Mount Carmel Area SD

Public school district · Northumberland County · Pennsylvania · NCES district ID 4215990

Mount Carmel Area SD spent $13,250 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 99% of the other Pennsylvania districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,594). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,552 students in 2024-25; 65.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,712 per student, up 3.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80-84% (Pennsylvania: 87.5%).

Spending per student among Pennsylvania districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Mount Carmel Area SD in enrollment (1,532 to 1,557 students) and Mount Carmel Area SD itself.

Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Mount Carmel Area SD, FY23McGuffey SD $19,144; Girard SD $17,374; Riverside SD $17,023; Bloomsburg Area SD $16,503; Mariana Bracetti Academy Charter School $15,640; Carbondale Area SD $15,309; Richland SD $15,142; Pine Grove Area SD $15,140; Loyalsock Township SD $14,342; Mount Carmel Area SD $13,250; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.10k12.5k15k17.5k20kMcGuffey SD$19,144Girard SD$17,374Riverside SD$17,023Bloomsburg Area SD$16,503Mariana Bracetti Academy Chart…$15,640Carbondale Area SD$15,309Richland SD$15,142Pine Grove Area SD$15,140Loyalsock Township SD$14,342Mount Carmel Area SD$13,250State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Mount Carmel Area SD, FY23McGuffey SD $19,144; Girard SD $17,374; Riverside SD $17,023; Bloomsburg Area SD $16,503; Mariana Bracetti Academy Charter School $15,640; Carbondale Area SD $15,309; Richland SD $15,142; Pine Grove Area SD $15,140; Loyalsock Township SD $14,342; Mount Carmel Area SD $13,250; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.10k12.5k15k17.5k20kMcGuffey SD$19,144Girard SD$17,374Riverside SD$17,023Bloomsburg Area SD$16,503Mariana Bracetti Academy Charter Sc…$15,640Carbondale Area SD$15,309Richland SD$15,142Pine Grove Area SD$15,140Loyalsock Township SD$14,342Mount Carmel Area SD$13,250State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Mount Carmel Area SD, FY23McGuffey SD $19,144; Girard SD $17,374; Riverside SD $17,023; Bloomsburg Area SD $16,503; Mariana Bracetti Academy Charter School $15,640; Carbondale Area SD $15,309; Richland SD $15,142; Pine Grove Area SD $15,140; Loyalsock Township SD $14,342; Mount Carmel Area SD $13,250; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.10k15k20kMcGuffey SD$19,144Girard SD$17,374Riverside SD$17,023Bloomsburg Area SD$16,503Mariana Bracetti Academy Charter School$15,640Carbondale Area SD$15,309Richland SD$15,142Pine Grove Area SD$15,140Loyalsock Township SD$14,342Mount Carmel Area SD$13,250State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Mount Carmel Area SD, FY23McGuffey SD $19,144; Girard SD $17,374; Riverside SD $17,023; Bloomsburg Area SD $16,503; Mariana Bracetti Academy Charter School $15,640; Carbondale Area SD $15,309; Richland SD $15,142; Pine Grove Area SD $15,140; Loyalsock Township SD $14,342; Mount Carmel Area SD $13,250; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.10k15k20kMcGuffey SD$19,144Girard SD$17,374Riverside SD$17,023Bloomsburg Area SD$16,503Mariana Bracetti Academy Charter School$15,640Carbondale Area SD$15,309Richland SD$15,142Pine Grove Area SD$15,140Loyalsock Township SD$14,342Mount Carmel Area SD$13,250State median, 1,000+ students $17,594

Where the money came from

$24,963,000 in revenue: 65.2% state, 24.1% local and 10.7% federal. Total spending including $244,000 of capital outlay was $23,695,000, or $15,307 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Mount Carmel Area SD revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $16,267,000; Local $6,017,000; Federal $2,679,000; total $24,963,000.
  • State$16,267,000 65%
  • Local$6,017,000 24%
  • Federal$2,679,000 11%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 418 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,546 students in 2022-23, 1,570 students in 2023-24, 1,552 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Mount Carmel Area SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,546, 2023-24: 1,570, 2024-25: 1,55205001k1.5k2k2022-231,5462023-241,5702024-251,552
Mount Carmel Area SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,546, 2023-24: 1,570, 2024-25: 1,55205001k1.5k2k2022-231,5462023-241,5702024-251,552
Mount Carmel Area SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,546, 2023-24: 1,570, 2024-25: 1,55205001k1.5k2k2022-231,5462023-241,5702024-251,552
Mount Carmel Area SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,546, 2023-24: 1,570, 2024-25: 1,55205001k1.5k2k2022-231,5462023-241,5702024-251,552

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,546107.014.4
2023-241,570105.015.0
2024-251,552102.515.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$7,123,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,601 per student

Mount Carmel Area SD booked $7,123,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 150 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $47,345 of salary spending per teacher. That is less than any other Pennsylvania district with a figure (state median $81,309, 647 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Pennsylvania teacher salary at $72,248 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$5,250,00073.7%
Special education$1,456,00020.4%
Vocational$126,0001.8%
Other programs$291,0004.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,324 in 2018-19, $4,254 in 2019-20, $5,594 in 2020-21, $4,484 in 2021-22, $4,601 in 2022-23.

Mount Carmel Area SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,324, 2019-20: $4,254, 2020-21: $5,594, 2021-22: $4,484, 2022-23: $4,60102k4k6k2018-19$4,3242019-20$4,2542020-21$5,5942021-22$4,4842022-23$4,601
Mount Carmel Area SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,324, 2019-20: $4,254, 2020-21: $5,594, 2021-22: $4,484, 2022-23: $4,60102k4k6k2018-19$4,3242019-20$4,2542020-21$5,5942021-22$4,4842022-23$4,601
Mount Carmel Area SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,324, 2019-20: $4,254, 2020-21: $5,594, 2021-22: $4,484, 2022-23: $4,60102k4k6k2018-19$4,3242019-20$4,2542020-21$5,5942021-22$4,4842022-23$4,601
Mount Carmel Area SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,324, 2019-20: $4,254, 2020-21: $5,594, 2021-22: $4,484, 2022-23: $4,60102k4k6k2018-19$4,3242019-20$4,2542020-21$5,5942021-22$4,4842022-23$4,601

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Mount Carmel Area SD scored proficient or above: 40-44% in reading and 24-28% in math, against 54% in reading and 34% in math across Pennsylvania. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Pennsylvania, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtPennsylvaniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts40-44%54%687
Math24-28%34%691

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80-84% of the 138 students in Mount Carmel Area SD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Pennsylvania. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtPennsylvania
Four-year graduation rate80‑84%87.5%
Students in the class138136,045

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 796 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Mount Carmel Area Elementary School79613.699.9%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 253 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Mount Carmel Area Junior High25317.1100.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 503 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Mount Carmel Area High School50317.298.6%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Mount Carmel Area SD

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Mount Carmel Area SD

  1. Pennsylvania districts by spending per studentMount Carmel Area SD ranks 414 of 418 Pennsylvania districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,250).#414 of 418
  2. Every school district in PennsylvaniaMount Carmel Area SD is the number 318 by size of 775 Pennsylvania districts, with 1,548 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#318 of 775
  3. Loyalsock Township SDThe next larger Pennsylvania district: 1,549 students in fall 2022, $14,342 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,342
  4. Girard SDThe next smaller Pennsylvania district: 1,545 students in fall 2022, $17,374 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,374
  5. Compare Mount Carmel Area SD with Loyalsock Township SDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Mount Carmel Area High School, its largest high school503 students in 2024-25, 17.2 per teacher.503
  7. Teacher salary spending across PennsylvaniaMount Carmel Area SD spent $47,345 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $81,309); spending, not a salary.$47,345
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Mount Carmel Area SD

  1. How many schools and students are in Mount Carmel Area SD?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,552 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Mount Carmel Area SD spend per student?
    $13,250 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Pennsylvania median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,594 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,712 per student, up 3.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Mount Carmel Area SD's money come from?
    $24,963,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 65.2% state, 24.1% local and 10.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Mount Carmel Area SD live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 342 of the 1,564 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 21.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Mount Carmel Area SD spend on teacher salaries?
    $7,123,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,601 per student. Divided by the 150 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $47,345 per teacher, less than any other Pennsylvania district with a figure (state median $81,309). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Pennsylvania teacher salary at $72,248 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Mount Carmel Area SD do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Mount Carmel Area SD scored proficient or above: 40-44% in reading and 24-28% in math, against 54% in reading and 34% in math across Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Mount Carmel Area SD?
    80-84% of the 138 students in Mount Carmel Area SD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Pennsylvania. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Mount Carmel Area SD's NCES district ID?
    4215990. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25