Lowville Academy & Central School District

Public school district · Lewis County · New York · NCES district ID 3617820

Lowville Academy & Central School District spent $20,877 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 91% of the other New York districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $26,567). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,276 students in 2024-25; 70.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,852 per student, up 4.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (New York: 87.2%).

Spending per student among New York districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Lowville Academy & Central in enrollment (1,296 to 1,317 students) and Lowville Academy & Central itself.

Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Lowville Academy & Central, FY23Blind Brook-Rye Union Free $35,488; Sherburne-Earlville Central $27,938; Newfane Central $26,827; Holland Patent Central $26,659; Akron Central $24,262; Cazenovia Central $23,189; Fonda-Fultonville Central Schools $21,498; Lowville Academy & Central $20,877; True North Rochester Preparatory Charter School $19,369; Success Academy Charter School-Bronx 3 $17,915; State median, 1,000+ students $26,567.10k20k30k40kBlind Brook-Rye Union Free$35,488Sherburne-Earlville Central$27,938Newfane Central$26,827Holland Patent Central$26,659Akron Central$24,262Cazenovia Central$23,189Fonda-Fultonville Central Scho…$21,498Lowville Academy & Central$20,877True North Rochester Preparato…$19,369Success Academy Charter School…$17,915State median, 1,000+ students $26,567
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Lowville Academy & Central, FY23Blind Brook-Rye Union Free $35,488; Sherburne-Earlville Central $27,938; Newfane Central $26,827; Holland Patent Central $26,659; Akron Central $24,262; Cazenovia Central $23,189; Fonda-Fultonville Central Schools $21,498; Lowville Academy & Central $20,877; True North Rochester Preparatory Charter School $19,369; Success Academy Charter School-Bronx 3 $17,915; State median, 1,000+ students $26,567.10k20k30k40kBlind Brook-Rye Union Free$35,488Sherburne-Earlville Central$27,938Newfane Central$26,827Holland Patent Central$26,659Akron Central$24,262Cazenovia Central$23,189Fonda-Fultonville Central Schools$21,498Lowville Academy & Central$20,877True North Rochester Preparatory Ch…$19,369Success Academy Charter School-Bron…$17,915State median, 1,000+ students $26,567
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Lowville Academy & Central, FY23Blind Brook-Rye Union Free $35,488; Sherburne-Earlville Central $27,938; Newfane Central $26,827; Holland Patent Central $26,659; Akron Central $24,262; Cazenovia Central $23,189; Fonda-Fultonville Central Schools $21,498; Lowville Academy & Central $20,877; True North Rochester Preparatory Charter School $19,369; Success Academy Charter School-Bronx 3 $17,915; State median, 1,000+ students $26,567.10k20k30k40kBlind Brook-Rye Union Free$35,488Sherburne-Earlville Central$27,938Newfane Central$26,827Holland Patent Central$26,659Akron Central$24,262Cazenovia Central$23,189Fonda-Fultonville Central Schools$21,498Lowville Academy & Central$20,877True North Rochester Preparatory Charter Sc…$19,369Success Academy Charter School-Bronx 3$17,915State median, 1,000+ students $26,567
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Lowville Academy & Central, FY23Blind Brook-Rye Union Free $35,488; Sherburne-Earlville Central $27,938; Newfane Central $26,827; Holland Patent Central $26,659; Akron Central $24,262; Cazenovia Central $23,189; Fonda-Fultonville Central Schools $21,498; Lowville Academy & Central $20,877; True North Rochester Preparatory Charter School $19,369; Success Academy Charter School-Bronx 3 $17,915; State median, 1,000+ students $26,567.10k20k30k40kBlind Brook-Rye Union Free$35,488Sherburne-Earlville Central$27,938Newfane Central$26,827Holland Patent Central$26,659Akron Central$24,262Cazenovia Central$23,189Fonda-Fultonville Central Schools$21,498Lowville Academy & Central$20,877True North Rochester Preparatory Charte…$19,369Success Academy Charter School-Bronx 3$17,915State median, 1,000+ students $26,567

Where the money came from

$30,673,000 in revenue: 70.4% state, 18.8% local and 10.8% federal. Total spending including $1,894,000 of capital outlay was $32,882,000, or $25,216 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Lowville Academy & Central School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $21,593,000; Local $5,766,000; Federal $3,314,000; total $30,673,000.
  • State$21,593,000 70%
  • Local$5,766,000 19%
  • Federal$3,314,000 11%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 440 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,282 students in 2022-23, 1,287 students in 2023-24, 1,276 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Lowville Academy & Central School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,282, 2023-24: 1,287, 2024-25: 1,27605001k1.5k2022-231,2822023-241,2872024-251,276
Lowville Academy & Central School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,282, 2023-24: 1,287, 2024-25: 1,27605001k1.5k2022-231,2822023-241,2872024-251,276
Lowville Academy & Central School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,282, 2023-24: 1,287, 2024-25: 1,27605001k1.5k2022-231,2822023-241,2872024-251,276
Lowville Academy & Central School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,282, 2023-24: 1,287, 2024-25: 1,27605001k1.5k2022-231,2822023-241,2872024-251,276

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,282110.711.6
2023-241,287109.111.8
2024-251,276112.911.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$8,037,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,163 per student

Lowville Academy & Central School District booked $8,037,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 111 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $72,628 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 33 in 100 New York districts with a figure (state median $80,291, 622 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New York teacher salary at $92,222 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$6,119,00076.1%
Special education$1,354,00016.8%
Vocational$153,0001.9%
Other programs$411,0005.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $6,119 in 2018-19, $6,128 in 2019-20, $6,620 in 2020-21, $6,002 in 2021-22, $6,163 in 2022-23.

Lowville Academy & Central School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $6,119, 2019-20: $6,128, 2020-21: $6,620, 2021-22: $6,002, 2022-23: $6,16302k4k6k8k2018-19$6,1192019-20$6,1282020-21$6,6202021-22$6,0022022-23$6,163
Lowville Academy & Central School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $6,119, 2019-20: $6,128, 2020-21: $6,620, 2021-22: $6,002, 2022-23: $6,16302k4k6k8k2018-19$6,1192019-20$6,1282020-21$6,6202021-22$6,0022022-23$6,163
Lowville Academy & Central School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $6,119, 2019-20: $6,128, 2020-21: $6,620, 2021-22: $6,002, 2022-23: $6,16302k4k6k8k2018-19$6,1192019-20$6,1282020-21$6,6202021-22$6,0022022-23$6,163
Lowville Academy & Central School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $6,119, 2019-20: $6,128, 2020-21: $6,620, 2021-22: $6,002, 2022-23: $6,16302k4k6k8k2018-19$6,1192019-20$6,1282020-21$6,6202021-22$6,0022022-23$6,163

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Lowville Academy & Central School District scored proficient or above: 52-56% in reading and 44-48% in math, against 47% in reading and 40% in math across New York. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New York, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew YorkStudents tested
Reading and language arts52-56%47%524
Math44-48%40%521

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 102 students in Lowville Academy & Central School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.2% across New York. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNew York
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%87.2%
Students in the class102202,009

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 628 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lowville Elementary School62811.242.2%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 263 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lowville Middle School26310.642.6%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 385 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lowville High School38512.032.2%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Lowville Academy & Central School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Lowville Academy & Central School District

  1. New York districts by spending per studentLowville Academy & Central School District ranks 401 of 440 New York districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($20,877).#401 of 440
  2. Every school district in New YorkLowville Academy & Central School District is the number 388 by size of 1,104 New York districts, with 1,304 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#388 of 1,104
  3. Cazenovia Central School DistrictThe next larger New York district: 1,314 students in fall 2022, $23,189 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$23,189
  4. True North Rochester Preparatory Charter SchoolThe next smaller New York district: 1,301 students in fall 2022, $19,369 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,369
  5. Compare Lowville Academy & Central School District with Cazenovia Central School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Lowville High School, its largest high school385 students in 2024-25, 12.0 per teacher.385
  7. Teacher salary spending across New YorkLowville Academy & Central School District spent $72,628 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $80,291); spending, not a salary.$72,628
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Lowville Academy & Central School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Lowville Academy & Central School District?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,276 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Lowville Academy & Central School District spend per student?
    $20,877 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New York median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $26,567 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,852 per student, up 4.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Lowville Academy & Central School District's money come from?
    $30,673,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 70.4% state, 18.8% local and 10.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Lowville Academy & Central School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 236 of the 1,542 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 15.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Lowville Academy & Central School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $8,037,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,163 per student. Divided by the 111 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $72,628 per teacher, more than 33 in 100 New York districts (state median $80,291). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New York teacher salary at $92,222 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Lowville Academy & Central School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Lowville Academy & Central School District scored proficient or above: 52-56% in reading and 44-48% in math, against 47% in reading and 40% in math across New York. New York's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Lowville Academy & Central School District?
    90-94% of the 102 students in Lowville Academy & Central School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.2% across New York. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Lowville Academy & Central School District's NCES district ID?
    3617820. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25