Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas
Public school district · El Paso County · Colorado · NCES district ID 0805670
Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas spent $17,003 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 57% of the other Colorado districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,529). Its 2 schools enrolled 357 students in 2024-25; 58.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,251 per student, down 22.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Colorado: 82.7%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Colorado districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas in enrollment (319 to 361 students) and Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas itself.
Where the money came from
$5,938,000 in revenue: 58.7% state, 29.7% local and 11.6% federal. Total spending including $92,000 of capital outlay was $6,222,000, or $18,300 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$3,487,000 59%
- Local$1,765,000 30%
- Federal$686,000 12%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 109 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
340 students in 2022-23, 366 students in 2023-24, 357 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 340 | 19.3 | 17.6 |
| 2023-24 | 366 | 22.4 | 16.3 |
| 2024-25 | 357 | 19.6 | 18.2 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$1,458,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,288 per student
Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas booked $1,458,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 19 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $75,622 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 84 in 100 Colorado districts with a figure (state median $62,708, 161 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Colorado teacher salary at $58,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $1,048,000 | 71.9% |
| Special education | $124,000 | 8.5% |
| Vocational | $224,000 | 15.4% |
| Other programs | $62,000 | 4.3% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,643 in 2018-19, $3,958 in 2019-20, $4,888 in 2020-21, $3,949 in 2021-22, $4,288 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas scored proficient or above: 20-24% in math, against 44.9% in reading and 31.8% in math across Colorado. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Colorado, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Colorado | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Math | 20-24% | 31.8% | 166 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
80% or more of the 22 students in Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 82.7% across Colorado. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Colorado | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 80% or more | 82.7% |
| Students in the class | 22 | 68,390 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 173 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami/Yoder Elementary School | 173 | 21.6 | 58.4% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 184 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Yoder Middle/High School | 184 | 15.8 | 57.6% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas
- Website: miamiyoder.com
- Phone: (719) 478-2206
- Office: 420 S Rush Rd, Rush, CO 80833
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas
- Colorado districts by spending per studentMiami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas ranks 63 of 109 Colorado districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,003).#63 of 109
- Every school district in ColoradoMiami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas is the number 113 by size of 185 Colorado districts, with 340 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#113 of 185
- Fowler School District No. R4JThe next larger Colorado district: 347 students in fall 2022, $15,767 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,767
- Haxtun School District RE-2JThe next smaller Colorado district: 334 students in fall 2022, $14,114 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,114
- Compare Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas with Fowler School District No. R4JEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Miami-Yoder Middle/High School, its largest high school184 students in 2024-25, 15.8 per teacher.184
- Teacher salary spending across ColoradoMiami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas spent $75,622 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,708); spending, not a salary.$75,622
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas
How many schools and students are in Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas?
2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 357 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas spend per student?
$17,003 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Colorado median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,529 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,251 per student, down 22.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas' money come from?
$5,938,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 58.7% state, 29.7% local and 11.6% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 44 of the 421 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 10.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas spend on teacher salaries?
$1,458,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,288 per student. Divided by the 19 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $75,622 per teacher, more than 84 in 100 Colorado districts (state median $62,708). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Colorado teacher salary at $58,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas scored proficient or above: 20-24% in math, against 44.9% in reading and 31.8% in math across Colorado. Colorado's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas?
80% or more of the 22 students in Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 82.7% across Colorado. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Miami-Yoder Joint District No. 60 of the counties of El Pas' NCES district ID?
0805670. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25