyckoff$24,320Middlesex Borough$23,220Rancocas Valley Regional High School$21,647State median, 1,000+ students $24,665

Where the money came from

$58,163,000 in revenue: 27.1% state, 68.7% local and 4.2% federal. Total spending including $1,432,000 of capital outlay was $56,739,000, or $27,882 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

New Milford School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $15,769,000; Local $39,971,000; Federal $2,423,000; total $58,163,000.
  • State$15,769,000 27%
  • Local$39,971,000 69%
  • Federal$2,423,000 4%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 329 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,039 students in 2022-23, 2,036 students in 2023-24, 1,998 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

New Milford School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,039, 2023-24: 2,036, 2024-25: 1,99801k2k3k2022-232,0392023-242,0362024-251,998
New Milford School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,039, 2023-24: 2,036, 2024-25: 1,99801k2k3k2022-232,0392023-242,0362024-251,998
New Milford School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,039, 2023-24: 2,036, 2024-25: 1,99801k2k3k2022-232,0392023-242,0362024-251,998
New Milford School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,039, 2023-24: 2,036, 2024-25: 1,99801k2k3k2022-232,0392023-242,0362024-251,998

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,039160.112.7
2023-242,036156.313.0
2024-251,998154.712.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$13,398,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,584 per student

New Milford School District booked $13,398,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 172 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $77,986 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 52 in 100 New Jersey districts with a figure (state median $77,508, 569 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$10,541,00078.7%
Special education$2,276,00017.0%
Other programs$581,0004.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,676 in 2018-19, $6,023 in 2019-20, $6,288 in 2020-21, $6,450 in 2021-22, $6,584 in 2022-23.

New Milford School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,676, 2019-20: $6,023, 2020-21: $6,288, 2021-22: $6,450, 2022-23: $6,58402k4k6k8k2018-19$5,6762019-20$6,0232020-21$6,2882021-22$6,4502022-23$6,584
New Milford School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,676, 2019-20: $6,023, 2020-21: $6,288, 2021-22: $6,450, 2022-23: $6,58402k4k6k8k2018-19$5,6762019-20$6,0232020-21$6,2882021-22$6,4502022-23$6,584
New Milford School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,676, 2019-20: $6,023, 2020-21: $6,288, 2021-22: $6,450, 2022-23: $6,58402k4k6k8k2018-19$5,6762019-20$6,0232020-21$6,2882021-22$6,4502022-23$6,584
New Milford School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,676, 2019-20: $6,023, 2020-21: $6,288, 2021-22: $6,450, 2022-23: $6,58402k4k6k8k2018-19$5,6762019-20$6,0232020-21$6,2882021-22$6,4502022-23$6,584

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in New Milford School District scored proficient or above: 68% in reading and 49% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New Jersey, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew JerseyStudents tested
Reading and language arts68%48.6%
Math49%35.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 151 students in New Milford School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across New Jersey. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNew Jersey
Four-year graduation rate95% or more90.5%
Students in the class151106,157

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 891 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Bertrand F. Gibbs Elementary School47613.217.0%Not Title I
Berkley Street School41512.520.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 523 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
David E. Owens Middle School52313.416.3%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 584 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
New Milford High School58412.617.3%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact New Milford School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about New Milford School District

  1. New Jersey districts by spending per studentNew Milford School District ranks 123 of 329 New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($25,774).#123 of 329
  2. Every school district in New JerseyNew Milford School District is the number 201 by size of 672 New Jersey districts, with 2,035 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#201 of 672
  3. Roselle Park School DistrictThe next larger New Jersey district: 2,042 students in fall 2022, $24,985 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$24,985
  4. Wyckoff School DistrictThe next smaller New Jersey district: 2,034 students in fall 2022, $24,320 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$24,320
  5. Compare New Milford School District with Roselle Park School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. New Milford High School, its largest high school584 students in 2024-25, 12.6 per teacher.584
  7. Teacher salary spending across New JerseyNew Milford School District spent $77,986 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $77,508); spending, not a salary.$77,986
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about New Milford School District

  1. How many schools and students are in New Milford School District?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,998 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does New Milford School District spend per student?
    $25,774 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New Jersey median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $24,665 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $26,279 per student, up 2.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does New Milford School District's money come from?
    $58,163,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 27.1% state, 68.7% local and 4.2% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in New Milford School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 123 of the 2,541 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 4.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does New Milford School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $13,398,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,584 per student. Divided by the 172 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $77,986 per teacher, more than 52 in 100 New Jersey districts (state median $77,508). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in New Milford School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in New Milford School District scored proficient or above: 68% in reading and 49% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. New Jersey's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in New Milford School District?
    95% or more of the 151 students in New Milford School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across New Jersey. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is New Milford School District's NCES district ID?
    3411280. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25