Marvell-Elaine School District

Listed by NCES as Marvell School District (district ID 0509510)

Public school district · Phillips County · Arkansas · NCES district ID 0509510

Marvell-Elaine School District spent $19,631 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 97% of the other Arkansas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,179). Its 2 schools enrolled 220 students in 2024-25; 21.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,351 per student, up 18.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Arkansas: 89.9%).

Spending per student among Arkansas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Marvell-Elaine in enrollment (307 to 373 students) and Marvell-Elaine itself.

Current spending per student, Arkansas districts closest in size to Marvell-Elaine, FY23Marvell-Elaine $19,631; Augusta $18,989; Dermott $17,961; Strong-Huttig $17,782; Concord $16,504; Shirley $16,013; Western Yell County Schools $15,966; Deer/Mt. Judea $15,242; Responsive Ed Solutions Premier High School of Little Rock $14,381; Guy-Perkins $13,603; State median, under 1,000 students $13,179.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kMarvell-Elaine$19,631Augusta$18,989Dermott$17,961Strong-Huttig$17,782Concord$16,504Shirley$16,013Western Yell County Schools$15,966Deer/Mt. Judea$15,242Responsive Ed Solutions Premie…$14,381Guy-Perkins$13,603State median, under 1,000 students $13,179
Current spending per student, Arkansas districts closest in size to Marvell-Elaine, FY23Marvell-Elaine $19,631; Augusta $18,989; Dermott $17,961; Strong-Huttig $17,782; Concord $16,504; Shirley $16,013; Western Yell County Schools $15,966; Deer/Mt. Judea $15,242; Responsive Ed Solutions Premier High School of Little Rock $14,381; Guy-Perkins $13,603; State median, under 1,000 students $13,179.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kMarvell-Elaine$19,631Augusta$18,989Dermott$17,961Strong-Huttig$17,782Concord$16,504Shirley$16,013Western Yell County Schools$15,966Deer/Mt. Judea$15,242Responsive Ed Solutions Premier Hig…$14,381Guy-Perkins$13,603State median, under 1,000 students $13,179
Current spending per student, Arkansas districts closest in size to Marvell-Elaine, FY23Marvell-Elaine $19,631; Augusta $18,989; Dermott $17,961; Strong-Huttig $17,782; Concord $16,504; Shirley $16,013; Western Yell County Schools $15,966; Deer/Mt. Judea $15,242; Responsive Ed Solutions Premier High School of Little Rock $14,381; Guy-Perkins $13,603; State median, under 1,000 students $13,179.10k15k20k22.5kMarvell-Elaine$19,631Augusta$18,989Dermott$17,961Strong-Huttig$17,782Concord$16,504Shirley$16,013Western Yell County Schools$15,966Deer/Mt. Judea$15,242Responsive Ed Solutions Premier High School…$14,381Guy-Perkins$13,603State median, under 1,000 students $13,179
Current spending per student, Arkansas districts closest in size to Marvell-Elaine, FY23Marvell-Elaine $19,631; Augusta $18,989; Dermott $17,961; Strong-Huttig $17,782; Concord $16,504; Shirley $16,013; Western Yell County Schools $15,966; Deer/Mt. Judea $15,242; Responsive Ed Solutions Premier High School of Little Rock $14,381; Guy-Perkins $13,603; State median, under 1,000 students $13,179.10k15k20k22.5kMarvell-Elaine$19,631Augusta$18,989Dermott$17,961Strong-Huttig$17,782Concord$16,504Shirley$16,013Western Yell County Schools$15,966Deer/Mt. Judea$15,242Responsive Ed Solutions Premier High Sc…$14,381Guy-Perkins$13,603State median, under 1,000 students $13,179

Where the money came from

$7,859,000 in revenue: 21.1% state, 40.7% local and 38.1% federal. Total spending including $144,000 of capital outlay was $6,993,000, or $21,127 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Marvell-Elaine School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,662,000; Local $3,202,000; Federal $2,995,000; total $7,859,000.
  • State$1,662,000 21%
  • Local$3,202,000 41%
  • Federal$2,995,000 38%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 132 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

331 students in 2022-23, 242 students in 2023-24, 220 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Marvell-Elaine School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 331, 2023-24: 242, 2024-25: 22001002003004002022-233312023-242422024-25220
Marvell-Elaine School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 331, 2023-24: 242, 2024-25: 22001002003004002022-233312023-242422024-25220
Marvell-Elaine School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 331, 2023-24: 242, 2024-25: 22001002003004002022-233312023-242422024-25220
Marvell-Elaine School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 331, 2023-24: 242, 2024-25: 22001002003004002022-233312023-242422024-25220

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2333135.29.4
2023-2424223.010.5
2024-2522022.49.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Marvell-Elaine School District scored proficient or above: 5% or less in reading and 5% or less in math, against 39.9% in reading and 38.3% in math across Arkansas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Arkansas, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtArkansasStudents tested
Reading and language arts5% or less39.9%181
Math5% or less38.3%181

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 25 students in Marvell-Elaine School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.9% across Arkansas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtArkansas
Four-year graduation rate80% or more89.9%
Students in the class2535,156

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 121 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Marvell Primary School12111.0100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 99 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Marvell High School998.7100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Marvell-Elaine School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Marvell-Elaine School District

  1. Arkansas districts by spending per studentMarvell-Elaine School District ranks 5 of 132 Arkansas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($19,631).#5 of 132
  2. Every school district in ArkansasMarvell-Elaine School District is the number 245 by size of 259 Arkansas districts, with 331 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#245 of 259
  3. Dermott School DistrictThe next larger Arkansas district: 337 students in fall 2022, $17,961 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,961
  4. Western Yell County SchoolsThe next smaller Arkansas district: 322 students in fall 2022, $15,966 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,966
  5. Compare Marvell-Elaine School District with Dermott School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Marvell High School, its largest high school99 students in 2024-25, 8.7 per teacher.99
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Marvell-Elaine School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Marvell-Elaine School District?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 220 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Marvell-Elaine School District spend per student?
    $19,631 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Arkansas median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,179 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,351 per student, up 18.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Marvell-Elaine School District's money come from?
    $7,859,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 21.1% state, 40.7% local and 38.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Marvell-Elaine School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 168 of the 448 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 37.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Marvell-Elaine School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Marvell-Elaine School District scored proficient or above: 5% or less in reading and 5% or less in math, against 39.9% in reading and 38.3% in math across Arkansas. Arkansas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Marvell-Elaine School District?
    80% or more of the 25 students in Marvell-Elaine School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.9% across Arkansas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Marvell-Elaine School District's NCES district ID?
    0509510. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25